We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Maui Resort and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Westin Maui Resort and Spa”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa from 7/25/14 to 8/1/14. We also stayed there 20 years ago. Twenty years ago it was among the top hotels in the world. Sadly, I cannot say that about it today. The Westin Maui’s claim to fame is primarily twofold. One its setting - which is definitely ideal. The second is its five pools. The pools though have seen better days. Many of the tiles are missing. The spa inside a tunnel in the pool was not working when we were there and clients had left trash that had not been cleaned up. I was disappointed in the pools. Also, the mixed drinks at the adult pool bar were poor. I had a margarita with virtually NO alcohol in it ($10 per). We paid a pretty high price for our parking lot view (mountain view) and yet the resort adds $30 per day for a resort fee. I think this should just be buried in the daily price of the hotel. If I were to go back now knowing what I know about this hotel, I would have chosen to stay at the Sheraton or the Hilton in Kaanapali. By the way, this listing said this hotel was in Lahaina - it is actually in Kaanapali right next to the Whaler Shopping Center. The best part of this hotel’s service was the valet. They were very helpful. Valet is $17 per day by the way. Food was terribly high. Also, note on room service they add a service charge and they put in the tip themselves. So beware to not overtip as they already included it in your bill.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms would be nice, but they are a LOT more expensive.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer to not wash your sheets. They give you two bottles of water each day.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,110
    1,553
    728
    397
    220
See reviews for
1,587
2,200
79
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had the mountain view room and it was priceless. We love waking up in the morning and watching the fog lift off the mountain. And at sunset the houses on the mountain all glisten in orange colour. Oh yeah, the rainbow shows up on the mountain every now and then.

The rooms are clean and smell great unlike other beach hotels that smell mouldy. :8 The restaurants are pricey but Relish breakfast buffet was great - lots of selections. Service staff were really friendly and accommodating (from the concierge to the housekeeper).

The pools are enjoyable - my kids loved the slide and all. Get to the poolside early so you can find a chair. If you get there after 1030am you will not find anymore chairs. The beach is clean and well maintained. But for this resort you will have to pay for the beach chairs and umbrella for $45/day. Some days the sun is just way too hot and chairs and umbrella will become a necessity or else you will burn into a crisp. LOL. However, you will have a gorgeous tan. The pond by the lobby is awesome - flamingoes, black swan and huge fish. They also have real macaws on display during the day; the white one talks - pretty cool. The hotel parking lot is not very big and so after 630pm the parking is already full and you will need to valet your car for free - but don't forget to tip when you retrieve your car. Overall, we had a great relaxing stay in this hotel.

P.S. Trek to the east side by blackrock near Sheraton and go snorkelling and diving - lots of fish and turtles.

Have a great vacation! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni888_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved every minute of it. Rooms were clean, food was great and atmosphere was relaxed. Love the beaches and scenery. Kids loved every minute of it as there was a lot of in hotel activities. Cant wait for another Hawaii trip.

Room Tip: It was our anniversary which seemed to have gotten us a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed her with a friend and her daughter. Share a room and was quite comfortable. I had an oceanfront room! Loved it. The staff and amenities here are quite nice. A good hotel if you have kids…they have many things for kids to do. We stayed in one night and ordered a movie and had popcorn delivered ~ that was fun. Entire staff is very accommodating. Being that the Whalers village is right next door you have other restaurants to be able to go to. Also if you ask the front desk they will give you a late check out. ~ Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanfront Room ~ you will be love the sunset from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, tn
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Westin Maui is a great full service hotel. Our room was in the shorter tower and was a little dated but it was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the service was very good. I enjoyed the adult pool. I typically have my 9 year old with me but this was a work trip. It was nice not to have to contend with lots of splashing an noise - very relaxing.
The hotel is right next to a nice shopping area and plenty of beach front restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room in the renovated tower & stay away from elevators. Any room floor 3 & above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacw3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Overall, the Westin was fine. I can't say I loved it, but I didn't hate it either. The double rooms are the smallest I've ever stayed in. And when it says double beds, that's what it means. They are not queen beds, they are double. My husband and I had a real hard time fitting and sleeping in a bed this small. However, it was a comfortable bed if it would've been larger. The pools were really nice. However, it was extremely crowded to the point that it was a nuisance. Nothing else was exceptionally great, nor exceptionally bad. Would I stay here again? Probably not. I prefer to find a place that I love, not a hotel that is just "fine".

Room Tip: Beware of extra small rooms in the "Mountain View" rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel requires you to exchange a "towel card" for a pool towel, with the threat of charging you $20 for any lost card. I guess that's their way of staying environmentally-friendly. It can kind of be a pain, but no real big inconvenience.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aspiringtravelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family stayed at the Westin in Maui July 16th-July 22nd. We had two rooms one room was the mountain views and the other was ocean views room #715. Both were great rooms but the ocean view room was amazing! My husband and I loved sitting out on the balcony with a bottle of wine enjoying the beautiful view. I can't say enough great things about the beautiful hotel but I must mention a couple of employees that made such a great impact on our family and it was Grace and Jason. I beyond impressed with their customer service and professionalism. If you see Grace at the front desk say Hi and tell her you heard amazing things about her. Thank you again Grace and Jason from my family we appreciate all you did!

Room Tip: Ocean view over looking the pool rooms on the floors #600 and above
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean and the staff is very friendly, again I must mention Grace, she is amazing! Beautiful place to stay and kid friendly. My only reservations about the hotel is the cost of food and the hotel $30 a day resort fee and tax is high.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cancuno630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Property: Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing