We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beachfront Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stay here often for work. They are generous with their upgrades to oceanview rooms. The flamingos and birds on the first floor are pretty cool. The spa is better than most resorts - the massages are amazing and they have an ocean view relaxation area to have tea in your robe and slippers after the massage. :) I had a few issues with room service this past trip, but they were very apologetic upon checkout and promised personal service on my next trip. The ocean view rooms are gorgeous!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AlohaGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 5,162 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I spent our 5th anniversary at this perfect location. There had been several reviews mentioning bad/unfriendly service and that had us a little concerned after we made our reservation. However, absolutely everyone we encountered from the moment we arrived to departure were helpful, nice and friendly. Even during the hurricane Iselle scare, they relocated the breakfast from the Relish Bistro to one of the large ballrooms and had plenty of cheery staff out in the lobby directing people to the location.

Upon check in, we were also given a voucher for a free bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary from room service.

Not saying previous reports of bad service were not true, we just had the opposite experience during our stay.

Our room was on the 4th floor on the mountain side. We found it very clean and updated with a beautiful bathroom and plenty of closet and drawer space for our gear. There was also a laptop size safe in the closet.

The restaurants were a little pricey, but we mixed meals at the hotel with the ones at the Whaler's Village right next store.

Our favorite times we spent on the beach under the rented umbrellas - they are limited so reserving one early in the morning, after breakfast, is a safe bet. After it is setup, you can return anytime later to start using it.

Overall, a wonderful week at a wonderful beachside hotel.

Room Tip: You might want to stay away from the rooms next to the elevators due to the noise from the ice machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Bren727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our second trip to Kaanapali. We had been concerned when selecting a resort because none seemed "perfect" based on reviews, and I'm writing because we are SO lucky to have found the Westin. In comparison to other Kaanapali resorts, it has the best stretch of beach (large, flat, perfect sand, no rocks, calmer/safer than other areas). The location is right in the middle of the hotel strip, so that it is < 5 minutes walk from the convenience of Whalers village, ~ 10 minutes from Black rock. It also has the nicest pool complex -- huge and truly idyllic, waterfalls all over the place, serious slide, lovely fish/flamingos/black swan. We arrived shortly before the hurricane that wasn't, and every single hotel employee was helpful and gracious. Our room was modern and recently renovated, and the mountain view was breathtaking, with a daily rainbow. The only downside was that, like the rest of Maui, food is ridiculously overpriced and not so great. Our favorites: (1) Lahainaluna cafe in Lahaina, (2) Hula grill Barefoot Bar at Whalers Village, (3) Flatbread Pizza in Paia. Also, driving up the West Maui coast to Honolua Bay and the Nakalele blowhole was amazing, as was driving up and hiking all around Haleakala. Snorkeling at black rock was phenomenal.

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean view -- mountain is awesome. But ask for newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jdsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

What a wonderful tagline! Thank you so much for letting us know that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thank you for choosing us as your home away away from home. We can't wait to see you again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were in Maui celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This hotel is beautiful but the people at the Front Desk need to improve their customer service skills. Regardless of who we dealt with the week we were there no one was friendly and they made it seem like we were disturbing them. This is the first time I had a complaint with a Westin, so we were really surprised how unfriendly the Front Desk people were and how they really didn't want to make any effort to help you. One issue that upset us is that we paid extra for an Ocean View room and by the time we ended up at the hotel it was around 6:00 p.m. They put us in a room right next to the stairs and elevator with a very limited Ocean View. This was a special occasion for us so needless to say this was not acceptable. They were able to switch our room the next day and were supposed to let us know when the room was ready. Of course they did not so after waiting all day we finally had to find out if our new room was ready. During this time we met a couple at the pool who told us they arrived the same day we did but early in the morning and paid for a basic room. They had to wait a little while for a room since it was early but they were upgraded to an Ocean View room on one of the upper floors at no extra cost. Yet we paid for our Ocean View room and had to fight to get it and waste a whole day to get moved to one with a limited Ocean View on a lower level. This is not right or fair since we paid for this type of room to celebrate a big event in our life. The message the Westin seems to make is go ahead and pay extra for an Ocean View room but you may not get it because we will give it to someone who arrives early and doesn't pay for one.

Room Tip: Make sure that get an Ocean View room if you paid for it and that it is on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mccolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first time our family of four stayed in the Lahaina area and overall we had a good experience. We spent our first 4 nights down south at the Fairmont so... we went into the Westin with a mix of excitement to get a different taste of Maui but some trepidation as we left our suite and paradise behind in Wailea. It's a nice drive up the coast to get to the property and after you pass through town you'll come across this immense resort. First thing you notice as you pull up is the sheer number of balconies and how close they are together - and they're all facing the parking lot.

A critical recommendation & consideration: Request to stay in the 'new' tower, the one that's off to the side. I believe all of these rooms are newer and slightly larger (albeit at a greater cost). We got a great room down at the end of the hall on the 9th floor, overlooking the pool and plenty of beach/ocean.

The grounds are great - much more of a touristy resort than the Fairmont - starting with the flamingos just chilling in the large pond directly adjacent to the entry, complete with a waterfall and exotic jungle.

It's important to note that our stay was impacted by what was apparently a once-in-40-years event with the arrival of Hurricane Iselle. When we checked in Iselle was just two days away and everyone was amped up and anxious as we waited to see which direction it would go and what areas might get hit the hardest. As such, the place was a bit of a zoo. People were checking out, checking in and crowds were everywhere with all the hustle and bustle of a big city. Again, not necessarily a bad thing, but it was such a striking difference to the serenity at the Fairmont.

The location is really convenient as the shopping mall and multiple restaurants are literally right next door. We ate one lunch at the Maui Grill which was great - outside seating on the sand - and a dinner at Leilani's, which was also very nice. The mall and area shut down for a bit as the rains and winds passed through but then everything slowly came back to life by later in the afternoon. As it turns out, the Tropical Storm was barely noticeable in our area save for a bit of howling wind overnight.

The staff did a good job handling this weather crisis. Occupants were given daily updates in the form of letters delivered to the room with some basic info and insights into the hotel's readiness plans. There was a bit of a rush on bottled water and dry goods next door as people horded food awaiting who-knows-what-kind-of-weather-event. The hotel opened up buffet dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner and limited room service to just sandwiches to keep up with the demand as nobody was able to leave property to eat. We did manage to eat a late lunch / early dinner at the pool-side "Relish" just before it was shut down. It was a bit of a mob scene but we luckily got a table after about 20 minutes. Clearly much of the staff opted to stay home and wait out the storm with family as they were running a skeleton crew and service was incredibly slow. We were just happy to have a seat and just took it all in, the staff tried their best, took in all in stride and did what they could. Thankfully, the storm ended up passing through and things got re-opened as the day progressed.

The beach out front is really nice - very large, plenty of sand and surprisingly not that crowded when we were there (during the non-storm times). The sidewalk goes up and down the beach quite a ways and is a bustling morning and evening walk and great for people watching.

The pools are crazy big. Multiple waterfalls, volleyball and basketball, a large winding water slide, a secret grotto pool and an adults-only pool. It was lush and gorgeous and surprisingly NOT that crowded in the water - but finding a few chairs together was no small feat. And forget about trying to score a shade. Thankfully there are plenty of trees and as the day goes on plenty of shade comes around. Also, forget about trying to order a drink. I think our service was skewed somewhat by them being under staffed due to storm but even the days when it was supposedly 'business as usual' you'd be hard pressed to actually see a waiter/waitress walking around. The one I did see taking an order nearby left for a solid 25 minutes before coming back with dozens of drinks to pass around to thirsty pool patrons.

The only downside to the pool, in our opinion - it's CHILLY. I realize keeping such a large body of water is probably challenging / inefficient to keep heated much but really it was just a bit too cold. I had read some similar gripes on Trip Advisor before we arrived and alas it was quite cold for us too. This was before any rains moved in - just bright, hot, sunny days. By contrast the Fairmont pool we came from was a perfect temperature - refreshing for the heat but not turning our kids' lips blue.

I'd also read here that someone said they were hard-sold on some timeshare villas their entire stay and pitched and sold stuff across the property. We never once had a single instance of this happening and got our guard up for nothing. :)

Overall we had a good stay, more so once we switched into a mass-resort mindset. It's like the difference between having a stroll in the park with your wife or hauling your kids through Disneyland. I definitely recommend the same advice I read on this very site:

- Ask for room upgrades. Ask for the 'new' tower. Ask for a room at the end of the hall - as far from elevator and ice machine as you can - it can be a real thoroughfare of commotion.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new tower, facing the ocean are great. Extra bonus if you can get far away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Westin Maui Resort and Spa was excellent!! Our stay was from Aug 8th-Aug 13. Our room was a "mountain facing" view. The view was beautiful and although our room was small it was immaculate (we are very particular). Excellent amenities including pool and beach service, and the staff was wonderful!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquirrelMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are so happy to hear that we went met your particular expectations. Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff. It really means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back again. Thank you for choosing the Westin Maui Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived to discover two hurricanes heading our way. The staff appeared well prepared and moved us to a higher room upon request. The only concern with the hotel was the big volcano slide. My adventurous son (8 yr.) and his 10-yr old friend found it a bit too slick to be fun and feared of being tossed over the side. However, there were plenty if other things to keep them happy. Lovely rooms, pleasant staff, beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogletre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £253 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing