We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about this resort is convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything about this resort is convenient”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I brought our 20-month old son to this resort. It's located at the end of the Kaanapali Parkway - it's the last resort on the strip of beach. 

Kaanapali beach is perfect and Sheraton has the best stretch of it. It's location next to Black rock provides a great scenic backdrop. 

The resort is just the right size, it's probably on the smaller side in terms of the pool area and common areas - but it's location on the beach makes it feel like a huge resort. The resort grounds are very stroller-friendly.

The rooms were really clean and comfortable. These are definitely hotel rooms not condos. Our room was on the lower level so we had a little patio that opened up to a lawn area and was literally yards away from the beach. The mini-fridge was a good size for us.

The staff is really nice and helpful - they were able to answer all my questions. There is a resort charge that you pay on top of your hotel rates - it includes self parking and wireless internet access. It felt like those items were "free" but I kept having to remind myself that its not necessarily free but rather it's included in the daily fee. Even thought I booked and paid for the hotel on Priceline in advance I still had to pay the resort fees at check out. 

We arrived on a Wednesday evening just in time to watch the Black Rock cliff diving ceremony. That was interesting and the person performing the ceremony was such a good sport about taking photos with guests as he made his way toward the cliff. For a Wednesday evening there appeared to be a ton of activities for families. 

It's less than a ten minute walk to Whaler's Village on a paved trail that winds along Kaanapali beach. Whaler's Village is great because it has the basic food court (McDonalds, sandwiches, etc.) as well sit down casual non-chain restaurants. The ABC store also had enough selection for us to stock up on snacks and drinks for our room.

Lahaina town was a quick ten minute drive from the resort.  Perfect for souvenir shopping and great eats. (Aloha Mixed Plate, Ululani Shave Ice and Local Food all were repeats during our 4 day stay)

We ventured out to South Maui to visit Makena, Wailea and Kihei - an easy 45 minute drive from our resort. 

Overall, It was the perfect resort for our stay. My husband and I agree that it would also be a great resort for couples without kids. We will definitely return - hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gertrudeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Aloha.

Thank you so much for sharing about your recent stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. We are so glad that you enjoyed the location and convenience of our resort and its proximity to the beach, restaurants and shopping. We are also glad that you felt the resort was accommodating toward families and children. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to you and your family's return to the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,840
    1,472
    600
    239
    166
See reviews for
1,036
2,296
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My partner and I purchased a 5 day package deal to stay at this hotel in April but decided we wanted to stay longer then 5 days since it took awhile for us to get there. The first few days of our stay,we had a what was called a mountain view. We had no idea just how lovely this would be. We were able to see a sliver of the ocean from our balcony but also had this amazing sunset view of the mountain behind the spectacular golf course. (We are golfers so appreciate a nice golf course!) We were sad at the thought of having to go to a not as fantastic room but the hotel staff immediately switched this and allowed us to stay in our room with the gorgeous view for our entire stay. We loved the luaus, hula dancers, and nightly extravaganza on the black rock. We are going back this summer and neither of us can wait. We highly recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, well kept grounds, and delicious food and drinks.

Room Tip: The full ocean view rooms looked fantastic but the partial ocean with a mountain view was also fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Aloha.

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Mountain View room, accommodating staff and our Luau with the delicious food and drinks! We are also glad that you had decided to extend your stay with us. We look forward to greeting you both back to the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My fiancé and I just got back from another great 7-night stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort (we were there almost exactly a year ago as well), and it was just as good as I remembered! Upon check-in, we were warmly greeted by the staff working at the front desk and upon discovering we were SPG members and also repeat guests, we were kindly offered a free upgrade to a deluxe ocean front room in building 6 (thanks to Irene and the other young woman working the front desk – they were extremely friendly and accommodating at check-in!). The only catch was that the room had 2 double beds, and we had requested a king. We were pretty excited about the upgrade, so we decided to go ahead and check out the room anyways. We spent one night there and really enjoyed the beautiful view out of building 6, but asked the next day to be moved to a king-bed room. Irene kindly switched us to a gorgeous room in building 2, and we were extremely happy with the new room. We could tell it had been recently updated, and it had a gorgeous view of the ocean as well, while still being closely situated to the rest of the resort.

The resort itself is immaculately kept up and the grounds are just gorgeous. We were told at check-in that the resort was almost completely booked, but the whole time we were there we never had an issue getting pool chairs or felt crowded while walking around the resort. This resort is also situated in a beautiful area and the snorkeling at black rock is amazing --- we saw huge turtles just float by and an assortment of gorgeous fish. We also enjoyed spending time at the pool each day and love the lazy-river type of set up. The only thing we found disappointing is that since our trip last year they have converted a number of the pool chairs into rental lounges that you have to pay to use. The entire time we were there we never saw anyone actually rent these “upgraded” chairs around the pool. At a resort where guests are paying a premium and resort fee on top of the daily room fee, it is disappointing to see the resort nickel-and-dime customers with things like that.

We didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants, so I cannot comment on the food quality. Though, we did peek at the menu at Black Rock and it was very pricey, and you are definitely paying for the convenience of not having to leave the hotel. We spent time exploring all over the island, so ate most of our meals in Lahaina or elsewhere. If you are looking for a great meal no too far away, I would recommend Tropica in the Westin. We had an amazing meal there and it is very close - just down the beach walk to the south (they also have a fantastic happy hour!).

We also spent a lot of time running and walking up and down the beach walk from the Sheraton. Although there are a number of other nice resorts in the area, the Sheraton really does have the ideal location and beautiful grounds. It is a great place for couples looking for a quieter, relaxing getaway. We highly recommend the Sheraton Maui!

Room Tip: Building 6 is great if you are looking for a much quieter area and want to be very close to the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katikat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Aloha.

Thank you so much for sharing your recent and past experience at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa, as well as share personal tips for future viewers. We are happy that you once again enjoyed our friendly and accommodating staff, the beautiful grounds and snorkeling with turtles and colorful fish at historic Black Rock. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa! Maybe the same time next year?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed 6 nights in November 2011 after staying at the Hyatt in October 2010, and we definitely prefer the Sheraton. The location and hotel are great with the best beach location next to Black Rock where the snorkeling is very good and easy, even for beginners. The large pool overlooks the beach making our beach to pool trekks very easy. Rooms were large and nicely furnished with a good ocean view. Our only complaint was the unclean hallways where we saw the same dirt for our entire stay, even after we let the front dest know about this. The cleaning staff needs a refresher course. We will be staying here again when we return and hope that this small complaint will be rectified by then.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Aloha.
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. We are so glad that you enjoy our resorts location next to Black Rock, our convenient pool and our spacious rooms. On regards to your later feedback about the resorts hallways. The proper departments have been contacted and are currently reviewing your suggestions. Again thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Sheraton Maui because we had some hotel points to redeem. While we only paid the daily "resort fee" of $26 for the room, I'm going to review this as if we paid the standard rates advertised on your typical travel sites.

First of all, the location of the resort is outstanding if you want to stay on one of the best beaches in Maui (Kaanapali) and enjoy excellent snorkeling (Black Rock). When you stay at the resort, you have the option of lounging by the pool or bringing a towel out onto the sand....whatever you prefer. And the snorkeling at Black Rock is fantastic for all skill levels. Of course, it can get a bit crowded, but never too bad. The pool area is also very nice and well kept with plenty of lounge chairs in both sun and shade. Their shallow pool seems to go on for miles with little grottos and channels along the way. We don't have kids, but I'd guess that they'd love the pool area. The shops and restaurants at Whalers village are also a short, pleasant walk down the paved path.

So five stars for the location, but the real detractor for this resort is room quality. The decor is somewhat dated and the bathrooms are in need of repair; our bathroom had cracked tiles, countertops separating from walls, stains on the walls, etc. It was perfectly usable, just not in great condition. They aren't terrible, but for the price that they charge for rooms ($200 and up per night), I expect more. The bed was comfortable enough but the carpet was also dated and the "lanai" was barely big enough to stand on; let alone fit a chair on. Our room had a "partial" ocean view of North Kaanapali but also overlooked the tennis courts, parking lot and service area. As we walked through the resort, there are some sections where rooms are being renovated so the Sheraton is probably undergoing an upgrade and clearly there are some rooms with some simply amazing ocean views....but I'm sure they are expensive.

The other thing to note is that you'll likely need to pay a $26 dollar per day "resort fee", which allows you to park your car and gets you some free wireless in designated areas like the lobby. You have to pay for wireless in your room.

The resort itself is very large and it can easily take you 15 minutes to walk from your room to the car so if you are bringing a lot of gear, drop it off at the valet first.

Again, location is outstanding, the grounds are nice and well kept but the basis of my review and rating is based on cost of rooms compared to quality. You can easily go North 5 minutes and find a 1 bed remodeled condo with full kitchen, laundry, ocean view etc...but some people like the resort experience more than the condo experience.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, just know that you are paying for the outstanding location and not neces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majpreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Aloha.

Thank you for your recent feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed the resorts location along with outstanding Ka'anapali beach for lounging and snorkeling.

We also appreciate your comments about our rooms and decor. We are currently in the midst of a room's renewal project which entails a complete redesign of the interior of our guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here for five nights on the second half of our fantastic Maui trip. The hotel is situated on one of the best beaches anywhere. The resort is large and spread out so be prepared to do a lot of walking. When we checked in we were offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra $100 a night which we accepted. The suite was a decent size with a drop down murphy bed which was great for our teenage son, it had two flat screen tv's, microwave, small fridge, and a larger bathroom with an extra shower, I think the extra cost was worth the price. The resort has a very nice pool area although we never did use it as Kaanapali beach can't be beat with the warm water and view,it also has ok snorkelling close to the black rocks.They have a rental shack that can supply you with any water activity you want to do.The staff here were excellent. The only downside to this otherwise wonderful resort is the cost. They nickle and dime you for everything and anything. I would suggest you rent any snorkel equipment for your stay from Snorkel Bob's or Maui Dive Shop, much more reasonably priced. We also never ate at the resort, we drove into Lahaina ten minutes away for a better selection of restaurants with more normal prices. I would stay here again but I would also consider some of the other properties along Kaanapali beach, just be prepared for the expense.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Aloha.
Thank you for sharing your family’s experience at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa, along with your other helpful tips for future Maui travelers. We are so glad that we could accommodate your family and that you enjoyed Kaanapali beach's views, warm water and snorkeling. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Maui 'ohana(family).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

First the good... the hotel room was very clean. We had some friends who stayed in a condo. One set got stuck with a unit that hadn't been updated since the 80's; the other had a pretty nice place. So a condo could be rolling the dice. Overall I was definitely happy with the quality of the room and resort. The property is on a very nice beach and although I didn't use the pool, it was nicely laid out and looked like fun - especially for kids.

Now the bad... do your own research before you come because the front desk does a terrible job explaining the layout, perks, and other options of the hotel (like the free shuttle that takes you down to Lahaina's Front St shopping area). It wasn't until our last day that we saw the list of activities that they featured everyday. Also, there is a $25/day charge (not optional) that covers parking and internet. We stayed in bldg 4 which ended up being about a mile walk to the parking structure (seriously). The biggest rip-off in my opinion was the $45/day rental fee (for the beach) for either a set of cabana chairs or for a set of beach chairs and umbrella. Lastly, the most ridiculous charge that they told us about was a $4 charge to have wine glasses delivered to our room.

Overall I thought the Sheraton was nice, but I was tired of being nickel and dimed by the time I left.

Room Tip: Building 4 is a mile walk to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRBianca, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Aloha.
Thank you very much for your input on your recent stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. We are so glad that you enjoyed the overall quality of the resort and beautiful Ka'anapali beach.
However we do apologize for the lack of explanation for all the amenities, perks and activities our resort offers. I have contacted the appropriate departments to review your feedback. We do appreciate your opinion. Guest opinions only help us to improve the resort for future guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
23.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing