We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST beach-front location on Kaanapali!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January as a last minute, "we just found out we're going to have a baby and want one last big getaway!" After reading all the reviews of the many hotels on Kaanapali beach, we narrowed it down to the Westin and this one because both seemed nice, but not ridiculously expensive. We ultimately settled on the Sheraton because of how others recommended it for better beachfront access and better for couples. We're glad we did!
When we arrived, we were offered a FREE room upgrade from the small, resort view, basic (cheapest) room, to a SUITE!! Wow, this really made our stay simply amazing. The Sheraton does have the best beach location, being right next to Black Rock which is great for snorkeling and swimming, and seems more sheltered from the wind. We didn't spend much time "in" the resort, preferring to be on the beach or out exploring. If we come back to Kaanapali, we agreed that we'd probably stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,414)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 4,414 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed at the sheraton maui while on our honeymoon to Hawaii. We were upgraded at a small cost to building 6. I was a little worried as i read a lot of people complaining about how far walk building 6 was from the beach. Honestly people must be very unfit because we thought it was fine! Yes you do need to catch 3 lifts but I actually loved looking at the great views of the property as we made our way down to the beach. I also didnt see any kids in building 6. The property itself was amazing. First day there we hired some snorkling equipment ($8 an hour) and found ourselves snorkling with turtles just offshore. We were always able to get a beach lounge no matter what time of the day. We did lots of laying on beach lounges and having cocktails served to us from the lovely people at the cliff top bar (in particular Ben who was excellent), The service at the bar was the best we had seen while on holiday. We thought the food was reasonably priced and was always yummy. We loved the Sheraton Maui and would return :)

Room Tip: Building 6 had great views and was in a much quieter location
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

As a travel professional I have the opportunity to visit a lot of hotels, and in my opinion, this property delivers the perfect formula for a spectacular beach vacation. From snorkeling to shopping to swimming... this property offers everything you could want in a perfect Hawaiian vacation. First, I love that the hotel is not a highrise, so it doesn't completely dominate the property. Highrises feel so corporate and I personally feel as though they do not fit the vision of a nice, relaxing beach resort. The hotel is nicely spread out and the winding pathways are great for taking a morning or sunset walk... which leads me to the next point... the sunset. The Sheraton does a really neat torch-lighting ceremony every night at sunset where someone runs along the beach lighting all of the tiki torches and then dives into the ocean from Black Rock. It is fun to watch and everyone seems to really enjoy it. In addition, some of the best snorkeling on the island is here... there is a nicely semi-protected reef in front of Black Rock and even locals come to enjoy the beach activities here. I saw tons of people snorkeling, stand-up paddle boarding and swimming in the ocean. The hotel also has a relaxing lazy river and pool for those who don't want to swim in the ocean. I also saw the Luau at Sheraton, which was very entertaining. The rooms are nicely updated and the public areas are upscale and well-maintained. The fitness center could use a little updating, but overall, it served its purpose. The breakfast buffet was simple, but good and they did offer an omelet station. The Japanese steakhouse was fantastic and I would highly recommend that for dinner at least once. I did wish that they had a proper coffee shop instead of the little kiosk, but since they have a full breakfast restaurant, it was fine. The hotel is also next to Whaler's Village, which offers a lot of great shopping and additional dining options. The hotel offers a free shuttle to take guests to Whaler's Village, but it is just as easy to walk along the beach pathway to get there. The Sheraton is also only 10 minutes away from Lahaina... which is a beautiful beach-front neighborhood with cute shops and some of the best dining and entertainment on the island. The staff at the hotel are very attentive and professional. Overall I really enjoyed this property and love the location. I would highly recommend this hotel for a great family vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenueQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Out of the two breakfast buffets tried (we had complimentary meal tickets, the Westin Ocean Resort Villas and the Sheraton, I can definitely say that the Sheraton is the winner.

The service was always top-notch. The hostesses were always friendly and prompt- even when some cranky guests had to be dealt with (I guess some people get upset about waiting for food). Especially Jessica C., who always had a smile on her face.

The food was good- there was a decent selection and variety of hot/cold breakfast items. They had the standard eggs, bacon, potatoes, eggs Benedict, fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, pastries, oatmeal, cheeses, etc. There's also an omelette bar, which was nice. The variety and quality was way better at Sheraton.

The gentleman servers were always quick to offer both orange juice and coffee.

We were very happy with our experience there and the breakfast left us happy and full until lunch. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night. The room was a nice size, staff was very courteous and helpful. Beautiful grounds and a great beach. We loved being able to snorkel right at the Black Rock. It is probably one of the best things about staying here. There is a ping pong table set up on the grounds, along with some other games that are fun to play.
The only down side I could see was that the pool is too cold, but other than that, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Sheraton Maui was an excellent choice where to stay. It is in the middle of everything. Snorkeling is right at the front door. The staff is very accomodating..
We had 2 issues but theey were taken care of very professionally.
One was upon arrival with the shuttle from the airport which we paid for, the driver let us out but did not take our bags or get any bellman to direct us. We were left schleppping the bags. The desk manager Paula Kowalski looked intot he manner and said Sheraton was truly sorry and would pay the charge for us.
A second more serious matter occurred. We had booked 3 weeks before departure an all day rip to Hana. The day before the trip we received a call that it was overbooked and we would have to take it another day. Again, I spoke to Paula. She claimed it was the tour companies fault but she provided us with free breakfast that morning and arranged to have us take the tour a different day if we wished.h

Room Tip: If you have a SPG card request ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lenlennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have stayed here several times. Staff is very helpful, but sometimes they are pretty busy. We did have a problem with someone actually trying to break in to our room, with the help of the staff, because they said they lost their key. They actually were using a long coat hanger to reach the handle, and when I pulled it under the door and jerked the door open they pretty much filled their pants. Staff actually said this was real, although I still wonder if someone was not just trying to get into a room when they thought no one would be around. Other than this experience the rates are fair, but don't expect to get away without paying the resort fee. Just wish they would up the rate and do away with this argument. Would stay again as the location is so good.

Room Tip: If you want to get on the ocean ask for the oldest section.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review. On behalf of the staff here at Sheraton Maui, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely apologize for the confusion in the room numbers which led to this incident. We have briefed our team about confirming all details of reservation, room number, and guest information prior to responding to these unusual types of situations.

Mahalo,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £230 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing