We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$599
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,602)
Filter reviews
4,603 results
Traveller rating
1,939
1,576
638
262
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,939
1,576
638
262
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffblack rockthe mai tai barwhalers villageour honeymoonocean frontresort feekaanapali beachbreakfast buffetan upgradestayed in buildingsea turtlestwo double bedspublic beachhula grillan ocean view roomper day
Filter
Updating list...
1,745 - 1,750 of 4,603 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having stayed at other resorts on Kaanapali Beach in Maui we were very happy with the Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa. All employees we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. On our first night we had dinner at Black Rock and received a surprise Happy Honeymoon dessert. We also dined at the Cliff Dive Grill three times and really enjoyed the atmosphere.

We upgraded to an ocean front room to what turned out to be the best hotel room view I have ever seen. We spent many hours just relaxing and enjoying the view. It was humpback whale mating season and we were able to see them breaching from our balcony.

The pool was very enjoyable although on one day at 3:00 they had run out of towels and were not going to have any more available that day.

The snorkeling right in front of the hotel is by far the best on Kaanapali Beach. Be sure to swim out and around the point to the small cove on the point. The viewing is much better here with less swimmers. We had a large sea turtle surface 3 feet in front of us!

The Sheraton Club Na Hoku Lounge is really nice with amazing views and free breakfast and afternoon appetizers.

If your room is on the left side of the resort be sure not to park in the garage but instead drive all the way down the resort entry rood and park behind the resort right next to the Na Hoku Lounge. It's much closer to your room from there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Conveniently located this hotel is excellent. Beautiful views of the ocean and grounds. The hotel staff is so friendly and helpful. We have stayed here twice now and could stay again. Plenty of activities to do on the beach.plus you can walk a path on the beach to many other hotels in the area. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. You will not regret it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Aloha Barbara M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from your two stays at our resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your vacations and found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent my birthday at the Sheraton Maui in Jan/Feb this year. I had stayed there 20yrs prior before the renovation, so I expected good things since the renovation so many years ago. The location is perfect, as is the beach..however, even though we paid the compulsory resort fee (30.00USD per night), I was very upset that the lounge chairs on the beach required another rental charge.........Give me a break!!...Resort fees aggravate me at the best of times.....but to have only lounge chairs at the pool included and not the beach is ridiculous!!...The rooms were beautifully redone, but the bathtub was not part of the renovtion, and totally ruined my otherwise favourable impression of our room. If you would like to have a 5star status, do something about those antiquated bathtubs with showers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irenekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Aloha irenekn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing recommendations for improvement. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Sheraton Maui for our honeymoon. Our room as well as the whole resort area was clean and very pretty. The insert tub and white-tile shower was not jaw-dropping gorgeous, but they served their purpose. We were in Building 6, which made our walk to the lobby and the main resort area a trek, but we didn’t mind. Plus, the walk takes you through ocean views with several exotic plants and flowers. We had a great view of the Black Rock nightly cliff dive ceremony from Building 6.

I loved all of the open walls in the structure of the resort. Be careful when walking, though — the lizards like to dart across the walkways! They are fun to watch if you’re from Wisconsin like me or an area where you’re not accustomed to seeing little tropical creatures.

Since it’s a resort and not the Holiday Inn Express, everything comes with a price — usually a high price. We had the breakfast buffet at the Black Rock Terrace one day, and opted to save money after that. The rooms have a fridge and microwave. We grabbed OJ, milk and cereal at the local store and ate breakfast on our room’s patio. This was a great money-saving option and still came with ocean views!

Also, we were unimpressed with the Cliff Dive Bar. Our server was somewhat nonexistent and was not clear about drink prices. The menu showed $11/per, but she said our drinks would be $8/per. We later realized that she meant that the other pool bar had $8 drinks. Needless to say, this was our one and only stop at the Cliff Dive Bar.
The Sheraton’s lazy river pool was a great place for lounging. And even being an adult, I had to go down the slide a few times. It was fun!

The Sheraton is within walking distance from the Whaler’s Village shops and the Leilani’s on the Beach restaurant (I recommend it!). I really liked Kaanapali beach, and the snorkeling right there at Black Rock was great. We saw several reefs and fish as well as a turtle and reef shark. (We rented equipment from Snorkel Bob’s in Lahaina — I cannot comment on the Sheraton’s beach huts that rent out equipment.)

I would definitely recommend the Sheraton Maui to anyone visiting Maui. And if and when I go to Maui again, I absolutely plan to book my stay again at the Sheraton!

Room Tip: On a quirky sidenote, we heard animal noises during the night from the bushes that line the water. We had no clue what these were until on two occasions I saw mongoose walk into the bushes at dusk. They make moaning noises — only at dusk and at night. We were in the ground floor corner room, 6101, and heard them every night. A couple just a few doors down on the same ground level told us that they did not hear them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just returned from a week long stay at the the Sheraton. If you spend any time at all reading a couple of reviews, you will know what to expect with this property. It is a beautiful resort with beautiful grounds and a beach vibe, but it is not ultra modern like some of the more recently built hotels on Kaanapali beach. The rooms are nice, but not ultra luxurious, so if you are looking for granite countertops and in-shower televisions, this is not the place for you. All or most of the rooms have been recently "refreshed." We saw some rooms being painted while we were there, so they are definitely putting their best foot forward. We stayed in building three which is directly off of the main lobby, and in my opinion, is the best location. Our balcony overlooked the main lawn of the resort, the restaurant, the pool, and the ocean. Other rooms in the spa towers on top of blackrock might have a better view, but are farther away from everything. We ventured to the fitness center which is located in the spa buildings and it was a bit of a hike to get there -- two elevator rides and following several signs. To set the record straight, carpeting in the main hallways was in a state of disrepair when we arrived, but tasteful signs were posted that it was being replaced, and during our stay some of it was replaced. We received a note from the manager that they would be replacing the rest of it when the carpet they ordered arrived (and we recieved 2 drink coupons for the inconvenience). They are also updating the wallpaper in the hallways. With all of that said, the room we stayed in was in great shape, and none of this took away from the great time we had. Even the bellman Tony apologized for the hallway carpet and said it was being replaced soon. It was nice that the staff addressed the issue head-on instead of pretending everything was fine. But overall, the rest of the property was very nice and well groomed.

The staff was also generally very helpful. Gabe at the front desk was all smiles as we checked in and he gave us a variety of rooms to choose from. One couple next to us was frustrated with their room because it was "partial ocean view" and they said they could not see the ocean. Be forewarned, you get what you pay for here, and if you want to actually see the ocean, you need to go with at least an ocean view room, and should probably get an "ocean front." In any event, Gabe upgraded us from ocean view to ocean front for no charge, and it was a great room. Tony the bellman was also very upbeat and pointed out all of the parts of the property from our balcony.

The resort's location is the key to its success, and that is obvious when you go to the beach where the property is located. It is the most crowded stretch of Kaanapali beach, but for good reason. The snorkeling is good around BlackRock (rent snorkels from Boss Frogs for the week - it is cheaper than renting at the resorts). The only downside is that around 10:00am tourists and locals start to climb and hang out on top of blackrock, and dive off into the water, which just happens to be the same water where everyone is snorkeling. It was more of an annoyance than anything, but I guess it is fun if you are the one jumping. It didn't seem to scare any fish away, and we saw several turtles around the area as well, including some that came up within a 10 feet of shore. Even so, my wife and I (both of us 29 years old) agreed that the snorkeling here was not the best on the island. That honor goes to Hanolua Bay, mostly because it has zero waves and massive coral formations, even moreso than Blackrock. The only real downsides to Hanolua Bay is that you have to drive there (about 20 minutes north), and it is not a sandy beach -- it is filled with medium sized boulders. But, it was still the best place to snorkel and was decently crowded, which demonstrates its popularity (it was not as crowded as blackrock, so it was more peaceful).

While Kaapapali beach is certainly a fun beach with good snorkeling, it does get crowded around Blackrock, and we actually preferred to take the beach path just north of the Sheraton to the beaches on the otherside of Blackrock. They are much less crowded and the waters have more beautiful color there. The downside is the snorkeling is not as good.

Finally, I will say a word about food and drinks. We are not the type of travellers who sit around the pool all day sipping mai tais, so I cannot comment on the waitstaff at the pool. I grabbed two drinks at the Cliff Dive Bar one afternoon without a wait or a problem. We also ate at the Cliff Dive Bar on the first night and thought it was really good. We had the kabobbs -- shrimp, mahi mahi, and steak, and it was some of the best food we had on maui (yes, we ate at Mama's Fish house, and were not blown away by their food; see my separate review). The fish and shrimp were grilled simply and came with some dipping sauces, and the seafood itself had great flavor. The side dishes were nothing spectacular, and it was not cheap, but nothing on maui is cheap. Finally, if you are heading out early either to Haleakala for the sunrise or the Road to Hana, you can order a "breakfast" from the Black Rock terrace restaurant ahead of time to take with you. It is quite large for $29 and includes a large cup of yogurt, half of a papaya, two slices of banana bread and two pastries, a can of juice, and a sandwich (turkey on croissant, or ham/swiss on wheat). We used it as breakfast and lunch because of the large size of the sandwich. It is not cheap, but it was certainly convenient because we ordered it the day before (just ask for a form at blackrock terrace) and picked it up the night before.

In summary, I am happy we stayed at the Sheraton. We were not surrounded by italian marble and chandeliers, but we were surrounded by great beaches and friendly staff, which is what really counts.

Room Tip: Building three has great views of the entire property and is centrally located.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Aloha Chris S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews