We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,591)
Filter reviews
4,591 results
Traveller rating
1,936
1,571
636
260
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,936
1,571
636
260
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffblack rockthe mai tai barwhalers villageour honeymoonocean frontresort feekaanapali beachbreakfast buffetan upgradestayed in buildingsea turtlestwo double bedspublic beachhula grillan ocean view roomper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 4,591 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As advertised, the Sheraton grounds, location, and setting are very beautiful. The complex is quite large, and it takes a little "getting used to" to find your way around. My wife and I spent 8 nights there in May, however, there were many issues and complaints which will preclude us from returning for another stay. For a supposedly first class hotel, we expected much better. Some of the problems were as follows: (1). We made our reservations 6 months in advance directly through their website, requesting an ocean front room for $415 per day. (Had to provide 2 nights down payment in advance, which is refundable). Upon check-in we were given an ocean front room in Bldg 3, 2nd floor (in spite of my Starwood profile requesting an upper floor). While facing the ocean which is about 100 yards away, the view from this room is blocked by numerous trees, pool buildings, and beach umbrellas. We protested and were finally given a complementary upgrade to a room in Bldg #6 which was about 20 feet from the ocean, but no beach access. This building is on the far end of the complex, and is therefore much quieter than the central buildings. (2). Our new room had many issues: The lanai floor, chairs, and table had numerous bird droppings on them. The bathtub drain was plugged and would fill up ankle deep after one shower. The sink drain had a foul odor. The Wi-Fi included with the $30 resort fee was spotty and slow. (A higher bandwidth signal could be purchased for an additional $16 per day!) Bldg #6 has outside corridors with no seals on the doors. We were invaded by ants and small black beetles. The front desk said that is commonplace for Hawaii. We ended up purchasing our own can of bug spray to keep them under control. (On a positive note, the housekeeping staff was very courteous, conscientious, and thorough.) (3). Bldg #6 has its own guest parking lot with a gate opened by the room key. This gate was very temperamental, and only seemed to accept the card on a random basis. Speaking of this parking lot, there are not enough places to accommodate the number of rooms. At night, cars are parked in the loading zones, on the lawns, and in the clearly marked "Do not park" spaces.

One final comment is that the restaurants at the resort are very expensive. Three meals per day at the resort would easily exceed $100/person without drinks. They also tack-on a 20% "service charge" for the breakfast buffet! Fortunately, there are other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jefftisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha jefftisd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort and that you found the grounds beautiful. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and appreciate you letting us know about them. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have never written a review before but felt that my experience was worth writing about. My husband and I recently spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Sheraton in Maui. From the glowing reviews here, I thought this would be a fantastic start to our 8 days in paradise.
We checked in and were met friendly staff who kindly upgraded our room to an ocean view. As other folks have noted, the hotel needs a bit of updating but the grounds are beautiful. However, this place is huge and requires a navigation system. As a Boston resident, I am use to lack of signs but this hotel felt like a maze.
The layout of the hotel was not the only issue. We had just unloaded our suitcases after 14 hours of flying and desperately needed a drink. We headed to the bar on the beach but got lost along the way. We asked for directions and was met by a mini presentation on why we should buy a time share,what our monthly income was,and if we owned our home. Let me be clear, we walked by a desk and asked where the restaurant was. Instead, we were harassed and still did not get the directions we so desired.
We finally made it to the bar to watch the divers. Sadly, our waitress did not seem interested in our business and took 10 minutes to say hello and take a drink order. We left shortly after.
The next day, we went to the breakfast buffet. Do not waste your money on this! First, there were the birds eating off the buffet line. The food that had not been touched by birds was not worth the 28 dollars. A breakfast sandwich at McDonalds would have been better.
Needless to say, we did not enjoy our time at the Sheraton. We could have stayed for the remainder of our visit but due to our experience -we changed our plans and stayed at the Marriott in Wailea.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lpmusictx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha Lpmusictx,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team to use as a tool to better serve our future guests. We hope you will give our resort another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A friend recommend this and my first thought was "A sheraton?". It was great! Absolutely beautiful setting--the ocean and nature are incompatible and the lush grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The hotel has "Hawaiian Charm" that some others we walked past majorly lacked. Each evening, guests from surrounding hotels come to see the cliff jumping ceremony and we were just happy to be where everyone else wanted to be! The location is awesome--aside from being on an awe-inspiring beach, you can walk the path to the shopping center and restaurants and see other hotels. Also, having a car rental AT the hotel was so convenient. Our room was great, beautiful views, comfortable, clean, updated. Food at the hotel was great. Staff was welcoming and pleasant. Overall, could not have asked for more. My ONLY complaint (because I feel inclined to tell the whole truth!): One night when we got back from dinner, we had an ant invasion/infestation in our room and the hotel could have handled this a little better--they sent a man out to fumigate without offering us another room, then when I requested another room, we got moved to a room that smelled bad and was really really from our old room also we went from ocean view to back parking lot view, and when i mentioned this they seemed annoyed and upgraded our room for that 1 night only (it was probably 11pm when this was occurring) so we could move back into the ant room (ant-less due to chemicals!)...things worked out in the end and overall it was great and I certainly would go back--ASAP in fact!

Room Tip: We liked being in the main building
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha TMTGT,

Thank you for taking to share your experience and feedback. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the location of our property. We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to share it with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful pool, ponds, outside premises are amazing. Right on the beach, on the end of the aisle of resorts, so it's not as crowded. Staff is super friendly and nice.

Rooms could use new carpet, pictures on walls, the rooms weren't anything special.

Fairly priced. We got a partial ocean view for $215/night by going on their website for specials, you have to pay in advance and can't cancel if you do this though.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Aloha Kristin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

No complaints. The rooms were nice and clean, the service was nice. The beach was nice, so was the pool. Stayed here with my family, and had an amazing time! Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Maui with a family with either teens or small children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seal754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Aloha seal754,

We are happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews