We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the naysayers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ignore the naysayers”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I am baffled by the negative reviews. We had nothing but outstanding service by pleasant staff from the moment we arrived. Our room was spotlessly clean and housekeeping was friendly and thorough. Our views were amazing. Yes we were also in the more distant building without immediate beach access, but we were also protected from any noise and disturbances. The pool was lovely. Just get a chair early because they do get taken quite early. The grounds are lovely without being ostentatious. Easy access to the beach and on one of the prettier parts of it with the cliff. It appeared to be one of the better maintained hotels on the whole strip. I cannot say enough what a lovely time I had and fantastic service my entire family received.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlester3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha Mlester3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,858
    1,499
    606
    242
    173
See reviews for
1,059
2,322
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,077)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If I could give all zeroes for this hotel, I would. We are currently staying at this Sheraton. It is our first official morning here. First off, it is not what they portray in photos. It is very dated, dingy, and dirty. Our "oceanfront" room was more of a palm tree/lawn front room. After complaining, dealing with rude staff with major attitude, we were finally moved. Our new floor was one floor up and disgustingly dirty. It was obvious it had not been vacuumed because there was crashed food on the floor (dead center) between the beds, there was trash on the floor, and a stained comforter. On white bedding, stains are obvious, so it's beyond me as to why this was overlooked. After complaining and more attitude, we finally met one of the managers (Grace), who was nice and helpful. Keep in mind, we had to waste so much time in this check-in process and we and our daughters had to miss lunch due to it. Grace offered to put us in a nicer, "upgraded" part of the hotel with an actual oceanfront view. Later another manager (Marcelly) included this with upgraded access to the lounge with complimentary breakfasts and snacks in the evening. This seemed like a good faith effort, so we were more at ease. So we moved for a third time, keep in mind we were tipping the bellman each time we moved, because of course each time it was a different person. The bellman we had moving to our new room was awesome (Randall). He really engaged us and honestly, kept our wits about us. Our new room was ground level and looking into a hedge. So much for oceanfront. On top of that, there were 4 dead cockroaches in our room. They were visible and had clearly been there for a while, not freshly deceased, if you know what I mean. There were also several live bugs, but we do know that being by the ocean comes at the price of water bugs, however with everything else, it was just one more thing. Did I mention this room also included another stained white comforter? Once again, we called the front desk and were told we would get a call back from management. We were trying to get to a luau in the midst of all of this, so my husband decided to call again so we could get to our luau in time. This time we received more attitude! The man on the phone told my husband he already given the message and just to wait. We have stayed at many hotels and NEVER experienced such a horrible set of events! In fact, we had just flown over to Maui from Oahu. We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village for much less with NO problems and a REAL oceanfront room with no scary bugs. Anyway, so we went to the lobby to talk to someone. Gabe was helpful, as helpful as he could be till Noah came over and pointed at something to him on the screen and suddenly, Gabe was powerless to help us. Noah had given my husband a ton of attitude prior, so this act infuriated me! I couldn't believe it. Finally Marcelly (another manager) came out because Grace was in a meeting. She too was helpful and moved us up to an unobstructed view of the ocean. This time we moved our own bags and the room was cleaner and the view was better. I guess fourth times a charm? Well, hardly. Like I said, this hotel is nothing to write home about or Instagram about. When they finally brought our rollaway to the room, the bedding had a 6" in diameter stain! How's that for charm? Did I mention the poorly lit elevators, hallways, and stained cushions on the benches throughout the property? Last night, on the phone, Gabe confirmed our access to the lounge for breakfast and snacks. So this morning we headed to our one "upgrade" we felt might help ease the two hours and stress we spent on check-in alone. We were wrong. We got to the lounge and were denied access! The hostess was sweet and helped ease the blow, but it was embarrassing, infuriating and again, wasted MORE of our time. She spoke to Grace, who said we were not given this upgrade. I'm not sure where the ball was dropped on this one or if we were just plain lied to but either way it is very disheartening. I believe everyone should be true to their word. Sadly, we thought each part of our trip would only get better (from Oahu to Maui) and we were so thrilled. The Sheraton in Maui has already put such a damper on our stay in Maui. We just can't believe this trip that is supposed to be a trip of a lifetime has so quickly turned into a nightmare. We would move to another hotel but we only have three nights in horrid place and then we will spend the latter part of our trip at the Ritz in Kapalua. The hope of the Ritz in the near future is our only hope at this point. We decided to do all of the road trip stuff (Road to Hana, etc) while at Sheraton, simply to avoid the awful place, the place we once thought we would go to for respite. Don't waste your time or money on this one. The biggest hotel mistake of our lives!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Nichol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Nichol N,

Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to share your feedback. It is regrettable to hear how disappointing your stay has been. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you've experienced. Your feedback is being forwarded to our management team. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I cant rave enough about this property! From the time we arrived we had the VIP treatment. The room we booked was the King deluxe ocean view suite. Absolutely amazing view of the ocean and very spacious. The pool and beach were great. You do have to pay for umbrellas and lounge chairs on the beach which was a bit of a disappointment. Drinks in the grotto were approximately 20.00 per drink for doubles. Other than that had a wonderful time. I

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Offthewalls48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha Offthewalls48,

We are happy to hear you and your family had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As advertised, the Sheraton grounds, location, and setting are very beautiful. The complex is quite large, and it takes a little "getting used to" to find your way around. My wife and I spent 8 nights there in May, however, there were many issues and complaints which will preclude us from returning for another stay. For a supposedly first class hotel, we expected much better. Some of the problems were as follows: (1). We made our reservations 6 months in advance directly through their website, requesting an ocean front room for $415 per day. (Had to provide 2 nights down payment in advance, which is refundable). Upon check-in we were given an ocean front room in Bldg 3, 2nd floor (in spite of my Starwood profile requesting an upper floor). While facing the ocean which is about 100 yards away, the view from this room is blocked by numerous trees, pool buildings, and beach umbrellas. We protested and were finally given a complementary upgrade to a room in Bldg #6 which was about 20 feet from the ocean, but no beach access. This building is on the far end of the complex, and is therefore much quieter than the central buildings. (2). Our new room had many issues: The lanai floor, chairs, and table had numerous bird droppings on them. The bathtub drain was plugged and would fill up ankle deep after one shower. The sink drain had a foul odor. The Wi-Fi included with the $30 resort fee was spotty and slow. (A higher bandwidth signal could be purchased for an additional $16 per day!) Bldg #6 has outside corridors with no seals on the doors. We were invaded by ants and small black beetles. The front desk said that is commonplace for Hawaii. We ended up purchasing our own can of bug spray to keep them under control. (On a positive note, the housekeeping staff was very courteous, conscientious, and thorough.) (3). Bldg #6 has its own guest parking lot with a gate opened by the room key. This gate was very temperamental, and only seemed to accept the card on a random basis. Speaking of this parking lot, there are not enough places to accommodate the number of rooms. At night, cars are parked in the loading zones, on the lawns, and in the clearly marked "Do not park" spaces.

One final comment is that the restaurants at the resort are very expensive. Three meals per day at the resort would easily exceed $100/person without drinks. They also tack-on a 20% "service charge" for the breakfast buffet! Fortunately, there are other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jefftisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha jefftisd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort and that you found the grounds beautiful. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and appreciate you letting us know about them. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have never written a review before but felt that my experience was worth writing about. My husband and I recently spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Sheraton in Maui. From the glowing reviews here, I thought this would be a fantastic start to our 8 days in paradise.
We checked in and were met friendly staff who kindly upgraded our room to an ocean view. As other folks have noted, the hotel needs a bit of updating but the grounds are beautiful. However, this place is huge and requires a navigation system. As a Boston resident, I am use to lack of signs but this hotel felt like a maze.
The layout of the hotel was not the only issue. We had just unloaded our suitcases after 14 hours of flying and desperately needed a drink. We headed to the bar on the beach but got lost along the way. We asked for directions and was met by a mini presentation on why we should buy a time share,what our monthly income was,and if we owned our home. Let me be clear, we walked by a desk and asked where the restaurant was. Instead, we were harassed and still did not get the directions we so desired.
We finally made it to the bar to watch the divers. Sadly, our waitress did not seem interested in our business and took 10 minutes to say hello and take a drink order. We left shortly after.
The next day, we went to the breakfast buffet. Do not waste your money on this! First, there were the birds eating off the buffet line. The food that had not been touched by birds was not worth the 28 dollars. A breakfast sandwich at McDonalds would have been better.
Needless to say, we did not enjoy our time at the Sheraton. We could have stayed for the remainder of our visit but due to our experience -we changed our plans and stayed at the Marriott in Wailea.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lpmusictx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Lpmusictx,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team to use as a tool to better serve our future guests. We hope you will give our resort another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A friend recommend this and my first thought was "A sheraton?". It was great! Absolutely beautiful setting--the ocean and nature are incompatible and the lush grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The hotel has "Hawaiian Charm" that some others we walked past majorly lacked. Each evening, guests from surrounding hotels come to see the cliff jumping ceremony and we were just happy to be where everyone else wanted to be! The location is awesome--aside from being on an awe-inspiring beach, you can walk the path to the shopping center and restaurants and see other hotels. Also, having a car rental AT the hotel was so convenient. Our room was great, beautiful views, comfortable, clean, updated. Food at the hotel was great. Staff was welcoming and pleasant. Overall, could not have asked for more. My ONLY complaint (because I feel inclined to tell the whole truth!): One night when we got back from dinner, we had an ant invasion/infestation in our room and the hotel could have handled this a little better--they sent a man out to fumigate without offering us another room, then when I requested another room, we got moved to a room that smelled bad and was really really from our old room also we went from ocean view to back parking lot view, and when i mentioned this they seemed annoyed and upgraded our room for that 1 night only (it was probably 11pm when this was occurring) so we could move back into the ant room (ant-less due to chemicals!)...things worked out in the end and overall it was great and I certainly would go back--ASAP in fact!

Room Tip: We liked being in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha TMTGT,

Thank you for taking to share your experience and feedback. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the location of our property. We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to share it with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful pool, ponds, outside premises are amazing. Right on the beach, on the end of the aisle of resorts, so it's not as crowded. Staff is super friendly and nice.

Rooms could use new carpet, pictures on walls, the rooms weren't anything special.

Fairly priced. We got a partial ocean view for $215/night by going on their website for specials, you have to pay in advance and can't cancel if you do this though.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Aloha Kristin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Property: Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing