We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Service and condition of resort is declining...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a suite for 7 days for a second year in a row. The decline in service and overall condition of the resort was noticeable and disappointing from the prior year. (1). The activities cabana was understaffed and only one woman appeared to really care about her job. (2). The breakfast service staff were horrible. Three of the seven days I had to serve our table coffee, juice and water even though there were waitstaff around who ignored us. I saw other tables this happened to, as well. (I finally complained to a manger on the last day after watching/hearing the unresponsive staff in a corridor laughing loudly and standing around. The manager did not seem to care and "explained" to me that the one waitperson standing around ignored our table because he was not "assigned" to our table. Just wow.). Gratuity was built into our prepaid breakfast vouchers so this was particularly annoying. (3). We had a couple of delayed and/or unresponsive experience housekeeping. (4). One night we returned from dinner at the Ritz and we had to wait nearly 5 minutes for the valet (only 1 around at 10:00 pm) to look up from his phone to park the car. We actually had to interrupt him and he never actually approached us. (5). The Front Desk or Reception staff were not particularly friendly. (6) The chairs and table in our Lanai were covered in bird poop (which carries disease). It looked like it had not been hosed or wiped down for at least 2 months. Conclusion: We payed over $700/night ($5,000) for the suite plus around $2,000 for food, activities, etc. to be treated by staff as if it was a 2 star hotel. Basic wifi was free. High speed was around $17/day. Likely our last stay here.

Room Tip: Try a different resort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Aloha Chloe B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. It's regrettable to hear how how disappointing your stay was this year compared to prior years. We appreciate your honest feedback and will review it with our management team and use it as a tool to better serve our future guests. We hope you will give our resort another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,414)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 4,414 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staff was friendly and recognized us everyday by the pool. Kevin from the concierge desk came to us at the pool and booked all of our exertions for us. We were on our honeymoon and virtually didn't have to lift a finger, everything was set for us without even having to make a phone call. Such a desirable spot of the beach with snorkel & paddleboard rentals available. I would go back in a heart beat.... Thanks again Kevin!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsfan02050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha Patsfan02050,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your honeymoon and will be sure to share your kind words of Kevin. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is located close to everything! Whalers village is a short walk away! The have a great breakfast buffet. The pool is beautiful, we enjoyed lazy afternoons sipping Maui mists. The view from our balcony was beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluemoonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha Bluemoonshine,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at our resort and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The people at the front desk treat you like number and a paycheck. At sign in we were on our honeymoon and it says in the reservation free upgrade if available. We were told it was unavailable which was fine the women they went on to offer us a one step upgrade for $125. Contradiction? We went to our room which had no hot water. Then at checkout I stood in line for 45 minutes. When I got to the desk they charged the resort fee which was more than had been quoted and they stated that it says subject to change without notice. The rooms are extremely loud it sounds like when anyone is in the bathrooms the water flows through all the rooms.

If you have kids beware there are waters sitting in the rooms. Most hotels they give you a water each night. Here each bottle is $5.

It is a gorgeous location. Black rock is gorgeous and you can't beat the area. I would recommend this beach but suggest a different resort.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tmrpitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha Tmrpitch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort and surrounding area. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our front desk and will be sure to share your feedback with our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first time in HI and in Maui.. ..we were here for not only my birthday but my dad's and to celebrate my dad's one yr heart transplant anniversary!.. . . .we were excited to be in Maui and HI and the check in was great but felt that had to really ask for a upgrade despite my SPG platinum status.

The location cant be beat as it is in an amazing part of Maui (Kaanapali area)!


We really stayed here as they have Na Hoku Club Lounge and we would go there every night until mid-week they announced to us that the comp drinks we were getting we cant get (alcohol drinks) which shocked us. . .. we talked to management and they stated that it was a HI law etc etc but it didnt make sense as we had gotten drinks for 3 straight nights. This left a sour taste in our mouth and hence the 3 stars (would have been 5 stars) but this really disappointed us.

Will we stay here . .. probably not until they truly value their SPG members and a club lounge truly is a club lounge. . ..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited for the first time. The beach make it really desirable. The service was good. The restaurants on site were good. It was lovely stay over all. The pool was great for kids, big but you would find them right away. We would come back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank gilgbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha gilgbuch,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We, family of 4 with 12 & 17 year old boys, stayed at Sheraton between 8/5 and 8/12 in the middle of Iselle and Julio storm.

This is our second stay at Sheraton and third time in Kaanapali area.

There's no question about why people should stay here -- the location. You cannot beat the proximity to black rock and whaler's village.

Also, most of issues or complaints are all legit - resort fees for stuff that you don't need, wireless internet that didn't work, the classic magazine on the lounge chair, rooms getting a little older, ... But, you can say that for many other hotels.

For us, we had another excellent stay at Sheraton since we knew what we were getting into and what we normally do at the hotel itself.

Service - Bell service was prompt and friendly. They provide first night valet included in the resort fee so we use that. Check-in took a little time but that was because they were trying to get us a better room. Cleaning service was very nice and friendly. We moved to another room after first night by our choice and that was pretty smooth. I had to call the front desk to inquire about the status but I kind of expected that.

Room - Nice, clean & comfortable and after the upgrade, spectacular view. We got upgraded to delux ocean view in building 3 (Lahaina) and it was awesome. We stayed in the same building last time and really like the convenience of being next to the self parking lot.

Food - I have no idea since we didn't eat at the hotel. Decent options at Whaler's and food is one thing we try to explore so usually don't eat at the hotel.

Pool - We don't hang out by the pool. Kind of defeats the purpose of being within few steps from one of the best beach in the world. So, we didn't have any issues with people "reserving" lounge chairs by the pool.

Beach - We rent the beach cabana when staying at the hotel for the day. It's $45 per day and well worth it because it not only protects you from the sun but the wind when it blows. Much better than umbrellas. Kids go back and forth between the beach and the pool all day. I usually grab some lunch from local joint and we have them on the beach. They don't have drink service on the beach so we usually pack our ice box with what we need. Yep, the rental ends at 5p but we're normally done for the day around 3:30 or 4p to get ready for nice dinner. One thing we did notice was that the beach is MUCH more crowded than 2 years ago.

On the day of check-out, I stop by the front desk and get the final invoice and check that over. It did have charge for pool towels but it got cleared up pretty quick (we had to return the towel from the place we checked out from).

So, for what we normally do -- beach cabana for 2 to 3 days, 2 days at kapalua bay and few excursions or hikes, this hotel fits the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: Building 3 is near the self parking and most are quite a bit larger than standard rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xvisto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha xvisto2000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experiences. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and time on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £230 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing