We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place if you don't need a chain”
Review of Lahaina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place if you don't need a chain”
Reviewed 12 November 2007

First off, this is not the Four Seasons and you are not paying for the 4 Seasons. The affordable hotel is perfect for those on a budget and do not require high maintenance. You will not be able to call the front desk after 7pm, but again, this is not a chain
hotel. My wife and I bought a fifth of vodka, plugged in our iPod and went to the nearby Safeway to make our own Happy Hour before we hit the town. The room is clean, and I have yet to see a bug. Although if Jack Niclolson come running down the hall screaming "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy", I might not be surprised. If you require the amenities of the 4 Seasons, then open up your wallet and pay their rate. This is a simple, quaint, yet, quite frankly, romantic place to stay. High maintenance people need to stay at the Marriott.. Those if us adventerous can sustain a place like the Lahaina Inn. If you don't like 2 stars... then PAY for higher stars... Lahaina Inn is great!

  • Liked — It has Aloha
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trgvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    74
    57
    31
    26
See reviews for
15
132
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My girlfriend and I just got back from staying in here and let me tell you the location is great! Half a block from Front street, which means easy access to the all the bars which is great late at night, no getting into your car after a few. However that is just about it. When we checked in we were told they didn't have the type of room we booked, all that was left in the price range we booked was a room with two twin beds that were too heavy to move. So we paid to upgrade to a double bed in a very tiny room. We were also told we could park in a lot just up the street. Great except they didn't tell us we were going to be paying for it. Not that 7 bucks a day is bad in Lahaina but it would have been nice to know upfront.

Over all if you don't care about having a small dank feeling room this is a good place to stay. (please read as: if you are never going to be in your room than this is a good place to stay) If you want some alone time or if you go out late and want to sleep past 6 than I would find a nicer place to stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyfu262000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed in room #6 which was small and the ac did not work too well.
The room had been redone, and the bathroom was nice.

woke up and walked to the Molokai ferry at 7:15. Good location for seeing Lahaina, but the room is very small.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room. no staff on site
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn in March and were very disappointed by it. The room was tiny, the bathroom was very ugly and run-down and we barely slept at all from all the noise from the street. Charging people an outrageous amount of money to stay in a shoe-box that you've marketed as a quaint return to an older way of life after you've spent the morning shopping at garage sales for old rickety antiques and chucked a bit of lace over a table where the TV should be because you're too cheap to fit the rooms with such things as TVs, air-conditioning or double glazed windows, is something people can only get away with in Hawaii. Two thumbs down, off with their heads!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spoonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

A good place to stay for your N and West side activities. The only place that was less than $150 and no minimum night stays. Yes the room was small, the the common fridge was the smallest dorm fridge you could find, but it was right in the middle of town. Stayed 2 nights to drive North and take a Trilogy sailing tour, so not that much time in the room. Central air keeps the place cool and the desk people are cool too. Common room was good for our morning cereal- Foodland and everything is w/in few blocks away.

Wouldn't stay too long here, our stop between Molokai and a Wailea resort. AM noise does start at 7am, but hey I was awake anyways. Parkin $7/day a block away.

  • Liked — Inexpensive in town
  • Disliked — small room, street noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

I booked a reservation with the Lahaina in for February of 2008 April 27th of this year. Subsequently, my husband and I have had an economic hardship and had to cancel six weeks after we booked. The Inn feels it is necessary to charge an outrageous cancellation fee of $150 even thought they have ample time to rebook the property. I tried to resolve this nicely with the inn by offering to pay any charges they might have incurred by processing our reservation but they felt the need to keep all of the $150. It is in dispute with the credit card company and it is illegal to charge excessive cancellation fees and then rebook. I should have checked this website before booking, the feedback speaks for itself! Don't book with these guys!!!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank manatee181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My boyfriend and I did a crazy amount of research before we went to Maui. This was the most expensive place we stayed. That being said, we were kind of disappointed. The Inn is lovely, like an old hotel in New Orleans, but our room was like a shoe box. No place for our bags, and the air conditioner was broken, it was either on full blast which dropped to 61 degrees, or not at all. Normally this wouldn't have been a problem, but our neighbors liked to smoke on their lanais, which in turn blew into our room's open windows... you get the idea. Plus, because you are right in the heart of Front St. you get the noise. We had no problem at night, but it was terrible in the morning. Jackhammers and trucks beeping, and not at 9 AM, this was before 7 AM! So because we had found so many cheap gems throughout Maui, this turned out to be an unnecessary "splurge". We probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — No minimum stay required
  • Disliked — Size of room with broken ammenities
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#22 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Property: Lahaina Inn
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1502
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing