We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty towers”
Review of Lahaina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Faulty towers”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have never experienced such a poor establishment. Nobody would believe me if I told you how many things went wrong.
The noise of the service vehicles and garbage trucks started at 5 am every morning and continued through till staff arrived at the various business around the property, so unwanted EARLY morning starts EVERY DAY.
Don't even think about the car hire deal... You will get screwed, over charged and charged twice.

Lights not working, shelves falling off walls , holes in ceilings, tv not working, small rooms, smaller beds, did not replace toiletries daily.....

Location was great, But just not worth the hassle . Do your self a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Select another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregg-and-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    74
    57
    31
    26
See reviews for
15
132
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a cozy little Inn.. I booked day of on a third party website and was given a room here. Its located right in the downtown Lahaina area. Its associated with the Royal Lahaina Resort.
There is complementary tea and coffee stand in the lobby. This Inn does not have elevator access so if you cant deal with dragging luggage up a stair case, you might want to go somewhere else, otherwise its only one flight and not much trouble.
Parking is available up the street in a large parking lot. Has a restaurant and bar attached to it.
The rooms are cozy and clean. The beds are a bit small but still comfortable. We attempted to sleep through the night in one bed, however ended up giving up and each sleeping in one. (room had 2 beds) The room had a nice balcony.
I would stay at this property again, would recommend to someone looking for a great find on a low budget.

Room Tip: If your staying as a couple as for at least a Queen size bed. The room we stayed in had two itty bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

It is like one of those old family run European hotels with lots of old stuff, quaint decor, tiny rooms, etc.... but there is no family there. In fact, there was no staff of any kind most of the day. The desk clerk/manager left at 5 pm (the sign says the desk is staffed from 11am to 7 pm... go figure). So there was nobody to ask questions of. Finding the included parking was like a treasure hunt without a map, and parking is about a block away.

I made my reservation for the Ocean Front Room with Economy Car deal. First, there are no ocean front rooms... you go out on your balcony, look right, and the ocean is a block away. Second, there was a screwup between the hotel and Dollar Rent A Car (and I may have done something wrong... there wasn't anybody to ask), so I ended up paying twice for my car... once to the hotel and once to Dollar. The person who answers the phone at customer service did not understand (or refused to understand) that there was any problem with that.

The hotel is in the heart of Lahaina, a plus. But that means it is noisy until quite late. The rooms are very small, no closet, just two hooks on the wall. The double bed, a big pot plant, and a tall dresser take up most of the space in the room, not even a chair to sit on. The little deck was nice for two people to sit. The bathroom has a small shower, toilet, and small sink. It was clean though worn, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J_of_Annapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week and loved it. It's right downtown and close to everything. The staff was great and helpful. The rooms are small, but vey clean. I highly recommend a stay here, you will love the location. And for being so close to the main drag, it was suprisingly queit. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank olliefied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Me and my wife stayed at Lahaina Inn for 1 night. I enjoyed the oldness and uniqueness it provided. You are walking distance from the Lahaina strip where we spent most of our time in Maui any way. The price was alot better than $4500 a week at Honua Kai. If I was to return to Maui, I will definitely not over do it with the housing. We used the expensive hotel to eat, sleep, and take a dump. I can do that at Lahaina Inn and it 10X cheaper. You in Maui!!! Who care where you are staying, outside is way better than inside.
Lahaina Inn change our way of thinking about these over priced hotels. Love it.

Room Tip: The Last room has the biggest antique furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aa81j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and loved it. It was in a historic area, it was quaint, and everything worked well. So we booked 4 nights this time, and they were awful. Here's a partial list: there was no desk clerk or any hotel staff available most of the time, the maid didn't clean our room for 3 days, the coffee machine downstairs wasn't set up for 2 days in a row, the door handle fell off our porch door, the "commons" room from our previous visit (which had a refrigerator, ironing board, and lounge) was permanently closed, our mattress was lumpy and old, parking was expensive, WiFi was expensive (rather than free), when they were available the clerks were worthless, and the whole place needed a thorough cleaning. Apparently, the hotel has been acquired by a larger hotel in the area., and management just doesn't care about this place. It's too bad, because the location is great, the building feels like old-time Hawaii, and this could be a great place to stay. But now....stay away, stay away, stay away.

Room Tip: Definitely stay away from rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MJS-Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This is a great location for things happening downtown: shopping, eating, and boating trips. It can be noisy from 10:30pm til 1:00am because of people partying in the parking lot behind the hotel. And again the noise starts at 6:00am with the garbage trucks and the leaf blowers cleaning the in the parking lot.

Your really don't need the sleep because there are so many fun things to do away from the hotel and nothing to do at the hotel other than sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#22 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Property: Lahaina Inn
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1502
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing