We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of Lahaina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Bremerton, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We really enjoyed the Lahaina Inn. It is an old hotel with cool antiques everywhere if you like that sort of thing (see picture). Price was low for the area. It's right off Front Street in the heart of all the action, but the rooms are nice and quiet, except as noted below.

We had two problems, which is why I rated 3 instead of a 4:

1. We booked through Orbitz, and they did not have the correct information for the room. It stated “standard room with full size bed, tv ....” The room had two twin beds (really cool old hand-carved oak beds, but not what you want on an anniversary trip!), and no TV. We didn’t care about the TV (there was a TV in the common room if we wanted one). The hotel clerk (the son of the owner, a really nice and helpfull guy) said they had problems with Orbitz’s information, and he seemed irritated that it was not correct. I don’t know who is at fault for that. The Orbitz site also has the cancellation policy, but it is cut off, so you don’t actually know what it is. I would recommend renting through the hotel to ensure that you get the room that you want and avoid internet sites even if they have lower prices.

2. As mentioned elsewhere, the truck noise outside in the mornings can be impressive. Saturday morning around 6:00 we started hearing truck noises, and then loud banging, like dumpsters being dropped off. It was like someone was pounding on a big metal dumpster with a sledge hammer for about two hours. Sunday morning it started again, but then stopped right away, like only one truck showed up, so that was not a problem. I guess the noise may vary depending on the day of the week.

I would recommend this if you want a reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Lahaina for a few nights. Rent through the hotel itself to get the best rooms. Ask them about the noise in the mornings from trucks and make sure you get a room away from the noise. Make sure your room has the bed arrangement you are looking for. If you want a TV, ask if your room will have one.

The hotel also has a common room with TV, tables, games, beach stuff, coffee, etc. Parking is provided in a lot a short block away; we had no problems finding a spot to load and unload our car right in front of the hotel when checking in and out.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NWTravelinFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    75
    57
    32
    28
See reviews for
15
136
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Lahaina Inn is absolutely beautiful. Very quiet and very romantic.
First trip to Maui with my fiance and we could not have picked a better place to stay. We booked the Makai suit which is bigger than the others and had a day bed in it. If you have a love for antiques then you will fall in love with this hotel.
We sat on the balcony in the rocking chairs many nights and could
hear live music being played in the distance and we could see the
water. Only once did we see another couple on their balcony so
we had quiet romantic time.
I rent luxery condo's on Kauai and have stayed many places but
this one was my favorite! The maids came everyday to leave towels
and make our bed. There was central air conditioning which was a huge plus. We will be back every year and wouldn't stay anywhere else! I am completely satisfied with my stay at the Lahaina Inn ;)

  • Liked — The Antiques and the balcony with rocking chairs
  • Disliked — Garbage trucks on street early morning.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank serenefyredancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

First off, this is not the Four Seasons and you are not paying for the 4 Seasons. The affordable hotel is perfect for those on a budget and do not require high maintenance. You will not be able to call the front desk after 7pm, but again, this is not a chain
hotel. My wife and I bought a fifth of vodka, plugged in our iPod and went to the nearby Safeway to make our own Happy Hour before we hit the town. The room is clean, and I have yet to see a bug. Although if Jack Niclolson come running down the hall screaming "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy", I might not be surprised. If you require the amenities of the 4 Seasons, then open up your wallet and pay their rate. This is a simple, quaint, yet, quite frankly, romantic place to stay. High maintenance people need to stay at the Marriott.. Those if us adventerous can sustain a place like the Lahaina Inn. If you don't like 2 stars... then PAY for higher stars... Lahaina Inn is great!

  • Liked — It has Aloha
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trgvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My girlfriend and I just got back from staying in here and let me tell you the location is great! Half a block from Front street, which means easy access to the all the bars which is great late at night, no getting into your car after a few. However that is just about it. When we checked in we were told they didn't have the type of room we booked, all that was left in the price range we booked was a room with two twin beds that were too heavy to move. So we paid to upgrade to a double bed in a very tiny room. We were also told we could park in a lot just up the street. Great except they didn't tell us we were going to be paying for it. Not that 7 bucks a day is bad in Lahaina but it would have been nice to know upfront.

Over all if you don't care about having a small dank feeling room this is a good place to stay. (please read as: if you are never going to be in your room than this is a good place to stay) If you want some alone time or if you go out late and want to sleep past 6 than I would find a nicer place to stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyfu262000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed in room #6 which was small and the ac did not work too well.
The room had been redone, and the bathroom was nice.

woke up and walked to the Molokai ferry at 7:15. Good location for seeing Lahaina, but the room is very small.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room. no staff on site
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn in March and were very disappointed by it. The room was tiny, the bathroom was very ugly and run-down and we barely slept at all from all the noise from the street. Charging people an outrageous amount of money to stay in a shoe-box that you've marketed as a quaint return to an older way of life after you've spent the morning shopping at garage sales for old rickety antiques and chucked a bit of lace over a table where the TV should be because you're too cheap to fit the rooms with such things as TVs, air-conditioning or double glazed windows, is something people can only get away with in Hawaii. Two thumbs down, off with their heads!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spoonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

A good place to stay for your N and West side activities. The only place that was less than $150 and no minimum night stays. Yes the room was small, the the common fridge was the smallest dorm fridge you could find, but it was right in the middle of town. Stayed 2 nights to drive North and take a Trilogy sailing tour, so not that much time in the room. Central air keeps the place cool and the desk people are cool too. Common room was good for our morning cereal- Foodland and everything is w/in few blocks away.

Wouldn't stay too long here, our stop between Molokai and a Wailea resort. AM noise does start at 7am, but hey I was awake anyways. Parkin $7/day a block away.

  • Liked — Inexpensive in town
  • Disliked — small room, street noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
539 reviews
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Property: Lahaina Inn
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1502
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing