We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay before boaring a boat”
Review of Lahaina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Place to stay before boaring a boat”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed in room #6 which was small and the ac did not work too well.
The room had been redone, and the bathroom was nice.

woke up and walked to the Molokai ferry at 7:15. Good location for seeing Lahaina, but the room is very small.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room. no staff on site
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    75
    57
    32
    27
See reviews for
15
135
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn in March and were very disappointed by it. The room was tiny, the bathroom was very ugly and run-down and we barely slept at all from all the noise from the street. Charging people an outrageous amount of money to stay in a shoe-box that you've marketed as a quaint return to an older way of life after you've spent the morning shopping at garage sales for old rickety antiques and chucked a bit of lace over a table where the TV should be because you're too cheap to fit the rooms with such things as TVs, air-conditioning or double glazed windows, is something people can only get away with in Hawaii. Two thumbs down, off with their heads!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spoonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Moraga, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

A good place to stay for your N and West side activities. The only place that was less than $150 and no minimum night stays. Yes the room was small, the the common fridge was the smallest dorm fridge you could find, but it was right in the middle of town. Stayed 2 nights to drive North and take a Trilogy sailing tour, so not that much time in the room. Central air keeps the place cool and the desk people are cool too. Common room was good for our morning cereal- Foodland and everything is w/in few blocks away.

Wouldn't stay too long here, our stop between Molokai and a Wailea resort. AM noise does start at 7am, but hey I was awake anyways. Parkin $7/day a block away.

  • Liked — Inexpensive in town
  • Disliked — small room, street noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

I booked a reservation with the Lahaina in for February of 2008 April 27th of this year. Subsequently, my husband and I have had an economic hardship and had to cancel six weeks after we booked. The Inn feels it is necessary to charge an outrageous cancellation fee of $150 even thought they have ample time to rebook the property. I tried to resolve this nicely with the inn by offering to pay any charges they might have incurred by processing our reservation but they felt the need to keep all of the $150. It is in dispute with the credit card company and it is illegal to charge excessive cancellation fees and then rebook. I should have checked this website before booking, the feedback speaks for itself! Don't book with these guys!!!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank manatee181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My boyfriend and I did a crazy amount of research before we went to Maui. This was the most expensive place we stayed. That being said, we were kind of disappointed. The Inn is lovely, like an old hotel in New Orleans, but our room was like a shoe box. No place for our bags, and the air conditioner was broken, it was either on full blast which dropped to 61 degrees, or not at all. Normally this wouldn't have been a problem, but our neighbors liked to smoke on their lanais, which in turn blew into our room's open windows... you get the idea. Plus, because you are right in the heart of Front St. you get the noise. We had no problem at night, but it was terrible in the morning. Jackhammers and trucks beeping, and not at 9 AM, this was before 7 AM! So because we had found so many cheap gems throughout Maui, this turned out to be an unnecessary "splurge". We probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — No minimum stay required
  • Disliked — Size of room with broken ammenities
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

My family and I stayed at the Lahaina Inn in January. It's a very cute place just steps from Front Street (the main drag). The rooms are cozy and well appointed with balconies and antique furniture. The room we had was fairly large in size with views of Front Street and the ocean from the balcony. The bed was comfortable and the washroom was nice with a wonderful shower.

There is free internet in the main room (if you bring a computer). There are no TVs in the guest room (but there is one in the main room). If you're planning on staying in Lahaina, I would recommend staying here.

I highly recommend eating at David Paul's (the restaurant connected to the hotel but not part of the hotel). It's pricey but very well worth it! The food was excellent and the service was fabulous. If you plan on eating there I would make a reservation as this a popular restaurant.

  • Liked — Location and ambience
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetter16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

When my boyfriend and I first arrived in Lahaina, we were a bit overwhelmed by all of the people and noise. It turned out that it was nice to not have to drive every time we wanted to eat but next time, I think we will stay in a condo in Napili or on the outskirts of Lahaina.

As for the hotel, it is located 1/2 a block from Front St. This is both a blessing and a curse. It is great because everything is within walking distance, but at night, the location can translate into a LOT of noise (out of 6 nights, it wasn't too bad except for one night when there were screaming people in streets until about 3 am). Also, there is a restaurant downstairs that gets deliveries in between 5:30 and 7am every day except for Sunday. The truck leaves it's engine and cooler running every day and it is exceptionally loud. It turned out not to be as bad as it sounds because it helped us get up early in the morning and beat all of the crowds. I talked to one of the owners about it on our last day and she told me that she has to argue with them every week about it. If you stay at the hotel and hear it, tell one of the owners and they will try to fix the problem. Both of the women who own the place were really nice and responsive to our requests.

We stayed in the Makai suite and found it to be spacious and clean. The bed was comfy and by the time we left, it started to feel like home. Some people wrote about the floor being sticky and it was, but only on our first day. As for amenities, the suite has a small fridge, A/C and a fantastic lanai overlooking the ocean. It could use more room for clothing storage, but there was a large-ish wardrobe.

I peeped my head into some of the other rooms and some of them are just big enough for a bed and one person. If you are concerned about space, it is well worth it to stay in the Makai suite. Overall, I think it is sad that such a great place to stay is in such a loud and disruptive location.

  • Liked — The Lanai
  • Disliked — Loud people and trucks outside
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djnekokittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
537 reviews
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Property: Lahaina Inn
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1502
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing