We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Vacation”
Review of Hololani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hololani Resort
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
1 review
“Fantastic Family Vacation”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Ok, the Hololani Resort is as good as it gets! We stayed in unit A-203, an oceanfront 2-bedroom unit that Donna Bender of MauiCalls booked for us. A fabulously up to date condo! You do not need air conditioning (we & others wondered if we needed it?, and you don't!) we left the Lanai doors open all night to hear the waves. You leave the front door open and the front screen door closed and you get the most incredible breeze thru the unit. We were never hot, it was perfect! Giant turtles right on the shore. The most incredible sunsets! We met a lot of great people while BBQ-ing by the pool. My wife and kids thought I was a genius for booking the Hololani, it was that good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    49
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
73
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed on the ground floor level, unit A103 and it was amazing! The sunsets are spectacular, the pool is literally steps away and the beach is great for just hanging out. There are tons of sea turtles who swim by all day long and there is a great reef for snorkeling directly in front of the Hololani. There are ample bbq's and we loved how it felt like our own little place in paradise. The condo itself is immaculate and well stoked with top of the line linens, cookery, etc. Also, the owners of the condo provide beach towels, pool towels, beach chairs, coolers, beach umbrella, boogie boards and skim boards! When visiting Maui, we will always stay at The Hololani A103...it's just perfect!

Room Tip: Ground floor is best! And of those, we recommend A103!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmburly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in an ocean view 2-bedroom unit that Donna Bender of MauiCalls booked for us. AMAZING view, floor to ceiling windows/sliders open onto generous lanai where we watched turtles & whales and enjoyed spectacular sunset dinners. Comfortable accommodations, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and a nice beach. Well taken care of pool and BBQ area.

Room Tip: We prefer upper floors for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolis, WA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Hololani Resort (unit A603) for a week in April 2013. When we arrived, we were impressed on nice the condo is. Very well decorated... gives a hint of Maui without be "overly touristy". Very comfortable seating and beds. The condo was also stocked with pretty much everything you could use on vacation. I would recommend adding some binoculars for the tourists that forgot theirs during whale season. =) The resort pool was well taken care of... as was the beach-side BBQ. It was disappointing that the beach has washed away, but there is a nice beach literally 100-200 feet down in front of the next condo. There never seemed to be many people out which was nice. The location is great for those that want to snorkel as Napili Cove and Honolua Bay is a close drive. The Maui Brewing Co across the street was fantastic. There is no A/C, but with the winds it really wasn't needed. On a day with minimal wind, it might get a bit "stale", but we made sure the vent on the front door was open to allow wind thru the condo. Kept it quite comfortable. The "A" building gets most of the late afternoon/evening sun, so it could get a bit toasty on the lanai. If that is an issue, I would choose a condo on the "B" side. I, overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nucmed24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I recently rented a unit in this complex for a weeks stay in kahana. We stayed in a corner unit on the second floor of the B building. It was a great unit for ocean views and not too much sunlight during the daytime, and the patio from the bedroom had a great view too. Our specific unit definitely could use some upgrades to the appliances, carpet and decor, but who's complaining. I think the biggest disappointment as most others are writing here as well, is that the beach was washed away sometime in the wintertime and was out of commission. The pool made up for this inconvenience. There were 3 BBQs by the pool area for for general use...which we used on several occasions. There are also lots of great restaurants and lounges within walking distance of the unit. Free wifi too! It does suck having to buy ALL your kitchen supplies from scratch...even salt and pepper. Maybe one day these items will be allowed to stay from previous renters. Sugar too!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank smythbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in B803 only because they lost our reservation for B804 after we had paid our deposit six months in advance. It was a decent condo even if it was very dated, the kitchens and bathrooms are done in pale pepto bismo pink. The washer/dryer and dishwasher were brand new and we only really used the stove for heating up water for morning tea. The pool area was nice and the BBQ grills were fantastic. The screen between the bedroom/living room kinda sucked for two couples as it meant there was no privacy for the couple who was staying in the front room if the other couple are early risers as my husband and I were. A little beach would have been nice for the whole toes in the sand with a cup of coffee thing. That being said it was fantastic to watch the whales and turtles play every day from our own lanai. The twin beds in the 2nd bedroom did not push together well to make a queen size bed as someone would fall through the middle and there is no vent fan at all in the main bathroom. We would probably stay here again, perhaps not in this unit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in A103 and really enjoyed it. It was very well appointed and the view was simply amazing. A103 has it's own Lanai and it really made the place so pleasant and usable. The pool is pretty good and it's nice to have an ocean facing lawn to relax on with the little ones. Our biggest disappointment was that the beach washed away earlier in the winter, so you have no beach access (just waves crashing on rocks). Luckily there are beaches within a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: The A buildings have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaInSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.9 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in Lahaina
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 41 in Lahaina
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#24 of 32 in Lahaina
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahana Falls
Kahana Falls
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valley Isle Resort
Valley Isle Resort
#13 of 41 in Lahaina
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Property: Hololani Resort
Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8353
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hololani Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hololani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing