We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lokelani a201 spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lokelani Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lokelani a201 spectacular!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you want absolute oceanfront, a swimmable and quiet beach, and spacious condo, look no further! Among the crowded Honokowai condo tangle, this property is a standout. Lokelani is only about 20 or so units with only about a 20' deep private lawn separating the all oceanfront units from the seawall and pounding waves. A short walk the length of the building brings you to a small set of steps onto the uncrowded beach where swimming and ocean sports are safely and easily available.

We stayed in a 2/2 unit on the 2nd and 3rd floors of this 3 story building. Ours was an end unit which offered no additional windows but did have a slightly better view from the lanai with its open side. (We also had the 5 story building next door to look at - a small drawback.)

The unit itself is living room, remodeled kitchen, laundry and small full bath with shower downstairs with a great covered lanai in front. Ocean is all you see in your view. 2 bedrooms with king and twins (can be converted to king) and a large full bath with shower upstairs. Front bedroom is full ocean view, with its own large sun soaked lanai - and very spacious. Back bedroom is parking lot view and does suffer a small amount of road noise (it's about 75 yards from L.Honoapiilani road). Both baths are also remodeled. Beds were comfy and all furnishings nice enough. There are large new TVs in LR and master with a small tv in 2nd bedroom. High speed Internet was reliable and very fast.

Three small drawbacks to this property - if you need/want a pool - theirs is in the parking lot. Can't imagine anyone uses it. Also there is only one parking space for the unit and very limited street parking. Finally beware there is no air conditioning. In December this wasn't an issue, but I'd be concerned for summer.

All in all, this property was awesome and the unit functioned well for our two couples sharing. The two lanais made for lots of getaway/private space when needed. Having two showers was nice. The kitchen was decently appointed and worked well for us. For me having in unit laundry is also imperative, so was great to have.

But bottom line is - the view, the beach, the privacy. Can't beat Lokelani for these amenities.

Room Tip: Individually owned so be sure your unit is remodeled and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Away from the road, no road noise, quiet, well managed, everyone is close to the water, good safe beach. Never experienced crowding. Fun watching turtles. Food stores close by. A really good value.We needed a get away following a family tragedy and this was a perfect solution. Would come back in a minute.
D&B

Room Tip: All with direct ocean views, just a matter of wanting to climb some stairs for the one story above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LokelaniCondos, Manager at Lokelani Condominiums, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We our honored you chose us as your healing place, and really look forward to having you return. Lokelani definitely is a comforting spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Lokelani Condos for 8 days. The newly remodeled unit was impeccable. Much higher quality than I was expecting. All the amenities. Two lanais! And best was watching the turtles in the surf. Everyday we saw at least 3-4 large turtles floating around in the shallow waters. The condo is situated near local shops, grocery store, and easy take-out restaurants. Spent several mornings just walking the area - very quaint and not at all "touristy" like the big resorts. Felt like I could live there!

The unit itself was split level. Two bedroom. Magnificent kitchen. We were able to cook and have meals in if we didn't want to go out. Washer/dryer was incredibly handy with all the swimming we did. And all the tenants and visitors at the condo were incredibly friendly and pleasant. The beach felt private and there was never a day with more than a few families using the area.

We will go back to Maui again and we will most definitely stay at Lokelani Condos!

Room Tip: Corner units are great. We stayed on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allireid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We are so happy with Lokelani and unit B203 that we've just booked to come back for our third trip! We have two school-aged boys and the set up of the condo is just perfect for our family. They have their own room and bathroom and we feel safe enough to let them explore the property without having to be with them the whole time. They love to "jump the waves" on the beach right outside to property and we all love watching the turtles come in to eat in the afternoon. Kim in the front office is so friendly and welcoming…she even showed my boys where the "secret" gecko eggs were!

The condo is so well stocked and I'm surprised by how much is available to us. We've never rented a condo with so many amenities…everything you need to cook a great meal is right there.

We're in love with the location, views, amenities and ambience of Lokelani and love telling people about it. These trips to Lokelani have turned into memories that will last a lifetime for our family!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late this Wednesday night and found everything as Liz & Kim said they would have the condo. It was ready for us to come in and rest!
The condo is exactly as pictured on their website. The kitchen is fully stocked with most necessities (except coffee grinder and small ice chest), however I can see these finding legs so maybe that's why. Living room has large screen tv, iPod docking station(for older one, so bring connector for newer), two chairs on lanai and dining table. The furniture in living room could use updating as couch and chairs are very uncomfortable. I think the owners could also update the furniture on the lanai as well. They have a nice sized dining table inside.

Upstairs, they have new carpet and AC and two bedrooms. Master is a good size, plenty of room in closet and a tv. Bed fairly comfortable, however too soft for us, but that is such a personal preference don't feel fair to judge. Mainly it wasn't sunk in middle and that was important! Lanai has 3 lounge chairs and a small drink table. Second room was perfect size for our five year old with two single beds. Bathroom upstairs typical size. All bedding was cleaned which again was very important to me. Plenty of towels, beach towels, toilet paper and Kleenex supplied.

The star of the condo is the ocean and crashing waves. It is literally feet from wall, and the sound is the best! There is not much of a beach and water is rough, so if this is important to you, this is not the right place for you. It is also very quiet here, again perfect for us, but if you like crowds, not for you.

For us, the price was right and location was good and the closeness of the surf was incredible. We came in before thanksgiving and the office has been closed the entire time so far, however, the service from Kim and Liz via phone and email has been great that I feel they will do what they can to accommodate. I highly recommend lokelani and would stay here again.

It' s about 15-20 minutes from front street in lahaina. There is bad @ss coffee shop and small market within walking distance.
Aloha!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dirtdivanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here 8 nights for our honeymoon. The proximity to the water can't be beat and we really enjoyed the private beach area shared between 1 or 2 other condos versus the kid heavy beaches elsewhere. Unit A-206 was stocked with just about everything we could have wanted, except beach chairs. It was also extremely well maintained. Do not worry about not having A/C. I was concerned when we first arrived, but after your body acclimates to Maui weather, you won't think twice about it - the breezes and fans get the job done. Staff was terrific as well. Already trying to figure out how we can save $$ to come back.

Room Tip: A-206 is great for 2 or 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDR150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

You can't beat the view and the value. The ocean is literally steps from your lanai. A few steps down to the beach. Full on view of the islands across the way. Lokelani is very well run (by the fantastic and friendly Kim) and it is quiet, relaxing, family friendly. 4 or 5 bbqs, picnic tables, lovely pool in the back. Fully equipped kitchen (dishes, bowls, cookware, dish/clothes washing supplies, paper towels, kitchen towels, foil/plastic wrap). The condos are well furnished, comfortable, very clean.

The little market (and farmer's market) is about 5 minutes walk, the fish market is about 6 minutes walk, and the big Times supermarket is about 10 minutes walk.

We're able to stay longer and go on more excursions now that we stay at the reasonably priced Lokelani.

This is our second time back to Lokelani - first time last December in C102 (deluxe 1 bdrm), this time C104 (standard 1 bdrm). I've been coming to Maui since the mid 90's and stayed up the road at Noelani but they kept increasing their prices and the office staff had "attitude". I found Lokelani at Tripadvisor and took a chance - and the place very much exceeded my expectations.

We'll be returning to Lokelani!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropical_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LokelaniCondos, Manager at Lokelani Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Aloha Cathy,
It was great to have you back again and we are happy you are now converted to a “Lokelanian”!! Looking forward to seeing you back here soon, and thank you for your kind words. We love hearing from our returnees!!
Mahalo,
Kim Seaton
Vacation Rental Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.7 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.4 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokelani Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokelani Condominiums

Property: Lokelani Condominiums
Address: 3833 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokelani Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maui, The Valley Isle, Lokelani Condominiums hug the shoreline on Maui's famous West Side. Our low rise condominiums are situated on a picturesque, reef-protected sandy cove away from the main road and 30 feet from the ocean with a spectacular westerly view of fabulous sunsets, framed between the islands of Molokai and Lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lokelani Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokelani Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Lokelani Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing