We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bomb!!!!”

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #2 of 24 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
nashville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The bomb!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

No better shave ice anywhere! Portions are huge....ice is like snow...and flavors are amazing! When I was a kid I ate ice cream in Lahaina - now my family eats Ululani's shave ice! So good! Don't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgalTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,655
    288
    82
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gotta agree - The Best Shave Ice”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lots of people have said it and I can't disagree; this must be the best shave ice in Maui. The line can be long, but hang in there. We got the Sunset (a POG-like concoction of passion fruit, guava, etc.). The flavors were fruity and permeated the ice, but didn't make a sticky-sweet puddle in the bottom of the cup. They advertise that if you have any white ice inside your cone, skip to the front of the line and they'll load you up with more syrup. The secret to the deliciousness is partly the fresh fruity flavors and partly the ice cream inside and under the ice. Genius!
Only negatives - 1) it isn't cheap 2) it seems a shame to throw away that flower-shaped plastic bowl; couldn't they recycle those?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Historybuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“BEST shave ice”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have a hard time calling anything the BEST ___ I've ever eaten, but Ululani's is the BEST shave ice we have ever had. The "syrup" tasted like real fruit (I think they might have actually cooked real fruit to use as the topping). Don't let the long line scare you, it's definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalPal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cragsmoor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We read the reviews and stopped by today after a snorkeling trip. Got the snow capped Lahaina mix (coconut, pineapple, and banana) which was delicious. If this place was in the states I would have this tasty treat often even though I am not really a dessert guy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cragsmoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some good stuff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Wow. This shaved ice and ice cream was delish. I would go into further detail but then you would be jealous. Stopping for this should be on the must do list

Helpful?
Thank zomer4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing