We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Resort with great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We rented a 2 BR Oceanview room through Harris Hawaii. Brooke Moore was fantastic and very easy to work with. The room was exceptional with a separate bedroom and bathroom for the kids (ages 7 and 9) and they even broke the bed into two twins so the kids didn't have to share a king. It has a wonderful kitchen with everything you could need, washer and dryer and, in general, high end furnishings. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in away from home. The lanai was huge and the wall of windows that you could open up was a very nice touch. The entire property was very well maintained and beautiful.

A few pointers we learned that may be helpful to some others:
1. This is a great family resort. If you are looking for a quiet couples resort, there may be other that are better. It is also very new. The Konea Tower (Which we stayed in) just opened last year and the other tower opened in 2009 so everything is pretty new.
2. The pools are fantastic, water slide, lots of hot tubs, waterfalls and free form pools. I did not see any that were explicitly only for adults. They also do not have lifegaurds, so the rules are loosely enforced but we saw no disarrary during our time there.
3. Food and drink service by the pool during our stay was excellent. Happy Hour from 3-5 was one of our favorite things - $5 Mai tais and drink specials as well as appetizer specials. As with anywhere, the level of service is probably impacted by how friendly you are or how well you tip if you have a couple wait staff waiting on 300 people.
4. The Beach is great and very close as is the reef. You can literally see exactly where the reef starts and it is close to the shore. Swimming is better just to the south area of the resort. If you are an idiot and go walking out on to the reef with bare feet you will definitely get hurt. Having said that, the snorkeling is fantastic, especially in the morning. We saw tons of different fish, see turtles, and all sorts of life just a few yards away from the sand. The beach was also not crowded. The resort will set up chairs and umbrellas for you if you want, but we never used this.
5. We did the Royal Lahina Luau which was a nice walk down the beach walk to the Royal Lahaina Resort. There are some bad reviews on this but we found it to be fantastic. Again, if you want a romantic luau with table service this might not be your choice. For a family with kids, it was incredibly good. Hint - buy your tickets on the Royal Lahaina website - you get VIP table and free blender drinks all night and most importantly do not have to wait in line for about the same price as the tour operators will charge.
6. Pizza Paradiso across the street had fantastic pizza, Moose Mcgillicudy's in Lahaina had great breakfast. Very nice dinner and atmosphere at the Hula Grill in Whaler's village. Betty's Beach house in Lahaina has a beautiful sunset on one side, sports bar in te other direction and front row seats to a luau that you can watch for free directly in front of you starting around 7 if you want to (Get a table around 6:15 or 6:30). Ululani's shave ice was our favorite and we tried a few.
7. Road to Hana is not difficult and fun, especially if you explore some of the trails and swim in the waterfalls. Leave early in the day.
8. Haleakala was cool, we didn't do it at sunrise. Waited until 9:30 to leave the resort and avoided the crowds.
9. The coffe at the Aina coffee shop in the resort is exceptional.
10. Duke's restaurant at the hotel is quite good. Make sure you get the hula pie.
11. If you rent form a owner or property manager, you get a slightly different experience than renting as a hotel room through the resort (no daily housekeeping, free towels at the pool or room charging), however, we got garage parking directly under our unit and a huge cost savings as a result. We also got a closet full of beach toys.

Honua Kai proved to be a great home base for a wonderful family vacation and we wouldn't hesitate to come back or to rent from Harris Hawaii and Brooke Moore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TexasTX_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,665 - 2,671 of 3,221 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Read previouse reviews as you should but please take with a grain of salt. This resort is absolutely top notch! The accomodations were excellent, the staff ultimately accomadating, and overall value exceeded expectations - check for deals during certain times and 7th day free. Dukes - great food and great people. Cost is comprable to Big City meals and quality is equal.

Stayed in a mountain view on 7th floor - great. Really did not see need for ocean view as by the time we were in the room it was dark.

I normally do not take the time to write reviews but felt compelled as our families experience was just that great. Oh, I agree with one con - there is no spa. But, go elsewhere for that if you really need it - this place is, as my son put it ,"Beastly!".

Room Tip: Ask for highest level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We just returned from 4 weeks in Hawaii, the last 2 in Maui at the Honua Kai. The resort itself is very nice, very clean, and the room was perfect and spacious (we had a 1 bedroom plus den, so each of my 2 kids had their own bed, and we had a king in the bedroom) I have no complaints about the resort or the service. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the valet, to the bell service, to the concierge, were very friendly and helpful (although housekeeping was a bit inconsistent). But whoever decided to build this resort right where the valley funnels the trade winds down the mountain directly into it should be fired. I'm not talking gentle summer breezes, which would have been welcome, but most days it was so gusty that nothing stayed put--not your beach towels, not your food/drinks, and not even the pool chairs! We spent 12 full days here and it was always windy, which became very annoying, especially when a 5 minute walk down the beach and there was NO wind. We left the resort most nights and went to Lahaina to enjoy the beautiful, calm, warm nights there. We have always travelled to tropical destinations at Spring Break, and this was our first time to Hawaii in the summer. The wind did not blow like that in Honolulu, nor anywhere on the Big Island (we were at Hilo and Kona), nor anywhere else in Maui for that matter (we drove to Hana) When we inquired about it at the resort, we were told "That's the Trade Winds". It's too bad there was such bad planning to put a beautiful resort in such a bad spot. Our kids enjoyed the pools, we enjoyed the hot tubs and watching the sun set at night, but we definitely won't return in the summer. Next time we will stay closer to Lahaina where it is hot and the WIND DOESN"T BLOW.
**a note about Duke's Restaurant: if you think you are getting a deal at Happy Hour, you are not. They fill the cups with twice the ice and charge half the price. Same goes for the Happy Hour food menu, much smaller portions. $9 for a cocktail in a plastic cup full of ice at the pool is too high, but I guess that's Maui.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a lovely property w/ lovely big rooms w/ ktichen and washer/dryer. Perfect if you have little children. The grounds are well manicured, lobby well maintened and there's a grocery store across the street. The beach is right here and snorkling is just a short walk away. This is the absolute perfect place for those with children under 8 or elderly parents or both. I wish this place existed when my kids were small.

However, now that they're older this place is just slightly less appealing. (again the rooms are still big and beautiful). The place was filled w/ little ones running around so sitting around the pool was not relaxing. There are no water activites (surfing, canoeing, stand up paddling) on the property so you have to shift to another resort.

Also, this is mostly time share, condo owned so i often felt that we were not part of the resort. sort of hanging around and nobody knew whether we belonged or not. (i.e. don't bother asking the front desk for anything if you rented from the owner. they can't/won't help you like a normal hotel would). There might have been poolside drinks/food service, but we never saw anyone come by like at other resorts.

FYI, it's the Honua Kai Resort and Spa, but there's no spa, yet.

It's very windy here, which we didn't mind, but others might. i.e our food blew away, our umbrella blew away, our books blew away...

This place is comfortable, clean and big, but if you like to do and see things or you want quiet, then you might like someplace else. I'd stay here again just for the washer/dryer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank moragalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in unit #622 for 9 wonderful days. From the moment we walked into the condo we immediately felt "at home." The unit was spotless and included high end linens, towels and very comfortable King beds. Everything you would find in a luxurious hotel, but with a lot more space and a smaller price tag!

Also included in the condo was just about everything we needed for a great day at the beach including chairs, boogie board and cooler. Unit #622 was so well equipped, the only thing we needed to buy was groceries--which was conveniently within walking distance!

Nikta was an absolute pleasure to work with. She repeatedly followed up with us during the booking process and throughout our stay. She even offered to help with luau tickets and
had the hotel concierge contact us for additional assistance prior to our visit! The welcome basket was also a nice, personal touch. A definite "extra" that you wouldn't find in a hotel!

The resort is a great place for families or couples looking to relax. Overall, we agree that our stay was a very good value and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I am here (35 YR OLD MALE) now and after checking in, I am very surprised at this resort. first of all... it is mostly a time share property which means that the rooms are VERY nice and have a comfortable "homey" feel. I am 35 years old and I have my mother with me (of who I brought with me to spend some quality time). The staff are awesome.

OH... RENT A CAR AT THE AIR PORT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!@!!!!!!!@!@!!!@!!@!@!!@!! cab ride here was 100!!!!!! Rented a brand new RED jeep for 179.99 for 7 days!!! OMG!

The "ocean view" is bull pooo! You can see the ocean, but as I write this... 60 people are watching me with my shirt off from their balconies and from my bed... all i see is 60 balconies!

The bar (Dukes Restaurant) does NOT play music during the day, so sitting there drinking a frosty beverage is just about as boring as playing bingo by yourself! There are 4 kids to every adult and when they say they have "adult pools".... BULL MESS!!!!!! The property is first class, the staff are ... first class, the food and bar are.... well done, but the truth is.... please do NOT come here looking for excitement! This hotel is, hands down the BEST place to bring your loved one for some ONE on ONE time. The views are great (not from your room), the air is clean, and the ocean is near. Bring your "best friend" and have a romantic theme in mind... and you will have a great time.

Anyone under 40 who are here with no kids..... its not just this hotel. Its Maui! Boring!

I am a retired 35 yr old who does not party or even go to clubs. I have been there and done that over 7 years ago..... This place is 100% boring unless you have a lot of 1 on 1 time with your best friend in mind, but tomorrow I am taking my mother fishing for an 8 hour marlin hunting adventure, so I will keep you posted.

Please do NOT think I am being negative. I am being honest on my experience and I wanted to give back to this website because it has given me a lot over the years.

Cheers to ALL vacationers and no matter what.... have a great time away from the daily grind of our rush rush lives!

Peace to all! I hope this helped

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank houstontx1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I travelled to Maui on our honeymoon and have nothing but GREAT reviews of the island and of this resort. We booked the condo through Chasing Rainbows and they made our arrangements very easy. Our air didnt work (it was our fault) so we called Chasin Rainbows and within 15 minutes someone was there to fix it. Our studio condo was perfect for the 2 of us. Anymore would have needed a larger room. Everything was spotless and our view was breathtaking. The pools were perfect and we had three to choose from. The beach was nice and quiet and when we wanted something a bit more we travelled down the road to Kanapali West beaches. Dukes and the speciality store were great places to eat. All staff was polite and courteous! We cannot wait to visit this property again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleOnrario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
22 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £258 - £939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing