We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTY, COMFORT and GREAT LOCATION - LOVELY.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BEAUTY, COMFORT and GREAT LOCATION - LOVELY.”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

No complaints. We stayed in a one bedroom on the first floor, gorgeous accommodations. Bed was so comfortable, kitchen very modern, washer/dryer a great benefit, lanai huge with mountain view. Perfect location - minutes from lahaina but close to golf, beach, restaurants, and a 24 hour grocery store down the street. Parking was a breeze. The beach is beautiful but not the best for swimming. The pools and hot tubs were super clean and nice to sit in at night while the ocean winds come in. The spa was still being constructed when we were there but the staff was more than helpful directing us to spas very close by. This was by far the nicest place I've stayed yet - we even snooped around other resorts in the south to compare. Honua Kai was the perfect blend of class, comfortability and convenience. I would recommend it to anyone. It's also the only Canadian owned resort on the island. We went in march while the humpback whales were in full breeding mode - the islanders called the ocean whale soup during that season. We saw the entire island in seven Days but i would recommend staying atleast ten days to have some time to do nothing. I'd go back in a heartbeat and Maui will always have a special place in my heart. Aloha and a hui hou kakou.

Room Tip: The mountain view looks over the parking lot but the mountain is beautiful too so the value is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    792
    228
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,711
984
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We love the Honua Kai. The rooms are immaculate and everything is brand new. The Konea tower is the newer tower but they are both excellent. We have stayed here previously. We have stayed in an ocean front 3 bedroom as well as a studio. If you get a studio above the 2nd floor you are guaranteed to have an amazing view. The three bedroom oceanfront rooms are huge inside and on the lanai. You won't be disappointed of you stay at this resort style property. The gym is great and they also offer yoga and Pilates classes mon-sat. Everything about this property is wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJSC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We went to Maui for my wife's birthday and after reading all the good reviews I decided to book the Honua Kai. I booked a roundtrip flight, hotel room and car through Travelocity. Big mistake! They offered a $100 discount off if the flight and hotel were booked through American Express, but I didn't receive it because I also booked a car. I requested airline seats, but when I checked with the airline I found that we had completely different seats in the back of the plane. Fortunately, the airline rep corrected that for us. I requested a one bedroom, one bath, partial ocean view. We arrived after dark and couldn't properly evaluate the room. We heard traffic and elevator noise throughout the night. In the morning we saw that the room was facing the opposite building and also facing the main highway. It was more of a mountain view; you could see a glimpse of the ocean only if you stood in the far corner of the lanai. I went to the front desk to request a better room. The previous night, Katie said that there was nothing else available, but that she would leave a note at the front desk advising them of our request. I met Jerome at the desk and asked if we could move to a better room. He told me that there were only two other rooms; one was on the fourth floor facing construction and the other was on the ground floor facing the courtyard. He smiled and "convinced" me to take a look at the room on the ground floor. I obliged and was totally amazed to discover that it was an true upgrade to a much larger two bedroom two bath room with a huge lanai and our own private yard surrounded with lush foliage. Take two steps into the courtyard and you had a full view of the ocean. I went back to the front desk and asked Jerome if he made a mistake since I was still in shock. He just smiled and he said "I guess you like the room!" I cannot thank Katie and Jerome enough for the upgrade!! Everything about the hotel is amazing. Fantastic room, great amenities, wonderful staff. Duke's restaurant was only a short distance away and had great drinks and food, and a wonderful ocean view. I only have a few negatives - the wi-fi reception was poor, and one day the housekeeping staff left our lanai door unlocked. We couldn't get the A/C to work, but it wasn't really necessary. It will not turn on if any of the doors are open, but it wouldn't work with all doors closed. We didn't feel it was necessary to contact maintenance, since we really didn't need it. It would be nice if they added an "adults only" pool, since kids were just about everywhere. We had some fabulous meals at Duke's, the Lanai Grill, Star Noodle, and the Pineapple Grill. Zip-lining at Pi'iholo Ranch was icing on the cake. What a wonderful place to stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Honua Kai resort was an outstanding place to stay for me and my 13 friends on Maui. The rooms were outstanding - sparkling clean, beautiful, spacious, nicely appointed. I especially loved the open-air lanai; the broad glass doors opened accordion-style for a breezy, open, relaxing setting for morning coffee, afternoon cocktails, whatever. The pool area is beautiful and arranged so that privacy is enhanced, and there are areas where families seemed to congregate vs. groups of adults (which we were). There are outdoor barbecuing areas that we used with great ease and convenience. The on-site beach bar/restaurant was fun, easy, served delicious food, and even easily handled our group of 12 for dinner one night with ease and hospitality. (I also love the poolside wait staff for pool drinks!) The on-site market was lovely and offered lots of tasty treats that were healthy and local / organic (love the kale salad!). Lastly, the concierge staff was extremely helpful and always readily available to help with any activity planning. We used them many times.
Bottom line: Honua Kai was fabulous. A note, however: they do not yet have any spa services. They do have two nice gyms and offer yoga and pilates / toning classes, but I hope they add true spa services soon.
A note of advice: in case you've never been to Maui, you definitely need a car. I often travel without a car, maximizing use of local mass transit. But my group of 14 had four cars among us and we definitely needed them. Sites and "things to do" are spread out on Maui and a car was definitely necessary.

Room Tip: Our ground floor partial ocean view room was oustanding. The mountain view rooms would also be fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_in_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We just returned yesterday from a 6 night stay at the HonUa Kai resort. We used a travel agent who booked a one bedroom suite directly through the resort. We got an ocean view and couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was located on the 4th floor of the Hokulani tower and it looked exactly like the photos. I would definety recommend an ocean view and not the mountain only because if you're going to Maui you should be able to see the ocean! The room was specious and housekeeping kept everything tidy. The lanai was great and we were able to open the doors the whole way. There was even a light on the terrace so you could go outside and read in the evening. We always had clean towels and linens were changed after 3 days. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and silverware as well as a coffeemaker and toaster. The resort staff was friendly and courteous. The grounds and pools were beautiful, but we spent our time on the beach. It was windy as most other reviewers have sad, but it didn't spoil our fun. We sat on the beach a couple of times just to watch the beautiful sunset. We didn't snorkel in front of the resort, but I saw a lot of people who I'd. Equipment cn be rented right at the pool.

There is so much to see and do on Maui. We took a snorkeling trip, took our rental and drove the road to Hana and hiked up 2 miles to the most beautiful waterfall that I've seen and even went zip lining. Right down the street is Whalers Village where there is plenty of shopping to be done as well as a couple of restaurants; the Hula Grill and Lalani's. You should also take a trip to Front Street were there are more shops and restaurants. Be prepared to spend Lots of money because it's very expensive. Gas was almost $5.00 a gallon and the food is also ridiculously priced, but since it was our vacation I didn't let it bother me. Heck, you only live once! You won't be disappointed with your stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ny1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just got home yesterday and honestly wish we still were there. We love the Honai Kai Resort. Beautiful accommodations including those amazing lanai doors we opened twice a day. Everyone was so nice and we loved Duke's for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So beautiful in evening for sunsets. All their staff seemed very happy and worked well together. Concierge services were great. Katy & Kimee were simply wonderful and soooo helpful. A few items we wish we're better; better drinks at Duke's, music and entertainment at the pool. We did get a bit board during the day and found other places to get entertained. It still needs some fine tuning on this front, but we had an amazing time and LOVED it. We will be back. Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: Liked VRBO. Great selection and good pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BakerDesignGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and the staff was very courteous and helpful. Valet took some time to find at times but it was fine. Grounds were great with a lot of places to sit pools side or even better on the cooler grass areas. Having Dukes on property is a plus for sunsets and dining and very convenient for getting those poolside cocktails. Also, don't miss getting the Hula Pie at Dukes! We had the same problem with hot water but the water pressure is strong and goes through water pretty quick so don't dottle. Love the decore and amentities in the room and if you forgot anything the shop has everything from wine to coffee, sandwiches to desserts and much more with milk, eggs and other convenience items. Even enough items to cook in your room. We stopped at Costco and stocked up on wine and easy lunch and breakfast stuff as we had activities most mornings and loved having the kitchen area. It would be nice to have an adult only area but not a big deal as some have made it out to be. At night, leave your windows and doors open and enjoy the cool air. Hope others enjoy this wonderful get away hotel as much as us!

PS - No spa stuff yet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjmkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing