We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, clean, beautiful and reasonably priced condo.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous, clean, beautiful and reasonably priced condo.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was incredible. The kitchen was brand new with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. Everything was provided except for the food. It had a large lanai with a view of the other resorts nextdoor. The grounds were beautifully maintained. They have multiple pools including an infinity pool, waterfall pool with slide, and river-like pool. Duke's restaurant is on site and the food is amazing. It's not in kaanapali which can be very crowded. There is a beach right in front of the hotel. The parking is easy. I highly recommend this place-we booked it through Costco so it included a car.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,015
    796
    230
    71
    43
See reviews for
1,732
987
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancvouer, BC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times. The grounds are immaculately kept. It's very clean and staff are very friendly. It is not over crowded. We have never had a problem finding lounge chairs by the pool....and we don't get down until about 1000am! There are 3 pools, 3 hottubs and beach is just beyond the pools. If you want any pool toys you have to rent them ( flaoting rings, noodles etc...) which is absolutely ridiculous! Its cheaper to buy them and use them for your entire vacation rather than renting them. There is 1 restaurant on site (Dukes) which is a bit pricey but good food.
Rooms are lovely and spacious.

There is decent sized gym. They also offer some fitness classes but it is $12/class! There is a kids club and not sure what the cost is for that but there is a per hour and/or daily charge.

There is a grocery store that is walking distance from hotel and there are many restaurants off site.
There is a local bus, if you don't have a car which is $1 per trip. We often took it to Whalers Village, Lahaina etc. We also walk to Whalers Village which is about 1/2 hr brisk walk.

Overall, wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent the last week of July at Honua Kai and loved it. We booked a one bedroom unit through Chase n Rainbows and had a good experience with the agency. The room was amazing, and we loved using the lanai. The complex never felt crowded, and it was a very peaceful place to end our vaction. Cannot comment on staff or housekeeping, because we didn't have housekeeping and had little interaction with front desk. Pools looked beautiful and the property is lovely. I was worried about the smell from the sewage plant nearby, and while we did notice it a few times while driving back to the resort, we never smelled it while we were AT the resort. The wind was wild at times, but we travelled around the island daily, and we found most spots by the ocean were windy. We walked along the beach at the resort several times, and it was very quiet, but we mainly visited different beaches on the island.

My only issues with the unit concern the dryer and the beds. Count on three cycles to dry one load, and even then, clothes felt slightly damp. The King bed was incredibly soft; I felt like I was sleeping on a marshmallow. My daughter loved it, though! The sofa bed was springy, but I preferred it over the King bed.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and I would happily book there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was more than impressed with our stay at this resort. The location was perfect. The beach and pools were never too crowded and the employees were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was great and spacious. We would definitely stay here again!!! The best part was Dukes restaurant. The best filet we have ever eaten!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

If I ever come back to Maui, in particular, Lahaina, I'll be staying here again. The hotel was beautiful! I loved the decor, the small ponds around the lobby, and 3 different pools. Staff was so kind and provided great service. Duke's was a little pricey and not worth going to more than once, but the hotel is near many other good eats. So, that's just fine. It is a family friendly place so, don't be disappointed by the kids running around. I can see myself bringing my little ones here in the future. Well worth it! LOVED MAUI (and Honua Kai).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pajntaubyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family which includes 2 kids, a tween and a toddler stayed at this nice resort. We loved the various pools, the view and the rooms are very comfortable. The beach is right at the resort too and beautiful. Although this part of the island tends to get windy in the afternoons.

Few things to think about if you go- don't rush, because the staff wont rush with you. We called for a bell hop and it was over 45 minutes before anyone showed up. (my husband had to go to the desk and get someone) The staff at the deli/Aina market really feel like they have all day to make your coffee or sandwich. The pool food service is provided by Dukes restaurant. The Dukes staff tend to only serve guest that have paid for either a cabana or a gazebo. And even then, you'll be hard pressed to find someone to bring you a menu or food. Be patient. Another thing.. the spa isn't open yet... bummer is you want a little pampering. It will open next year.
As for the pool Gazebos- book waaaay in advance. When we arrived, the gazebos (which are larger and can accommodate a family) were all booked up a week ahead. The "cabana" which is really just two loungers with cushions and little shade are plentiful. Neither is cheap by the way... Gazebos go for $80.00 per day and Cabanas $40.00. nice if you plan to be at the pool all day.

All in all it is a beautiful place, relaxing, and lots to do if you are adventurous. Due to our baby.. we didn't head out too much. Went to Whalers village which is just a mall really and we did go to Uptown. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klimt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Honua Kai for our 10th wedding anniversary.
We had asked for an upgrade as we had booked a mountain view but thought it didn't hurt to ask. Well it didn't, we were upgraded from our 1st floor mountain view to a 3rd floor mountain/ocean view.
We were blown away by the suite! We received a one bedroom with den suite, basically the den is an extra room with a t.v. and pull out couch. Our lanai faced the mountains as well as partial ocean, which was very nice. The bedroom was amazing and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE, with a beautiful rain shower and Aveda toiletries, so no need to bring your own. The kitchen had everything you needed for cooking and so on. Basically the room could not have been better! They start you off with a complimentary bag of coffee, if you run out then it's 5 bucks for a new bag, we just bought our own from the store instead. They also provide you with dish/washing machine cleaning supplies and bounce sheets so no need to bring your own.
The gym was great, everything you need was supplied as well, water and towels.
We received 2 towel cards and that worked out fine, received fresh towels by the pool each day. We decided to rent chairs from Snorkel Bob's, which isn't far from the resort, they charge 25 bucks a week for 2 chairs and then throw in a cooler for 5 more dollars. This worked out great as we would pack our cooler with food and drinks and then bring it to the beach each day. The hotel does charge more for the same chairs so it's worth going off site to rent anything.
The beach is stunning, beautiful sand, clear water and great snorkelling as they have a large reef right in front of the hotel. We stayed on the beach each day until the afternoon, this is when the crazy blow your chair over winds would show up. The wind would blow so hard that we watched as chairs, flip flops and hats blew away as people chased them. Also sand would blow into you and it would hurt! So when it got this windy we would pack up and head to the pools. The pool was also beautiful, with flowing waterfalls and faux rocks surrounding the area. Pool service was great and quick and you could just charge it to your room. The pool area was also very windy and at times the umbrellas would snap up and scare you! I spoke to many staff and they all said that's it the location of the resort and that other spots are less windy.
On the 2nd night when we returned to our room there was a box of host macadamia nut chocolates with a picture frame saying "Happy Wedding Anniversary", very nice touch!
We ate at Duke's twice, so we received the free hula pie, amazing. I had the best meal at Duke's when I splurged and got the lobster, it was to die for!
I accidentally checked off breakfast and spa in my review and then it wouldn't let me take it off, there is no spa yet at Honua Kai and we always made our own breakfast, which was terrific!
Overall this resort is stunning and the service is fantastic. I hurt myself on the lanai on day (stubbed toe on door stopper) and when we called for a bandaid they sent up a first aider to check out my cut. He was at my door in 5 minutes cleaning and bandaging me up, that's great service! Also the concierge service was great help with providing us with information for trips.

The only drawback to this resort is the location, and by that I mean the crazy wind. It was so bad that we would have to search for another resort in a better location for our next visit. We stayed at Makena Beach and golf resort for the other half of our visit (separate review) and we met an employee who worked at building Honua Kai and he had a scar on his arm from a piece of sheet metal that was pulled clear from his grasp due to the wind, crazy!

Stunning resort but just too windy.

If you have any questions regarding Honua Kai, please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor will give you better views. As well ask for an upgrade, you never know if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robyn_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing