We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had the most amazing time! The views were great; you can see both the mountains and the ocean from our condo in the Konea building. The balcony doors open up all of the way so you can have fresh air throughout the condo! Bathrooms were spacious, bedrooms were cozy and the kitchen was handy. You can lounge poolside by one of the many pools, hit the hot tubs or go to Kaanapali Beach which is on property. Duke's beachouse is also located on property so you can drink and dine while watching the sunrise, sunset or anything in between! Also, this resort is very kid-friendly.

Room Tip: We used Maui Blue Properties to rent 820 Konea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 3,212 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in room 411 (2 bedroom/2 bathroom) and the view was stunning! The buildings were clean and we appreciated having our own appliances - including the washer and dryer. All of the staff was friendly and very accomodating -- couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IATraveler3614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in suite 741, sharing with our son and his wife and child. It was a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, on a corner. We had a huge lanai (wrapped around two sides) with accordian windows that opened fully. The view looked out over one of the pools, to the ocean (wonderful view). We did not have nor need maid service. There were plenty of towels, paper products, etc, including beach towels, chairs, boards, buckets for the beach. Washer and dryer were in unit with more than enough soap provided. It is a little on the high end of the price line but was very, very nice! We had a great time (other family stayed there too). We shopped at The Times market when needed and could actually walk there if we wanted. Two negatives for me... 1) the bathroom lighting was very dim and made it hard for me to see well enough when putting on makeup. 2) It is hard to find traditional Hawaiian music in Maui. It is there, occasionally, but not as easily found as on Oahu. Would like to see more. I do not go to Hawaii for contemporary music. Dukes had it sometimes, Hawaiian Grille at Whalers Village I think also, and there is a slack key show once a week at the Napili Kai but it is very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KalenaJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This is an especially great place to stay with children. Having said that, it's not so great for adults. I wouldn't even get in any of the pools! The pools, rooms, lobby, views, cleanliness, and open areas all make for great family fun. If you are traveling with children do not hesitate to stay here. However I advise you do your shopping at the new Times Market just in front of the second tower. It is better priced than Safeway and has everything. It's new, clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and they have everything. The little market inside Honua Kai is shockingly overpriced and some of the staff needs hospitality training making the Times Market look even better. Other than this minor glitch your family really will enjoy this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel/condo was beautiful. We had a two bedroom room on the fifth floor fully furnished, with a very modern updated kitchen with granite counter tops and modern appliances. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with king size beds and large ensuite with shower and bath. There also was a large living room and a terrace of the living room and kitchen fully furnished. We had a view of the beach to the south and mountains to the east from our living room. The facility had multiple swimming pools with hot tubs, food and beverage service from the on site restaurant. The beach was adjacent to the pool area and was large for swimming and snorkeling. All in all it was a great six day stay we had at this facility. We would go again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom condo room on the 5th floor with fill kitchen, living room, dining room en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our third trip trip to Maui and second stay at Honua Kai. The condo/resort was absolutely perfect. Entire compound was high end. The unit was over the top. We stayed in a two bedroom in the hokulani tower (H248), and would recommend the unit and location in a heartbeat. The unit was immaculate and had everything we needed. The view from the lanai was spectacular considering we were the second unit closest to the pools and the ocean. Can't wait until our next stay. Will definitely book the same unit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We rented a condo on the fifth floor with an ocean view and stayed for 10 days. We were extremely satisfied with our choice. Very convenient from Kahului airport, about a 40 minute scenic drive with no traffic. The Honua Kai complex is very clean; from the grounds, to the gym, the spa, the garage, the pools, Dukes restaurant on site...everything. The resort staff and concierge service were friendly and helpful and gave good recommendations on where to eat and things to eat. Very aloha spirit! I love how the doors to the lanai completely folded open letting in the breeze and just made the living area so much bigger! Best of all, nothing beats sitting on the lanai in the evenings with my loving husband and a drink going through the pictures from the days sightseeing events! There are grocery stores within walking distance of the resort if needed. This is a resort that is a must return.

Room Tip: The ocean view condos are much quieter than the mountain view condos, which gets traffic noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BettsnOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £236 - £744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing