We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean with great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We rented a unit through VRBO and couldn't have been more pleased with our first stay at this new resort on Kaanapali Beach. We had stayed at the Sheraton in prior years but this was so much nicer. The resort was opened in 2009 so the facilities are modern and in great condition. Having your own kitchen and living room makes for a much more comfortable experience than a hotel room. Also with VRBO you can see actual pictures of the room and the view from the lanai. The resort has 10 viking grills spread on the grounds and most people grilled and then went back on their lanai's to eat. The rooms all have NanaWall type sliding glass walls so you can open up your room to your balcony.

There is a Duke's on site, you can walk about 35 minutes to Whalers Village for other restaurant choices. If you drive to Whalers Village they validate parking for 3 hours. There is a Lucky market across the street so we grilled steak and salmon purchased at the supermarket.

There are several pool areas with one reserved for quiet enjoyment. Obviously more families that you would see at a traditional hotel.

There are two towers, Hokulani and Konea. Konea is a little newer and we rented a one bedroom, Konea 206 (VRBO 303785) which had a den converted into a second bedroom. Very clean and economical if one bathroom works for you. While at the resort we viewed Konea 703 which has just come onto VRBO under number 578037. It is a spectacular two bedroom with a panoramic ocean view. We will be returning and staying in 703 for sure.

Room Tip: Look for the best ocean view. You will want to spend evenings on your lanai watching the sunsets so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buggy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 3,219 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We booked our Hawaii holiday through My Hawaii and visited 4 of the magnificent Hawaiian Islands. Honua Kai in Maui was my favourite! We loved our studio room with ocean views overlooking the pools. The facilities were great and the whole ambience of the Resort was romantic, to the point where my partner decided to propose on the balcony (lanai). Great memories.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tgirl4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The front desk staff were not friendly or helpful. We booked an ocean view and it was limited. When we attempted to change rooms they were totally ignoring our request. The Napalili Surf just up the road was a far better option, we had stayed their earlier in our vacation and would recommend it way before this resort. At this resort, the pool area and restaurant was really good. Staff at happy hour were friendly and made the guests feel good. Food at Jakes was ok. Overall for the cost, this was a huge letdown. Need to train the front desk in customer service. Rooms are quite nice, kitchen area was first class.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angus2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is our third year in a row at this resort and it is kind of slipping. We had a 1 bdrm which is showing its wear, that is really in my view owner not maintaining, hey if you are going to rent it out you have to maintain it. We have a condo elsewhere so I know the drill on maintenance, probably the mgmt company not really going extra mile. Resort itself also showing it's wear and tear likely since it is very high use property. They only heated pool 3 out 14 days we were there, yes I know it is Hawaii but if you have it use it, a leisure pool should be warm not cold for Olympic swim training. Dropped kids club, hmmmm, Westin Villas still has one, hmmm. Used to have two fitness centres, now only one. Other stuff too but generally not like it used to be. For the price they need to step up game but it is a condo resort so if owners don't provide feedback it won't get better. I like the resort but you might get better bang for buck at Westin Villas, they have the bigger budget to sustain it would seem. Likely won't stay again and give something else a shot next time.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank kwhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice condos, really enjoyed the kitchen and being able to cook in room. Maui's restaurants are very expensive and average at best so it was great to not have to eat out a lot. We came for our honeymoon and it just didn't feel like a honeymoon. We did rent through VRBO which had its pros and cons. But we didn't feel like we were really on vacation nor get any special treatment. You can't expect any service from the resort if you go through a rental. I think this resort is much better suited for families. We avoided the pool because of how loud and packed it was with children. We don't dislike children but it just wasn't a relaxing environment. We still enjoyed Maui but would we recommend the Honua Kai for a honeymoon or a couples getaway? Unfortunately I would have to say no...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom unit. Very nice with lots of space. Having a washer/dryer was really nice. We shopped at Safeway and saved a bundle by fixing breakfast and dinners in the kitchen. If you want a chair at the pool, GO EARLY and put a towel down. We watched several folks do this, so chairs were limited for the late-comers and the early birds sometimes did not even use their chair.
I was very disappointed in the ocean view room. When we checked in, I was assured it was "their best view," and I would love it, all while making me feel silly for asking. When we got to the room, I looked out the side balcony and saw the top of a palm tree! I called downstairs only to be made to feel stupid because "the view would be spectacular when the sun came up in the morning" (it was dark by the time we checked in). Amazingly enough, the palm tree did not move overnight, so still not a very good ocean view as promised. By this time, our family of six had totally unpacked, so we just stayed, but was not happy with view. We had specifically come to Hi this time of year for the whales. Couldn't see them from our balcony as promised. If view is important to you, be aware.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CindyL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in #525 in the Konea building and it was beautifully appointed and furnished. Great view of the pool and ocean. You really can't go wrong here!

We rented from VRBO and saved 50%. You don't have daily maid service but that's was ok with us.

My only complaint would be the sheets. They seemed old and it would be much better if they were upgraded.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TobyA641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
22 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £255 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing