We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a really nice resort where they go out of their way to please you. We had a spectacular volcano view that was one of the less expensive rooms; but we got a double rainbow view upon arrival that set the tone for the rest of our stay. Although we had one of the less expensive rooms, it was still very nice with pocketing sliding glass doors, a spacious balcony, and a lot of amenities available within the resort. Their exercise room was very nice and had most of what I use when at home. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had everything we needed to eat and party. The pools were nice and they had pools for kids and pools for adults without kids. There was a really nice beach behind, and I saw people from the hotel enjoying some of the activities offered at the hotel. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The volcano (or "resort") view rooms were the leats expensive, but were very nice. If yo u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    790
    227
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,707
984
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 37th anniversary. The resort grounds are beautiful, two pools with plenty of lounge chairs, ( towels provided). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect with once daily maid service. Be sure to eat at Duke's restaurant, overlooking the beautiful ocean.

Room Tip: We chose an ocean view studio room. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickynotes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were thrilled with our Honua Kai experience. We just got back from a family vacation (with 2 young adult children). Having a full apartment was so convenient - even including a washer/dryer! The rooms were nicely appointed, with a large common area/living space, marble countertops, plenty of seating, etc. The huge lanai was our favorite spot for coffee/breakfast and for happy hour. Partial ocean view gave a fine view of the water -- and an equally fine view of the velvet green mountains on the other side. We even caught a few rainbows! The staff was friendly and helpful. Brown's restaurant on the premise was good for breakfast and dinner (don't miss the hula pie!), and the Times supermarket right across the street was a great place to shop. I would heartily recommend Honua Kai.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view gave a perfect vista, with sparkling blue ocean on one side and velvet green moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLF639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms are very beautiful and modern. Having a full kitchen, washer and dryer in the rooms is very nice. However, we are in an Ocean View, yet our view is mostly of the green lawn in the garden area. There is a tiny sliver of ocean, and the front desk clerk graciously explained that sliver was indeed a view of the ocean. We were very disappointed, to say the least, given the extra we paid for a view of the ocean. The higher floors (5-7) are slightly better, but still almost a 90 degree neck-turn to see a small ocean view.

Also, we have a family of four, including two older teenagers. Unfortunately the front desk refused to give us more than two keys (said management is adamant about limiting key issues to save costs), so we scrambled to share keys. There is a $29/day resort fee which we were told covers the fitness center and WiFi. This caught me off guard since I assumed those were part of the base price (as per their website). And they only provide coffee service on your arrival day. After the first day, it is a $5/day fee for single-pot coffee replacements, or $40 (yes $40) for a full bag of coffee in the sundries store in the lobby. Finally, there are no chairs on the beach, but you can rent one for $10/person/day. I notice most guests ended up buying cheap chairs instead of paying "rent" to sit on the resort's beach.

So despite the lovely accommodations, we are disappointed in the skimping on small things that are the norm in most other resorts (keys, beach chairs and coffee). The pools are very nice, but lots of young children - not ideal for couples or older kids, but great fun for the kids if you have youngsters.

Room Tip: Higher floors for Ocean View rooms if you cannot afford Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clanwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I traveled with our 3 year old, 9 month old baby, and my sister. This is a fantastic option for families, but not sure I would want to stay here on a vacation without children. Kids adjusting to the time difference are up at 5:00am out on balconies, etc... Having two bedrooms was a life saver. We booked a crib through the hotel which fit well in the master bathroom. The second bedroom bathroom had access to the the main area as well as directly through the room so if baby was sleeping we all used the second bath. Our ocean view room overlooked the resort and the ocean from an angle. To have full ocean views directly from center of room you'll need to book ocean front. Great views from out on the patio. Birds are abundant and not shy to come in your room and look for food. They are also quick to leave if they see you. Just don't leave your patio doors open while at the pool. Our room did have a full sliding screen we could have used. Aveda products in the bathrooms were a very nice touch! Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion are provided and bath towels are plentiful. In the kitchen dish soap, dish detergent, sponge, kitchen towels. Laundry detergent and Bounce are provided. All are restocked daily by housekeeper. We booked through hotel (expedia) not private owner and had daily housekeeping. Housekeeping tidied bathrooms, did dishes, made beds (but didn't change sheets), swapped out towels and refilled supplies. Pool/beach towels are available by the pools and can be swapped out whenever you like. Dukes' servers frequent pool area taking food and drink orders. About $15 for entree, $9-11 for tropical drink, $6 beer. Kids meals $7-11. Cons: Sheets don't fit the beds! This is my only big complaint, they would pop off bed in middle of the night. Would be great if kids ate free. Also, the beach right off resort is quite rocky. You can snorkel right there but being so shallow and rocky at shore made me nervous getting in and out. The Westin right down the path may have had a more sandy beach entry, but we didn't try it out. If you go almost all the way south the the Sheraton, the ocean entry is very sandy and there is great snorkeling very close by. About a 30-45 minute walk. Merriman's was fantastic for a special dinner out - amazing location and view. Make sure to go at or before sunset. They also have a very cool outdoor bar area that would be fun to just have a cocktail if you don't want to spend $100+per person on dinner. All staff were kind and helpful. Bell service was always available and quick. We stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani on our previous trip to Maui and while I prefer Wail the accommodations and amenities were equal. Having a full kitchen and two bedrooms made Honua Kai better in my opinion. The area is older than Wailea and less fancy. The resort however is very high end. Times Market is a full service grocery store and is almost walkable (we always had too many groceries) - probably a 20 minute walk. Ask bell service for directions. There is also a Safeway in Lahaina that had more to pick from and a much larger bakery section. Safeway also sells fresh leis - since the Honua Kai doesn't greet guests with leis we ended up buying them ourselves one day =) The pools are very fun. Our tall 3 year old was able to ride the water slide by herself. The sign says riders have to be 42", it is loosely enforced... Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denverchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The resort and pools are great, but the room we had was disappointing. As we were walking to our room after checking in, the whole hallways smelled very fishy. We later realized the odor was coming from behind a door on the hallway that was labeled "Trash" so we assume that's where housekeeping emptied out their trash on each floor. The odor was gone the next day so maybe it was trash day, but it was bizarre for them to have trash odor all over the hallway outside the rooms. (We met another couple later who were in a different tower but complained of the same odor in the hallway so it gotta be pretty common)

When we got to the room, it was very nice and came with premium Maui coffee, laundry detergent, Aveda toiletries, etc. But we noticed there was no coffee maker in our room. We called the front desk who told us they will send one up to the room right away. But when we came back from dinner, there was still no coffee maker. We went downstairs and were told the front desk is closed. We had to call twice again the next day before we got a coffee maker.

We also tried to do laundry but saw mold on the door of the washer. Gross! And our thermostat was not working. We had to call for an engineer who came up to the room and told us that the front desk "forgot" to inform engineering to unlock the thermostat (I guess they lock it at a high temp to save energy in between guest stays and needs to unlock it every time a new guest checks in).

So between a missing coffee maker that took over 24 hours to deliver to our room, mold on the washer and a non-functioning thermostat, the stay was quite disappointing in an otherwise beautiful resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niners49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This type of accommodation / condominium would normally be out of our price range, but luckily we were upgraded due to restoration works being completed at our first choice.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, and from then on were referred to by name by the reception staff. The cost of parking our car for our stay, approx $120 for 8 days, was slightly annoying, but as it was underground parking it had the bonus of the car not being like an oven every time we came to it.

We were in suite 109, Konea Tower, which is towards the rear of one of the limbs, on the inside, looking onto the landscaped area. It had no view of the sea at all, which was a minor annoyance. That said, when we checked out the rooms, the lack of view paled into insignificance, especially as the beach is only a short stroll away.

The accommodation is high spec, luxury, with well appointed kitchen, living and bedroom areas. Ours had 2 x double, with ensuite, living, kitchen and well equipped utility area. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept on in years. There was also an outdoor lanai - seating, dining and grass area in lieu of balcony.

The complex has various sun longer areas, several pools including a quiet area beside a small pool, kids water play areas and pool, water slide and what I believe was referred to as a lazy river. (Its a meandering u shaped waist depth walk though the sun lounger areas & water falls.) There are also several BBQ areas, with high spec gas BBQ units.

All the garden/pool areas on the seaward areas are well landscaped, and the beach is only a short stroll away too with lovely views across to Lana'i island and along the coast.

The complex also benefits from the inclusion of a Dukes Restaurant onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and the all important cocktails. It's not affiliated to the Honua Kai resort, but I understand meals etc can be charged to your room, when the computer interface allows it.

With the size of the complex I worried that it might be noisy, but due to the layout, landscaping, and various pools, fountains/falls, etc, there was no noise issue at all, and everyone seemed to be really enjoying themselves.

My only negative observation - there could be a few more parasols about, and the ones that are there are fixed in place, thus not always offering the best shade.

Room Tip: A higher floor would offer partial sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing