We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,333)
Filter reviews
3,333 results
Traveller rating
2,119
832
246
82
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,119
832
246
82
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskonea towerduke's restaurantaina marketgourmet marketbosch appliancesfull kitchensewage treatment plantocean viewthrough vrbokaanapali beach rentalsevery other daywasher and dryertimes marketquiet poolgrocery storehigh end appliancesunderground parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,464 - 1,469 of 3,333 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a really nice resort where they go out of their way to please you. We had a spectacular volcano view that was one of the less expensive rooms; but we got a double rainbow view upon arrival that set the tone for the rest of our stay. Although we had one of the less expensive rooms, it was still very nice with pocketing sliding glass doors, a spacious balcony, and a lot of amenities available within the resort. Their exercise room was very nice and had most of what I use when at home. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had everything we needed to eat and party. The pools were nice and they had pools for kids and pools for adults without kids. There was a really nice beach behind, and I saw people from the hotel enjoying some of the activities offered at the hotel. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The volcano (or "resort") view rooms were the leats expensive, but were very nice. If yo ucan afford it, the beachview rooms appeared to be even nicer.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 37th anniversary. The resort grounds are beautiful, two pools with plenty of lounge chairs, ( towels provided). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect with once daily maid service. Be sure to eat at Duke's restaurant, overlooking the beautiful ocean.

Room Tip: We chose an ocean view studio room. It was perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stickynotes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were thrilled with our Honua Kai experience. We just got back from a family vacation (with 2 young adult children). Having a full apartment was so convenient - even including a washer/dryer! The rooms were nicely appointed, with a large common area/living space, marble countertops, plenty of seating, etc. The huge lanai was our favorite spot for coffee/breakfast and for happy hour. Partial ocean view gave a fine view of the water -- and an equally fine view of the velvet green mountains on the other side. We even caught a few rainbows! The staff was friendly and helpful. Brown's restaurant on the premise was good for breakfast and dinner (don't miss the hula pie!), and the Times supermarket right across the street was a great place to shop. I would heartily recommend Honua Kai.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view gave a perfect vista, with sparkling blue ocean on one side and velvet green mountains on the other (and beautiful resort pool & gardens in between).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLF639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms are very beautiful and modern. Having a full kitchen, washer and dryer in the rooms is very nice. However, we are in an Ocean View, yet our view is mostly of the green lawn in the garden area. There is a tiny sliver of ocean, and the front desk clerk graciously explained that sliver was indeed a view of the ocean. We were very disappointed, to say the least, given the extra we paid for a view of the ocean. The higher floors (5-7) are slightly better, but still almost a 90 degree neck-turn to see a small ocean view.

Also, we have a family of four, including two older teenagers. Unfortunately the front desk refused to give us more than two keys (said management is adamant about limiting key issues to save costs), so we scrambled to share keys. There is a $29/day resort fee which we were told covers the fitness center and WiFi. This caught me off guard since I assumed those were part of the base price (as per their website). And they only provide coffee service on your arrival day. After the first day, it is a $5/day fee for single-pot coffee replacements, or $40 (yes $40) for a full bag of coffee in the sundries store in the lobby. Finally, there are no chairs on the beach, but you can rent one for $10/person/day. I notice most guests ended up buying cheap chairs instead of paying "rent" to sit on the resort's beach.

So despite the lovely accommodations, we are disappointed in the skimping on small things that are the norm in most other resorts (keys, beach chairs and coffee). The pools are very nice, but lots of young children - not ideal for couples or older kids, but great fun for the kids if you have youngsters.

Room Tip: Higher floors for Ocean View rooms if you cannot afford Ocean Front
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clanwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I traveled with our 3 year old, 9 month old baby, and my sister. This is a fantastic option for families, but not sure I would want to stay here on a vacation without children. Kids adjusting to the time difference are up at 5:00am out on balconies, etc... Having two bedrooms was a life saver. We booked a crib through the hotel which fit well in the master bathroom. The second bedroom bathroom had access to the the main area as well as directly through the room so if baby was sleeping we all used the second bath. Our ocean view room overlooked the resort and the ocean from an angle. To have full ocean views directly from center of room you'll need to book ocean front. Great views from out on the patio. Birds are abundant and not shy to come in your room and look for food. They are also quick to leave if they see you. Just don't leave your patio doors open while at the pool. Our room did have a full sliding screen we could have used. Aveda products in the bathrooms were a very nice touch! Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion are provided and bath towels are plentiful. In the kitchen dish soap, dish detergent, sponge, kitchen towels. Laundry detergent and Bounce are provided. All are restocked daily by housekeeper. We booked through hotel (expedia) not private owner and had daily housekeeping. Housekeeping tidied bathrooms, did dishes, made beds (but didn't change sheets), swapped out towels and refilled supplies. Pool/beach towels are available by the pools and can be swapped out whenever you like. Dukes' servers frequent pool area taking food and drink orders. About $15 for entree, $9-11 for tropical drink, $6 beer. Kids meals $7-11. Cons: Sheets don't fit the beds! This is my only big complaint, they would pop off bed in middle of the night. Would be great if kids ate free. Also, the beach right off resort is quite rocky. You can snorkel right there but being so shallow and rocky at shore made me nervous getting in and out. The Westin right down the path may have had a more sandy beach entry, but we didn't try it out. If you go almost all the way south the the Sheraton, the ocean entry is very sandy and there is great snorkeling very close by. About a 30-45 minute walk. Merriman's was fantastic for a special dinner out - amazing location and view. Make sure to go at or before sunset. They also have a very cool outdoor bar area that would be fun to just have a cocktail if you don't want to spend $100+per person on dinner. All staff were kind and helpful. Bell service was always available and quick. We stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani on our previous trip to Maui and while I prefer Wail the accommodations and amenities were equal. Having a full kitchen and two bedrooms made Honua Kai better in my opinion. The area is older than Wailea and less fancy. The resort however is very high end. Times Market is a full service grocery store and is almost walkable (we always had too many groceries) - probably a 20 minute walk. Ask bell service for directions. There is also a Safeway in Lahaina that had more to pick from and a much larger bakery section. Safeway also sells fresh leis - since the Honua Kai doesn't greet guests with leis we ended up buying them ourselves one day =) The pools are very fun. Our tall 3 year old was able to ride the water slide by herself. The sign says riders have to be 42", it is loosely enforced... Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denverchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews