We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation in Maui (we stayed in a two bedroom/ two bath unit 726HH). This is such a nice NEW resort. Unfortunately, most condos in Maui need significant updating(unless you love the 80s). What we liked:
1. clean furniture, bathrooms, kitchen, halls, pool areas EVERYTHING.
2. Close to groceries and quick bites at the strip mall a block away.
3. The stacking doors in the living room. The breeze was heavenly. Very little noise from the road ( this unit was on the mountain side).
4. More than one pool, something for everyone.
5. Friendly staff. Roland and Curtis at the pool. Daniel at Dukes.
6. Okay, this is something not directly at this resort, but if you need/want a new swimsuit, try Macys at the Hyatt just south of Honua Kai. Best selection and prices of anywhere on the island. Super friendly staff too.
What needed improvement:
1. a shopping cart in the parking garage to bring up groceries.
2. Beach towel swap instead of cleaning them daily yourself. I know this is a condo, but this was a pain. Our resort in Kauai provided pool and beach towels.

I would most definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,996
    790
    227
    71
    42
See reviews for
1,707
984
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayti sd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The resort is fabulous. It has it all; no need to leave resort for entire a vacation if you did not want to. We love the ocean and beach so Curtis & his beautiful crew @ the Pool/beach cabana were our greatest asset! Curtis and Ally provided insightful & helpful expertise re: Maui Jim sunglasses, sunscreen & lotion that has been supreme with our tans & moisture rich skin. Curtis is always gracious, kind and extremely courteous. He and his staff go above & beyond for all guests!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mommavoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family (including 2 boys, 12 & 9) shared a unit with my parents & we were all extremely impressed with this property! There really isn't a bad view from any of the balconies! The property is located right on the beach & the pools are all very easily accessible from any where. The kitchen was very useful & the bathrooms were gorgeous! The only draw back is the cost of nightly parking. We had 2 cars, so it was a bit more than we were planning on. Regardless, we would stay here every time we came back. If budget allowed, we would buy here!

Room Tip: We stayed on the north/east corner. Large lanai & still could see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertK256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent pool and amazing service. loved Dukes. Great for small kids. We spend 99% of our time in the toddler pool. Food is also good at Dukes and every one there is very helpful and kind.

Overall, loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ks852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heppner, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We've been coming to Maui for the last five years and have stayed at Honua Kai every time. This resort has it all. What we enjoyed most was the staff at the Water Sports and Pool Service, as we spend the majority of our time at the pool. Curtis and his staff assisted us in gazebo rental and helped us to maximize our time in the sun without suffering from sunburns. His knowledge of the Maui Jim sunglasses was impressive, as well as the suncare line. He was helpful without being pushy. Dukes poolside service was equally impressive. The condos are perfect. The beach was easily accessible. The spa is now complete and I highly recommend the coffee scrub facial and sports massage. I could go on and on. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Konea 505, any of the "13" stack units
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slater m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There is no doubt...this is a beautiful property. The rooms are well maintained and have everything you need to call it home during your stay. The location on the beach and boardwalk was perfect. We walked for about two hours every morning and thoroughly enjoyed it!

The pools are nice, although the one big pool did get a little cloudy and foamy around the edges during our stay. It might be all of the sun screen in the water but if you are a resort in Hawaii you would think you would be prepared to deal with this.

There are many kids at this resort, but unlike many who have wrote about them they weren't a issue. In most cases it's the parents trying to entertain their kids that are more loud and annoying!!

We ate at Dukes two nights for dinner and the food quality and service was top notch! We had a few drinks at the bar as well and found the bartenders to be very engaging and attentive. All in all I would highly recommend a visit.

We booked through a third party and found that you get treated like a third case citizen by the front desk staff. They need to learn to treat guests as guests...perhaps a little personality would help.

All in all though, I don't mean to come across too negative. We had a great stay and will definitely return. It's just when you pay as much as you do to stay there you expect perfection and it just wasn't there.

Aloha :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We choose this resort for the Maui portion of our honeymoon based on the positive reviews. Overall the experience was pretty good, but I think I might have chosen a different location knowing what I know now. The beach and the path along it was probably the highlight of the resort for us. The room was also pretty good, but the pools were typically pretty crowded and the staff could have been more welcoming. I've written more details below...

The facilities are nice and the bell hop/valet guys were very welcoming. The front desk was the opposite. When I made the reservation I put in a request for a specific building and a preferred floor/side. When I arrived I was in the opposite building and on a different side. Not a huge deal, but not the best way to start off the experience. Other times when I stopped by the front desk they seemed annoyed and overall weren't as friendly as the valet guys. I think this might be in part because this place also has units for sale for ownership. This results in a lot of units being rented out for vacations by the owners and the front desk has to act as the resort police asking everyone what room they're in to figure out if they'll get towel service and housekeeping benefits.

The beach is quite nice, but be aware of where you enter the water. There's a lot of coral in some spots while others are easier to get in and out of the ocean. While on the beach we were able to see whales from time to time in the distance and there were several times while snorkeling that we'd come across a large sea turtle.

The facilities are well kept and the path along the beach through the other resorts is very nice for a stroll or a jog. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a partial ocean view....which overlooked a lot with the foundation for a building. The room was good, but half the time housekeeping wouldn't come because we'd sleep in and when we left the room around 9am, they had already passed us up. At other resorts, I'd expect the room to still be serviced, but apparently not here. I ended up calling and requesting service another day as well as requesting they restock the soaps.

The pool areas look nice but are often overflowing with kids. We tried to go one night later in the evening and even then there were dozens of teenagers hanging around looking bored and miserable. The Duke's onsite is convenient but they're quite busy. The service isn't the greatest and if you'd like to have dinner there, be sure to make a reservation well in advance.

Overall, I'd go back as a family, but not as a couple.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing