We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Condo on Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been to Maui many times, and if you are looking for a luxury hotel there usually is no problem. A luxury condo is a different story. Most of the condo complexes on Maui have been build over 30 years ago and it is rare to find a new and updated place. Honua Kai is the spot. The property is only a few years old, and the units have luxury BOSCH appliances, granite countertops and substantial lanai furniture. They are very nicely decorated with neutral colors. The property has more amenities than your avarage condo, with an on site grocery/deli, spa, beach activities hut, and DUKES restaurant. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 3,212 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We could not have chosen a better resort. Rooms were luxurious and staff were courteous. We were not advised there would be a 20% surcharge prior to the spa treatment, which we would have paid anyway. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a great vacation in Muai.

1  Thank ManuelGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

By most of the pervious reviews American consumers are happy with average or below. The rooms are nice,clean, modern very comfortable but the publicity spin doesn't deliver. Breakfast at Dukes was crap. Eggs delivered virtually raw,cold potatoes,forgot the bacon,forgot the toast. They didn't deserve payment it was so bad. Pools, nice for kids but 3 foot deep pools are a joke for adults. I just can't believe so many Americans are happy with such average quality and service and embrace it. Wake up people, you are paying good money for very average and the expectation of 20% plus tips on top for someone just doing a very average service performance is a joke. Wouldn't rate this place if you want some peace,it is a busy,loud zoo of kids having fun and that's what they should be doing but hey the parents are paying so give a little consideration to them and some adult space. This is a hard review but I believe very fair and is a warning to adult couples travelling without kids that this is not the place if you want to chill and relax. I only wish someone had been honest in their reviews that would have warned me off this place. We left 3 days earlier than planned as it just wasn't delivering.
Peter, New Zealand

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are repeat visitors to the island of Maui. Honua Kai fully meets our expectations. We spend a lot of time at the pool and Curtis at the towel desk made our stay here very enjoyable. From his knowledge of Maui Jim sunglasses to skin care, he assisted us to make our trip wonderful! The free snuba demo in the pool kept the younger kids occupied and Adam wasn't pushy at all to make us book a snuba dive. Trust me, you won't be disappointed at Honua Kai.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tpaddyoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is my second time staying here. The first time a=was three years ago. I brought my two teenage daughters and they each brought a friend. At the time as a single father it was awesome. The kitchen facilities made food prep breeze and very cost effective.

This time, I'm here with my bride and eldest daughter on vacation. We are staying in HH841. It was a wrap around balcony, which we absolutely love. My wife loves the convince of home here rather then having to go out for everything. The pool is stunning. Wwe have spent two days on the beach. It is fabulous. Dukes is a plus. I would recommend the Hula Pie if you want desert. It's incredible.

The only improvement I would suggest is doubling the excursive room. It is just slammed all morning and the free weight section is way to small and very inadequate. This is a downside. The good far exceeds anything else available. For families, I would definitely recommend this as the only alternative. I believe I have stayed at every five star resort on this island and this is on pair with all with a few special features that nothing else has.

Room Tip: Go high and close to ocean. Other then that, everything is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rodney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This resort definitely exceeded our expectations. The room was like a small condominium. We stayed in the one bedroom king, and it was two adults and our 6 year old son, which was perfect. In addition to the bedroom, there was a side room with a queen size sofa bed. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen, along with washer and dryer were perfect for a 2 week stay. We ate breakfast there every morning , which was certainly convenient especially with our son. The bathroom was large with a separate bathtub, and the living area was spacious. We could have stayed there for an additional 2 weeks without feeling cramped. The lobby had a small market that sold a little bit of everything from eggs to steaks. As for the resort itself, it was very family friendly. The pools were my son's favorite amenity. The beach had quite a bit of sea life without having to go too far into the ocean, which made it fun to snorkel. Just note that this side of the island is quite breezy, however not as bad as other spots.

The only reason I didn't give this resort a five was because of the view. We booked a partial ocean view, however you had to stand on your tip toes at the edge of the balcony to catch a glimpse of the ocean on a breezy day when the palms were blowing just enough to allow you to see some ocean blue. When I complained they were accommodating to some degree, however not a way to start off your vacation in paradise.

Additionally, I read some reviews about problems with the check-in process, and we didn't have any. I would recommend booking directly via the resort and not with the individual condo owners.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank LondoFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful accommodation in Maui (we stayed in a two bedroom/ two bath unit 726HH). This is such a nice NEW resort. Unfortunately, most condos in Maui need significant updating(unless you love the 80s). What we liked:
1. clean furniture, bathrooms, kitchen, halls, pool areas EVERYTHING.
2. Close to groceries and quick bites at the strip mall a block away.
3. The stacking doors in the living room. The breeze was heavenly. Very little noise from the road ( this unit was on the mountain side).
4. More than one pool, something for everyone.
5. Friendly staff. Roland and Curtis at the pool. Daniel at Dukes.
6. Okay, this is something not directly at this resort, but if you need/want a new swimsuit, try Macys at the Hyatt just south of Honua Kai. Best selection and prices of anywhere on the island. Super friendly staff too.
What needed improvement:
1. a shopping cart in the parking garage to bring up groceries.
2. Beach towel swap instead of cleaning them daily yourself. I know this is a condo, but this was a pain. Our resort in Kauai provided pool and beach towels.

I would most definitely stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
22.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £240 - £763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing