We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property but your experience might vary based on who you book through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked unit 446 in the Konea (newer) tower for five nights through Kaanapali Beach Properties. This is an important distinction as you don't get access to all of the resort amenities when booking through a property manager or the owner. Therefore, your experience will likely vary from most reviewers on here when discussing things like cleanliness, customer service, etc. We only dealt with the front desk to pay for parking and had no housekeeping. This review is only about the property itself and not about the rental company.

The Honua Kai was a great choice for our family of four (including kids ages 10 and 6). Our unit is a one bedroom with fold out couch bed and included all the convenient and modern amenities you would expect like full size fridge, washer/dryer, stove, microwave and the highlight - big lanai with partial ocean view. Our unit faced the beach public access parking lot and we found it peaceful as there were rarely more than a handful of cars and mostly joggers running up and down the path. Our unit also came with all the beach/pool equipment necessary like beach towels, snorkeling gear, boogie boards, etc.

It's pretty clear from the reviews that this is a family-oriented resort so anyone complaining about not finding peace and quite while on a honeymoon or romantic retreat clearly did not do their homework.

I agree that staying here is ideal for families. We stayed in early June and a vast majority of fellow guests were families. That said, I never thought it was zoo like or out of control. In fact, I thought most of the guests were very respectful. The resort is well kept and the busy pool area stays clean and free of debris and trash that you might see in other busy resorts.

A few other tips/comments:
1) Right across the street from the Konea Tower is a convenient shopping center that includes Times Supermarket that has a better and more unique selection than the Safeway in Lahaina. We stocked up on all our groceries here including yummy spam musubi. The shopping center also has a video rental and snorkel bobs.
2) The property fronts one of the best beaches around. There is fantastic snorkeling about 10 min walk south down the board walk at what is Kahekili Beach (aka Old Airport Beach) right in front of the Westin Villas. The coral reef is right up on the beach, in great condition, and spans for the good length of the beach. We saw two giant sea turtles resting on the reef and more exotic fish than you can count.
3) The area is generally windy but you really feel it by the pool and it starts to pick up in the late morning. Get there early or expect to feel the breeze.
4) We only at Duke's once. The location is great and convenient but the quality average. Too many good places to eat in Lahaina as well as saving cooking in the condo.
5) The only true ocean view units are the few that directly front ocean at the tips are what is a giant U-shaped building. All others are partial ocean at best. We didn't mind but I've seen this question come up in my research.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
18  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 3,287 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Honua Kai based on a reference from some friends. We couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were top-notch - granite countertops, stainless appliances, nicely appointed bath. There were several swimming pools to choose from including a family-friendly one complete with water slide to a quiet adult alcove although we had to get there early to ensure we got a nice chaise lounge. On-site dining was very good and the staff was professional and friendly. The newly opened spa had great massage offerings in a very nice facility.
Located at the north end of Kanapali Beach, the location served as a great basecamp from which to explore the entire island of Maui. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here last year and returned again this year. Our condo was clean and well equipped. Loved the lanai for morning breakfast or drinks at sunset.
This year the spa was open and we were able to try their facility. We had a Hawaiian massage and a hot coconut oil head massage ...simply fabulous after a busy day. However we also were not told there would be a 20% percent surcharge added at the end! we would have paid this but it should be told ahead of time,
Curtis at the Pool facility hut is great, talk to him about the Absolutely Natural Products they sell, we bought them last year, loved them and came back and stocked up again. He is very knowledgable about skincare.
We didn't use the pools as we like the beach. Too many children jumping in and screaming , they need to have one pool for just children ONLY!!!!
We only ate at Dukes for dinner our first evening as we were tired after a 11 hour flight, the rest of the time we tried dinners or drinks and appetizers at other places to get a feel for the island.
Rentals for chairs and an umbrella for the beach are expensive.
Great time at the Honua Kai

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadasunny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here the first week of March 2014. We rented a studio condo through vrbo. It was huge for a studio and we had plenty of room; however, I imagine folks with kiddos might need more space. It was perfect for the two of us. We loved having our own kitchen and being able to cook. No need to wait in line at Duke's for breakfast - we cooked our own each morning. My husband grilled on the outdoor patios and we ate on the lanai most nights.

The hotel is huge, clean, and of course very well-kept. I admit I was concerned that no outside alcohol was allowed at the pool (don't judge...I'm on vacation) but we made our own cocktails in to-go cups and no one was the wiser. The pools are just fabulous; sure, there are a lot of families with children, but that's kind of par for the course at any big resort. Our pool time was 2-5 each day after the kids had meltdowns and were napping anyway. :) Overall, great place and we'd definitely go back.

The market in the hotel is very overpriced (but the gelato is delicious!) - go to the supermarket across the street or the Farmers Market down the way.

Only thing I was not wild about was the gym; it was too small and cramped for my liking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDeNat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been to Maui many times, and if you are looking for a luxury hotel there usually is no problem. A luxury condo is a different story. Most of the condo complexes on Maui have been build over 30 years ago and it is rare to find a new and updated place. Honua Kai is the spot. The property is only a few years old, and the units have luxury BOSCH appliances, granite countertops and substantial lanai furniture. They are very nicely decorated with neutral colors. The property has more amenities than your avarage condo, with an on site grocery/deli, spa, beach activities hut, and DUKES restaurant. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We could not have chosen a better resort. Rooms were luxurious and staff were courteous. We were not advised there would be a 20% surcharge prior to the spa treatment, which we would have paid anyway. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a great vacation in Muai.

1  Thank ManuelGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

By most of the pervious reviews American consumers are happy with average or below. The rooms are nice,clean, modern very comfortable but the publicity spin doesn't deliver. Breakfast at Dukes was crap. Eggs delivered virtually raw,cold potatoes,forgot the bacon,forgot the toast. They didn't deserve payment it was so bad. Pools, nice for kids but 3 foot deep pools are a joke for adults. I just can't believe so many Americans are happy with such average quality and service and embrace it. Wake up people, you are paying good money for very average and the expectation of 20% plus tips on top for someone just doing a very average service performance is a joke. Wouldn't rate this place if you want some peace,it is a busy,loud zoo of kids having fun and that's what they should be doing but hey the parents are paying so give a little consideration to them and some adult space. This is a hard review but I believe very fair and is a warning to adult couples travelling without kids that this is not the place if you want to chill and relax. I only wish someone had been honest in their reviews that would have warned me off this place. We left 3 days earlier than planned as it just wasn't delivering.
Peter, New Zealand

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,341 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £231 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing