We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful clean condo resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms felt very clean and spacious, with granite countertops in the kitchen and stainless steel appliances. Amenities were thoughtfully provided, though we didn't cook/eat in much since groceries were pretty pricey and we preferred eating out. Only "compliant" is that the shower is a little drafty, since it's not enclosed well, and water tends to splash everywhere. We had a balcony overlooking the garden area, which was nice but a little noisy to relax on, due to kids running around and yelling. Beach in front of hotel is easily accessible - definitely try snorkeling in front of the hotel. There is a resident sea turtle that lives in the area, and we swam with it for a bit while snorkeling. Amazing experience!

Room Tip: try ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,182)
There are newer reviews for Honua Kai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 3,184 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This luxury resort exceeded all our expectations. We stayed 6 nights in June 2014 in a 2 BR resort view suite with loads of room including LR with sleeper sofa and 2 King beds and 2 full baths with separate tubs and showers and two sinks in each. There are granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances including refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, and microwave. Also included is a Bosch front load washer/dryer. Nano-walls that open to the spacious lanai blur the line between inside and outside and allow access from the living room, kitchen, and master bedroom. We had unit 518 on the southeast corner of the 5th floor of the Konea building so we had beautiful views of the mountains and grounds between the two buildings along with a peek through to see the ocean beyond. The kids enjoyed the multiple pools, one with waterslide and waterfalls, some heated, some cold, several hot tubs, lots of chairs to sit in the sun or under the palm trees and umbrellas. The beach is short but with beautiful soft sand, minimal waves, and the snorkeling 10' off the surf was unbelievable. I saw every type of beautiful Hawaiian fish imaginable. The staff was gracious, friendly, and nice. We saw beautiful rainbows as the occasional light showers cascaded down the face of the West Maui mountains, and unmatched sunsets on the beach as the sun descends behind the adjacent coast of the island of Molaka'i. Honua Kai is located just minutes from the shopping district in historic Lahaina but also has a convenient shopping center and grocery store across the street. I unreservedly recommend Honua Kai to anyone for a Maui experience you will never forget. We booked through AAA who used Pleasant Holidays to secure the room package with the resort. This was family friendly fun (kids ages 7, 13, and 17), and an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Corner 2 BR units with resort view are great and can see the resort, the mountains and the ocean. Du...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Honua Kai with our 2 young children in June 2014 and enjoyed a wonderful week on the property. We stayed in the main building with a mountain view 1 bedroom on the 10th floor. Even though the view was not the ocean, it was still beautiful. We enjoyed a rainbow every day. At a lower floor level I can imagine you may see a lot more of the parking lot and maybe even hear some car noise, but up on the 10th floor we didn't hear anything and the parking lot did not spoil our view in the slightest. We decided it was likely a lot quieter than the partial ocean view rooms that overlook the courtyard on the other side of the building (lots of foot traffic and people playing ball and frisbee in the grassy area). The noise would be less of a concern in the newer building as there is a lot less traffic over there and no grass for playing in in the courtyard.

The main entry to the hotel is beautiful and well kept. The bell hops were great help especially when I arrived with a car load of groceries with no extra hands to get them upstairs. The front desk staff was also very friendly. We arrived early and tried to check in, but they can't guarantee room availability until 4pm. I don't know if it depends on floor level, but I know on the 10th floor housekeeping didn't usually arrive until the afternoon, so that is why we couldn't check in until 4. They called me as soon as the room was ready.

Our room was clean and well kept. Not perfect, but I am also very picky about cleanliness. It still has a lot of traffic like a hotel, so the grout in the bathroom was discolored, but everything else was in good shape and clean. The staff was great and responsive when we asked for new sheets twice (once in the middle of the night due to a kid accident).

The pool is amazing. Not too kidish, but also very kid friendly. There are actually several pools. One is just a standard pool with hot tub and wading end for tots. The other is a gorgeous pool with waterfalls, a shallow area, a sand area, spray spouts, and an awesome waterslide (even mom and dad enjoyed this one). Then there is another "pool" that is sort of shaped more like a river snaking around the grounds. Then there is an adults only quiet pool by the new building, but we didn't visit that one since we had kids.

The beach right off the hotel was awesome. South on that beach seemed to be a little less windy and the snorkeling was great right off the beach. Probably the best we experienced our entire time in Maui ( we did not go to Molokini). The beach was never too busy.

The restaurant on site, Dukes, was good as well. We had some fantastic dishes and some just decent dishes. Nothing bad. But the convenience of having it on site was great for evenings when we stayed in the pool too long and just did not want to cook. There are 2 dining options for evening - casual (no reservations) and more fancy (not dress code fancy or anything like that but more like a steak house menu rather than burgers and fries; reservations allowed). Both we good. There was almost always a 30-45 minute wait for the casual side by the time we got there, but often the fancier side was no wait and well worth going that route. The hula pie is yummy as well. Be prepared, sometimes the service was slow. However, on the night when we really needed quick and attentive service, we made that known (cranky, overtied, melting down children) and our server handled it like a pro and had us in and out in no time.

We really enjoyed our entire week and would hands down stay at Honua Kai again when we return to Maui.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited Honua Kai 2 years ago with my family and in-laws. We stayed in 3 bedroom suite for 6 nights and everyone loved the place. The suite was very spacious and very clean. We had breakfast at the balcony every morning and it was beautiful looking out at the beach as sipping hot coffee. Our room was ocean view, and it was in the middle of the building so our living room faced the ocean straight out. My daughter (12 months old then) loved the resort too. She was having so much fun at the swimming pool and even just walking around the resort. The beach was right in front so it was fun walking on the sand spending quality time with the family. The grocery store was across the street so we went grocery shopping to fix few meals. Usually when I travel for a long time I kind of get sick of the place but here, I wanted to live there. This is one of the resorts I would definitely go back to when I visit Maui. I love Honua Kai!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked unit 446 in the Konea (newer) tower for five nights through Kaanapali Beach Properties. This is an important distinction as you don't get access to all of the resort amenities when booking through a property manager or the owner. Therefore, your experience will likely vary from most reviewers on here when discussing things like cleanliness, customer service, etc. We only dealt with the front desk to pay for parking and had no housekeeping. This review is only about the property itself and not about the rental company.

The Honua Kai was a great choice for our family of four (including kids ages 10 and 6). Our unit is a one bedroom with fold out couch bed and included all the convenient and modern amenities you would expect like full size fridge, washer/dryer, stove, microwave and the highlight - big lanai with partial ocean view. Our unit faced the beach public access parking lot and we found it peaceful as there were rarely more than a handful of cars and mostly joggers running up and down the path. Our unit also came with all the beach/pool equipment necessary like beach towels, snorkeling gear, boogie boards, etc.

It's pretty clear from the reviews that this is a family-oriented resort so anyone complaining about not finding peace and quite while on a honeymoon or romantic retreat clearly did not do their homework.

I agree that staying here is ideal for families. We stayed in early June and a vast majority of fellow guests were families. That said, I never thought it was zoo like or out of control. In fact, I thought most of the guests were very respectful. The resort is well kept and the busy pool area stays clean and free of debris and trash that you might see in other busy resorts.

A few other tips/comments:
1) Right across the street from the Konea Tower is a convenient shopping center that includes Times Supermarket that has a better and more unique selection than the Safeway in Lahaina. We stocked up on all our groceries here including yummy spam musubi. The shopping center also has a video rental and snorkel bobs.
2) The property fronts one of the best beaches around. There is fantastic snorkeling about 10 min walk south down the board walk at what is Kahekili Beach (aka Old Airport Beach) right in front of the Westin Villas. The coral reef is right up on the beach, in great condition, and spans for the good length of the beach. We saw two giant sea turtles resting on the reef and more exotic fish than you can count.
3) The area is generally windy but you really feel it by the pool and it starts to pick up in the late morning. Get there early or expect to feel the breeze.
4) We only at Duke's once. The location is great and convenient but the quality average. Too many good places to eat in Lahaina as well as saving cooking in the condo.
5) The only true ocean view units are the few that directly front ocean at the tips are what is a giant U-shaped building. All others are partial ocean at best. We didn't mind but I've seen this question come up in my research.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
18  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Honua Kai based on a reference from some friends. We couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were top-notch - granite countertops, stainless appliances, nicely appointed bath. There were several swimming pools to choose from including a family-friendly one complete with water slide to a quiet adult alcove although we had to get there early to ensure we got a nice chaise lounge. On-site dining was very good and the staff was professional and friendly. The newly opened spa had great massage offerings in a very nice facility.
Located at the north end of Kanapali Beach, the location served as a great basecamp from which to explore the entire island of Maui. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here last year and returned again this year. Our condo was clean and well equipped. Loved the lanai for morning breakfast or drinks at sunset.
This year the spa was open and we were able to try their facility. We had a Hawaiian massage and a hot coconut oil head massage ...simply fabulous after a busy day. However we also were not told there would be a 20% percent surcharge added at the end! we would have paid this but it should be told ahead of time,
Curtis at the Pool facility hut is great, talk to him about the Absolutely Natural Products they sell, we bought them last year, loved them and came back and stocked up again. He is very knowledgable about skincare.
We didn't use the pools as we like the beach. Too many children jumping in and screaming , they need to have one pool for just children ONLY!!!!
We only ate at Dukes for dinner our first evening as we were tired after a 11 hour flight, the rest of the time we tried dinners or drinks and appetizers at other places to get a feel for the island.
Rentals for chairs and an umbrella for the beach are expensive.
Great time at the Honua Kai

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view rooms!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadasunny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £190 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing