We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wow just heading home after 3 nights on Maui at Honua Kai Resort. Great location, access to amenities (you are steps away from pools, hot tubs, a fitness center, café, and of course, the beach/snorkeling; or you can engage the very helpful concierges for help with surf lessons, day trips, etc.).

Perfect for all ages--your kids will never want to leave.

Service at Duke's bar top notch--friendly bartenders making sure you have fun, reasonable prices!

The staff was super-helpful, right from checking in until departure. First-class resort experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank puppypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 3,254 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at almost every single Kaanapali property between the Hyatt on the south end up to Honua Kai on the north end. In the oceanfront condo category, Honua Kai wins over the Marriott, Westin, Whaler and Alii. It is more expensive on average, but you are paying for the newness, more space in the units, and nicer common areas.

Condos - we had a 2BR and a studio for our party of 5 adults & 3 kids for 10 nights, both were ocean view/central courtyard facing (K621 & 645). Nicer furnishings, newer, much more floor space and larger lanais than the 2 BRs and studios at other properties. We rented both through VRBO which was more affordable and actually kind of nice not to have to deal with the front desk at all. The only downside is they won't give you towels at the pool if you're renting from a private owner... but this could sometimes be solved by making friends with the pool guys ;) Anyway our condos came with towels so we were fine. The only minus was we had issues with one of the washer/dryers... Bosch seems unreliable. However since we had two units, we just used the other one.

Pools - great for kids - they loved the waterslides, caves, large expanse of shallow area to play ball, etc. There is a quiet pool for adults, and also a quiet-er pool with no waterslide that didnt' attract as many kids. Duke's serves the food (including happy hour) at the pool, which was great for lunch and drinks.

Honua Kai is in a great location on North Kaanapali Beach. You can walk across the street to the Times market - a full grocery store. It's a healthy walk down to the main strip of Kaanapali beach - maybe a 30 min walk down to the Marriott (with the oceanfront Starbucks). if you prefer a shorter walk to shops/restaurants, you might want to consider staying down there. However it is more crowded - the beachwalk can feel like a crowded pedestrian zone.

All in all, Honua Kai is wonderful! Highly recommend and won't be going back to any other condo on Kaanapali. At least not if I have a choice!

Room Tip: Ocean view is fabulous... worth the money to me. Also you are sheltered from any wind/weather that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank megustaelsolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Couldn't have been better. Fabulous! Pools were great. Rented a gazebo and it was wonderful. We felt like we had our own private area amidst the spacious pool area. The landscaping was beautiful and it was nice to have poolside food and beverage service. We felt special the whole time. It was awesome.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "resort view room", so we didn't see the ocean directly, but the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a nice two bedroom unit on the 6th floor with a mountain view. Unit was very nice with a full kitchen and two bathroom. Everything was updated except the carpet which had some staining. The resort has several pools including a kiddie pool. It is located right on the beach so getting there takes no time. Even though Honua Kai got rid of its kids program this year, it is located next to the Westin Villas resort which offers its kids club for non Westin guests as well. The staff were friendly and the resort is not two far from the main part of Lahaina for shopping and water activities. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this resort (5 nights on Oahu). I am a very picky vacationer when it comes to quality of a hotel, and this resort did not disappoint me. I read many reviews about this resort before deciding to book it. I booked it based on the size room (over 1100 SF for a 2BR-overview), location (on the beach), newness (approx. 4 years old-am told the newest resort on Maui), and price.

I was tempted on several occasions to cancel booking this resort based on some previous reviews of other travelers, however, the many positive reviews outweighed the very few negative ones. I am very glad we chose to stay here, and would book here again in a heart beat.

The rooms are gorgeous and modernly updated (dark wood, stainless steel appliances, granite ,etc) Our room was very clean, however, could use a fresh coat of paint (chipped paint from door scratches, luggage bagging into doors, etc) The carpet in our room was very clean (wasn't afraid to walk on it with my bare fit-this is only the third time I came say this about a resort). However, the carpet in the hallway on our floor was badly stained. I counted about 6 big stains from the elevator to our room. Housekeeping could have done a little better about getting dirt in corners of our room. (Yes, I went looking for dirt) Other than the corners of rooms, the room was very, very cleaned. The showers were clean. I felt comfortable taking showers without shower shoes.

The only time we smelled the sewer smell was when entering or leaving the hotel because the smell comes from across the street. The smell is extremely faint, and if I wasn't smelling for it, based on other views, I probably would not have noticed it. No smell what so ever once you enter the hotel, on the beach, pool area, rooms, balcony, etc.

I didn't see any roaches. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Yes, lots of kids, but it was never an issue.

Great resort. We will be returning to this resort on our next trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south side of the buildings (corner rooms) gives the best views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 601Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms felt very clean and spacious, with granite countertops in the kitchen and stainless steel appliances. Amenities were thoughtfully provided, though we didn't cook/eat in much since groceries were pretty pricey and we preferred eating out. Only "compliant" is that the shower is a little drafty, since it's not enclosed well, and water tends to splash everywhere. We had a balcony overlooking the garden area, which was nice but a little noisy to relax on, due to kids running around and yelling. Beach in front of hotel is easily accessible - definitely try snorkeling in front of the hotel. There is a resident sea turtle that lives in the area, and we swam with it for a bit while snorkeling. Amazing experience!

Room Tip: try ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This luxury resort exceeded all our expectations. We stayed 6 nights in June 2014 in a 2 BR resort view suite with loads of room including LR with sleeper sofa and 2 King beds and 2 full baths with separate tubs and showers and two sinks in each. There are granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances including refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, and microwave. Also included is a Bosch front load washer/dryer. Nano-walls that open to the spacious lanai blur the line between inside and outside and allow access from the living room, kitchen, and master bedroom. We had unit 518 on the southeast corner of the 5th floor of the Konea building so we had beautiful views of the mountains and grounds between the two buildings along with a peek through to see the ocean beyond. The kids enjoyed the multiple pools, one with waterslide and waterfalls, some heated, some cold, several hot tubs, lots of chairs to sit in the sun or under the palm trees and umbrellas. The beach is short but with beautiful soft sand, minimal waves, and the snorkeling 10' off the surf was unbelievable. I saw every type of beautiful Hawaiian fish imaginable. The staff was gracious, friendly, and nice. We saw beautiful rainbows as the occasional light showers cascaded down the face of the West Maui mountains, and unmatched sunsets on the beach as the sun descends behind the adjacent coast of the island of Molaka'i. Honua Kai is located just minutes from the shopping district in historic Lahaina but also has a convenient shopping center and grocery store across the street. I unreservedly recommend Honua Kai to anyone for a Maui experience you will never forget. We booked through AAA who used Pleasant Holidays to secure the room package with the resort. This was family friendly fun (kids ages 7, 13, and 17), and an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Corner 2 BR units with resort view are great and can see the resort, the mountains and the ocean. Du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,291 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £261 - £742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing