We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are amazing as well as the beautiful grounds.We were a bit concerned after reading the negative reviews on TA. We never had overly windy days and we never noticed any bad smells from the sewage plant. The location is a bit isolated but there is a supermarket and a few places to eat very nearby. The main part of Kaanapali is only a 10 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Try to get a partial ocean view they are less expensive and offer beautiful views of the grounds and...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dosomething0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,182)
There are newer reviews for Honua Kai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 3,182 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 days after 7 days in Kauai, so we were looking for relaxation and beach time. It was perfect! We stayed in a two bedroom condo with another couple and loved it. Everything you need and easy access to restaurants and town. We stayed on the resort for breakfast and lunch and then headed out for dinner each night. It was beautiful, clean and the beach is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peoplearecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Honua Kai is a great place to stay. We had a one bedroom condo that was perfect. It was super clean with ample space. The location is close to great restaurants and shopping. The resort is absolutely beautiful with lots of pools and beautifully manicured grounds. Also, the restaurant on the resort, Duke's, has great food and service. Can't say enough about this resort!

Room Tip: The partial ocean front is worth the extra money. You have a pretty good view of the beautiful ocea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallen_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My family & I, a total of 18 of us, spent the week over Thanksgiving at this large condo style resort. We were pleased with the accommodation, we had a 1 bedroom condo which was ample space for the three of us, clean & comfortable for a week's stay.The king sized bed was very comfortable, I was impressed, having slept in a lot of hotel beds, including 5 star resorts this bed stood out! The large open air deck was fabulous. My only complaint is the lighting...just awful. Others in my group mentioned the same thing, so I know it just wasn't me. But really a minor issue.
The room service was a bit spotty & pool service started later in the day which was odd too but the onsite Duke's is excellent for any meal.

The beach is beautiful and the different pools were great, all the kids really enjoyed them.

We used the concierge only once, but they were friendly & helpful in booking a helicopter tour for some in our group.

I did have a service at the spa that just recently opened. It was pretty good but a little expensive, but everything in Maui is pricey!!!

All in all we had a wonderful trip. And if I went back to Maui I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here a week and loved it. Stocked the kitchen the first day from the grocery right across the street. Had everything we needed and was a great place to come back to each night. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful, especially the bell/valet staff we saw multiple times a day. We had 2 adults and 2 teens, but 9 others in our group and there was room for all of us to get together to eat and play cards when we wanted. While we went other places to snorkel that were suggested, we started and finished several days at the beach right behind the hotel and the sand and snorkeling was very good. Many fish and eels and a couple turtles passing by further out. Snorkel gear and food available at the shops across the street. Would come back.

Room Tip: Some 2 bedrooms you can see the beach from the patio, others you can see it from inside the condo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Azfiero88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wow just heading home after 3 nights on Maui at Honua Kai Resort. Great location, access to amenities (you are steps away from pools, hot tubs, a fitness center, café, and of course, the beach/snorkeling; or you can engage the very helpful concierges for help with surf lessons, day trips, etc.).

Perfect for all ages--your kids will never want to leave.

Service at Duke's bar top notch--friendly bartenders making sure you have fun, reasonable prices!

The staff was super-helpful, right from checking in until departure. First-class resort experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank puppypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at almost every single Kaanapali property between the Hyatt on the south end up to Honua Kai on the north end. In the oceanfront condo category, Honua Kai wins over the Marriott, Westin, Whaler and Alii. It is more expensive on average, but you are paying for the newness, more space in the units, and nicer common areas.

Condos - we had a 2BR and a studio for our party of 5 adults & 3 kids for 10 nights, both were ocean view/central courtyard facing (K621 & 645). Nicer furnishings, newer, much more floor space and larger lanais than the 2 BRs and studios at other properties. We rented both through VRBO which was more affordable and actually kind of nice not to have to deal with the front desk at all. The only downside is they won't give you towels at the pool if you're renting from a private owner... but this could sometimes be solved by making friends with the pool guys ;) Anyway our condos came with towels so we were fine. The only minus was we had issues with one of the washer/dryers... Bosch seems unreliable. However since we had two units, we just used the other one.

Pools - great for kids - they loved the waterslides, caves, large expanse of shallow area to play ball, etc. There is a quiet pool for adults, and also a quiet-er pool with no waterslide that didnt' attract as many kids. Duke's serves the food (including happy hour) at the pool, which was great for lunch and drinks.

Honua Kai is in a great location on North Kaanapali Beach. You can walk across the street to the Times market - a full grocery store. It's a healthy walk down to the main strip of Kaanapali beach - maybe a 30 min walk down to the Marriott (with the oceanfront Starbucks). if you prefer a shorter walk to shops/restaurants, you might want to consider staying down there. However it is more crowded - the beachwalk can feel like a crowded pedestrian zone.

All in all, Honua Kai is wonderful! Highly recommend and won't be going back to any other condo on Kaanapali. At least not if I have a choice!

Room Tip: Ocean view is fabulous... worth the money to me. Also you are sheltered from any wind/weather that m...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank megustaelsolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £195 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing