We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location But Would Not Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family of 5 stayed in room 526, a "resort view" classification. The only resort view we saw was the hotels next door from our room. Our room had a mountain view (n/e view towards the street) and was booked through Costco Travel.

Let me start with the positive(s) for the hotel. The lobby and pool area(s) were very nice as well as the ease of getting to the beach. Hotel staff was also very nice.

Now for the bad. When we first walked into the room the carpets had numerous and very large stains everywhere. We have never stayed in a hotel where the carpets were that stained. Even the blinds had stains on them. The couch also had stains on it. The room had a kitchen with stove, frig, dishwasher, dishes, etc., nice for eating in but there was a lack of silverware and dishes in general. It seemed like we were running the dishwasher all the time and even had to hand wash some of the silverware so we would have them to use. We had to ask for dish soap and a sponge when we first arrived as staff did not provide for this in our room at the start. The kitchen faucet was not tightened to the counter so when we turned it side to side the entire faucet moved instead of top portion of it. The kitchen could have used a cookie sheet to cook with. There was a casserole type dish but that's not the same. There was also only one storage bowl with a lid to store leftovers/cut-up fruit, etc. in. Could have used more. Enough has been said about the dryer by other people. The showers have the worst heads on them. The spray was in different directions from some of the water holes (mineral build-up ?) and the water streams were small and not adjustable making showers take longer. The shower door handles in both showers were lose. One of the toilets had water constantly running. You get air conditioning but you are not in control of it. It was set at 78 deg. and was not adjustable. One of the rooms was nice and cool but the living room area and the other bedroom were always hotter than the "cool" bedroom.

Maybe our room was an exception for the condition but what do people say about first impressions??? I told staff at check-out I would not stay at the resort in the future nor recommend it to anyone to stay at. Staff was nice and asked if any of the issues had been addressed and advised I could write a review on Tripadvisor. My point to her was why should they need to be addressed in the first place? The hotel was supposed to be an upscale hotel which should be reflected in the room condition.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a 5-star resort. It is unbelievably nice. The rooms are VERY spacious. The hotel itself is only 6 years old so everything is new. We got a 3 BR place and a 2 BR place. The 3BR place had all Viking appliances. The 2BR had all Bosch appliances. The ocean view was spectacular. The swimming pools were very nice, the beach was great, the two restaurants (Duke's, Aina's) were very good.

We stayed when we were supposed to get hit by hurricanes and the resort was very proactive on getting us prepared.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank SamirJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a week and had absolutely amazing time. There is a grocery store across the street with really fair prices and that allowed us to save a ton of money! The kitchen was fully stocked with all we needed. It was quiet at night, which was highly needed due to our 18 month old.

The beach is beyond imagination. The pool staff are great and there is a great bar at the pool.

The concierge had some great recommendations and we found her to be cheaper than what AMEX quoted us. This is more of a family resort than a newly we'd resort.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked an apartment here through our NZ travel agent in Honua Kai. It was a 7th floor, resort view, two bedroom and with a bathroom for each room and substantial lounge and kitchen and dining area, the whole place seemed vast! There was a huge deck with a view over the park area but it was too hot/windy to sit out there much anyway so we didn't much. Three pools and lots of space meant we always found somewhere to lounge. The concierge service downstairs was FABULOUS for helping us sort out what to do on the island and booking it for us. If you stay there, definitely go to the talk on the first morning you are able to as they have a lot of info at no obligation and happily tell you the best things to do for your group. We mostly self catered for breakfast and lunch and some dinners. We ate out around the island a bit and at Dukes, the onsite restaurant, twice. We did learn to get there promptly in the evening though, othrwise there is quite a wait and that doesn't always work with kids! Duke's does a poolside service also which we indulged in once. Decadent but fun! The apartment was cleaned every second day and they always left more washing powder etc. Facilities such as washer and dryer were in excellent condition. Whole thing seemed quite new and well maintained. Beach out front lovely and if you walk along further to in front of the Westin, the snorkelling is as good as you'll get on any boat trip. We even saw a turtle there. Only glitch was that there were 5 of us with our 3 kids and we thought we had booked an apartment with a fold out sofa bed also. When we got there (albeit exhausted from two huge days travel) we were surprised that the sofa looked to be one that wasn't a bed. My husband went and asked at reception where they told us they were only expecting four but very quickly got us a roller bed which meant we could put all 3 kids on one room so that was a bonus. Towards the end of our stay, when we discovered we were being charged extra daily rental on the roller bed, we queried and got the reply that we'd ordered it on top of the sofa bed. We checked again and guess what, it WAS a sofa bed. We explained our stupidity and the fact we'd not used it and they happily offered to waive the charges on the roller bed. So it all turned out ok anyway. Yay! Only other comment I would make is that there is no info booklet in the room so it took us days to work out how to use the A/C properly (it kept mysteriously turning off) and it might have avoided the sofa bed confusion. Plus info about things like tv channels, Duke's bookings etc would have been handy to have in the room. It's a 40 minute drive from the airport but that's easy enough to plan around. And because there was no-one checked in the day we left, they gave us an extra hour, until 12pm, at no charge, which meant we could pack, swim, shower and then head off without being left stranded out of the room. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to Maui.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our resort view, which I think is cheaper than a beach view. We were only in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KiwiAnna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My sister, best friend and I obtained a room here through VRBO. This place was great. The location was ideal, the grounds/beaches were well taken care of, the onsite eating was great and the pools nice. We actually walked the boardwalk all the way to Whaler's Village. We had a mountain view room, which was a first, and it was still a beautiful sight to see the sunrise over the mountains.

Room Tip: It seemed the rooms on the outside of the hotel, not facing the pool, seemed to be quieter. The pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelingpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We rented unit Hokulani 418 through Harris Hawaii Management. They were excellent to deal with and a very professional team that made the entire reservation process very easy. They were prompt to reply to all emails and the transaction was very smooth. They met us at the resort upon arrival and showed us the unit and how to work A/C etc. Also left us a number of coupons which was appreciated. In comparison, our friends used another of the typical Honua Kai rental firms and their experience was nothing like ours - poor email responses, had to pick up and drop off keys at their rental office interacting with staff with poor attitudes etc. Harris definitely has their processes down for a great experience.

The Honua Kai resort is very nice, but it is showing some wear and tear in areas - e.g. hallways rugs with stains, pool furniture a bit worn etc. However, overall a very beautiful resort wife nice grounds and a large pool system. My wife and I are early 40's with no kids and found the resort to be filled with lots of families. We expected that, but at times it was a bit overwhelming to find some peace and quiet, even in the "quiet areas" which were not really all that quiet. Adults would gather in groups in the pool drinking from their "coffee mugs" while they sent their children to other areas to play and run around. Lots of babies as well and I was a bit amazed when a couple chose to change their child a few chairs down from us and then left a dirty diaper on the chair. The dad looked at it and walked away, but I chased him down and told him to take their diaper with them. Whatever, everyone is on their vacation looking to enjoy themselves, but couples be warned this is a very family oriented resort.

Unit 418 was very nice and in excellent condition. The nano wall that completely folds back to open the entire unit to the lanai is so nice. Really nice unit and our only minor complaint was that the unit should be stocked with some beach chairs and umbrella like some of the other rental agencies do. I ended up renting some for our 12 day trip, but it would have been nice not to have to do so.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. We typically stay at resorts, but wanted to try the Honua Kai. We likely would not return simply given it is more oriented to families, but definitely a beautiful resort and we appreciated the professional service from Harris.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the abandoned construction site are a bit quieter than those facing the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SilkyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

So, I don't normally write reviews but I feel compelled to write one about Honua Kai. On the positive side, everything is relatively new and modern. Also, we had a 7th floor room, as close as you can get to the ocean without being one of the end units, so our location was one of the better ones. The unit decor was very simple and basic. We really liked the large glass windows that slide open. BUT, the reason we would never stay here again is the extreme "fish bowl effect." We travel a lot and have never stayed anywhere like this...where there is such a lack of privacy, it's crazy! The views from the kitchen and family room and bedrooms were all the same...the units across from us. This is the case for the majority of the oceanview units on the inside of the "U". No bueno! The tower is shaped in a "U" and so when people on one side are out on their balconies (which is frequent because it's the only place in the condos where you can see the ocean) they seriously check you out when you are out on your balcony. Even the neighbors on either side of your unit are right there, just glass in between, NO privacy at all on the balcony. Also, forget about any privacy in your room, especially at night, unless your curtains are closed. The other side can see right in! Once out on the balcony, the oceanview is nice if you are sitting at an extreme diagonal and you don't have a chatty neighbor that is sitting there on their balcony right next to you. Also, the service is horrible! Remember, these are condos. Don't expect hotel like service...it's not there. We paid close to $800/night for a 2 bedroom oceanview and for that amount of money, we expected much better. We would never come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoYo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
22 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £259 - £950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing