We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, Really Nice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my first time to Maui and my first time to this hotel. My daughter and I had a studio w/ an ocean and a full kitchen. I'd never wanted a kitchen at a hotel but this one changed my mind! It was fully loaded w/ top end appliances and stocked w/ all of the kitchen tools I needed. The room had a king size bed and a pull out couch. Both were super comfy. The washer and dryer came in super handy for sand and salt removal from swimsuits and various towels. The lanai ("patio" to us mainlanders) was roomy and equipped w/ a good sized table and 5 chairs and an ottoman. So great to sit outside at dinner time or read in the morning (midday was too hot for sitting in the direct sun). The one drawback was certain Front Desk staff. The room I paid for was an ocean view and there was a palm tree smack dab in the middle of my view. After looking at several different rooms we decided to stay put. Valets and concierge were helpful and cheerful. This hotel was expensive but we enjoyed it and its location and amenities.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you pay for ocean view you get ocean view not a partial view. I also preferred to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kara77005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

First time stay at Honua Kai has been great. We went through VRBO and secured a perfect studio rental for our two week stay.

PROS:
beautiful accommodations and view from out lanai. Plenty of pool space, and loved the quite pool, although chairs are quickly claimed, so hustle. Also, shout out to Anthony with the beach & pool group, who was excellent - professional, friendly, & engaging, he did what Dukes pool side service seemingly could not; I.e., instigate customer service. Good chap.

CONS:
Occassional smell from the waste management facility across the street. Oy. Phew. Wow. Always prompts a good time to go someplace else.
Smoking seems to be an ongoing issue on a property that claims a smoke-free environment. More than once our pleasant morning coffee on the balcony was smoke filled from an unknown/unseen assailant. Complaining to the front desk is met with a bland, "we'll notify security", but really nothing much is done that we can tell. Also seen poolside as well as next door, etc., ad nauseum.

Would we come back?
Definite maybe. I know this is vague, but we're just unsure. Generally Yes, but... Need to weigh the cost vs overall benefit. Great at times, marred by moments that give you pause for the $$ you spend. Maybe we had unreal expectations.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here with 7 people for the 3rd time in about 6 years. We LOVE it! The rooms are fantastic. The grounds are wonderful! The staff is warm and helpful. (special shout out to Matt and Daniel at the water sports and pool service kiosk) Nice pools. Great beach with snorkeling (and lots of turtles) right out front. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with a direct facing view of the ocean. It was amazing. Spacious. Clean. 3 bathrooms. Amazing lanai with table and sitting area. Love having Duke's as the on site restaurant. And love being on the Kaanapali beachwalk. Took advantage of that wonderful walk every morning. I highly recommend Honua Kai!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BethM920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights, travelled as family with 4 year old child. The rooms (apartments) are very new, nice and spacious with kitchen and laundry machine. The resort is nice, also the beach is very nice. Sleep quality was very good. The only improvement would be the laundry machine, because it is very loud, therefore it is not possible to wash during the night. Would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3sashimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family and I visited both Kauai and Maui in June of 2014 - we had a wonderful trip and will detail some of our adventures. After staying 5 nights at a hotel in Kauai, where every meal or snack represented a small fortune, it was a relief getting to the Honua Kai. These are condos, not hotel rooms, and each furnished with a spacious updated kitchen. The friendly staff pointed us to a grocery store just on the other side of the property, where we loaded up on some essentials (of course we had already stopped at Costco...). Having the ability to bring the family up for lunch instead of dining out was more healthy and certainly saved some money.

The Staff: the staff was always pleasant - greeted with an Aloha at every turn. Extra towels? no problem. Best snorkeling spot? they will tell you. Really impressed with their attentiveness.

The Venue: this couldn't have been a better place - at least for our family of 6 (kids are 13, 11, 9, 7). Located among many other resorts in Lihue, the Honua Kai has everything we needed - wifi to stay in touch, fitness room and classes, beautiful pools with plenty of areas to either be seen or find a cozy spot to read a book. The pools themselves are tons of fun for the kids - water slides, tunnels, lazy river, etc. A Beach Walk crosses the properties of all the resorts, and for the most part is right along the beach - great for runners, walkers to get out and enjoy the scenery.
Our favorite part was the natural beauty that is preserved along the beach. There is a huge reef right off of the property, loaded with colorful fish of all kinds. My daughter and I came across a sea turtle within 20 minutes of putting our masks on - she will never forget that moment. There is an award winning Duke's restaurant right on the property - great food and something for everyone.
Finally, the sunsets! The property's beach faces west, with the silhouettes of Lanai and Molokai off in the distance. Every night, my wife and I would head down to the beach with a glass of wine to watch the beautiful sun set deeply into the horizon. Truly spectacular. We will definitely come back here.
I do have to plug our Travel Coordinator - if it weren't for her, I would have done my normal safe bet and booked at a Marriott or Hilton. So glad she placed us here for we would never have found it. Melinda Fortunato at Classic Travel: THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: The Ocean-view rooms are fanstastic. Resort-view just means "not ocean view" and looks out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stay here July 24 -31. We were in 1 bedroom unit thru vrbo. It was nicely furnished with all the amenities of a hotel minus the daily cleaning. The over all feel of the resort is upscale and the room still feel newish.The pool area however is too crowded with kids. It is well located in the North Kaanapali Beach area.. A good place for family vs staying in hotel room

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank fiddlersu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great place for families. The rooms are spacious and in great shape. The pools are nice and offer variety for kids or adults. The beach was right there by the pools. We would spend hours at the pool then head to the beach and back to the pool. Family of five had plenty of room with the 2 bedroom. One of the best resorts I've been to

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
22 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £259 - £950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing