We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean view 1 bedroom is actually two building view. They are deceiving. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ocean view 1 bedroom is actually two building view. They are deceiving. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

I paid 140 dollors per day MORE only for the ocean view on 1 bedroom and there are two big buildings just right in front of the lanai the fraction of ocean on far lest side and big garage in front of me. The resort is intentionally deceiving guests. This is definately "two building view". The room is konea 646. Don'be a victim. I just took a picture of the view of two buildings and big garage. Very dissapointing and upset. I feel like getting my money stolen. Even 1 point doesn't deserve.

Stayed September 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank gobdolumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    777
    222
    71
    41
See reviews for
1,673
969
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

This is a top notch resort - great location, friendly and professional staff, and great food to boot. It's perfect for pool and beach lovers alike. Josh was great for the day we spent at the pool. Helped us get everything we needed and made the day very enjoyable. Terrific service, will definitely be staying at this resort again soon.

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014

My family and I stayed at this resort in April of 2010 when it was still a fairly new and hidden gem. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff was absolutely delightful. My children who were aged nine and seven at the time, had a great time on the resorts water slide. The beach was clean, and refreshing, however this resort is located in a windy part of the island, so expect most, wind, and an occasional bit of rain all year round. The price was fair, the food was good, and the location was perfect. We have not been back but do plan to re-visit this year in December for the holidays!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014

If you were going to do a belated honeymoon/anniversary trip in Maui and couldn't afford the Ritz/Four Seasons route Honua Kai is an excellent lesser priced alternative. Grounds are immaculate, staff is very friendly, accommodations are very well appointed with near new appliances. Huge bathroom with double sinks, soaking tub and stall shower that is almost as big as our living room. Nice terrace that opens up allowing sea breezes to cool down your suite at the end of the day. My only gripe, and it will come off as petty, is that you have to pay extra for the "upgraded" lounge chairs at the pool and the beach - I can see renting a cabana for the day at $90 as reasonable, but $40 for two chairs on the sand when you are already paying $29 per day just rubbed me the wrong way. In their defense, they do provide very nice portable Tommy Bahama lounge chairs that can be carried down to the beach. The pool and hot tub areas were never overcrowded and were always well maintained.

Room Tip: Spend the few extra $ for a partial or full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorksfgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

First the best stuff. Was here with some girlfriends and we had a great time. Had a lot of fun talking to the staff at the pool. Dan and Josh to be specific. Super nice guys and very helpful for days . Ladies should go say hi to these 2 for sure. Pools were nice and didn't like the fact of the wristbands but I guess I understand . Food was ok at dukes some good some bad. Bought some Maui jim sunglasses from josh and let me tell you best purchase I made whole trip. Nice coffee place there for mornings.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshyoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Seriously where do I begin. Absolutely hands down amazing. I am so happy we stayed at this resort. The pools, the food, the service.... they were the best. Im telling you, if you want to enjoy your vacation stay here. We had the best trip, we loved our suite. The hotel is so clean, the food was so good, they had so many pools that were actually clean. The resort is well maintained. Their coffee shop had the best coffee. We were on our honeymoon, but there was so many families. Its nice and quiet, we had a washer and dryer, a full kitchen. More than we needed! Thank you for caring about your resorts, and putting quality first. It shows!!!

Room Tip: We had a resort view, dont think you could go wrong with any room, honestly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We visited Maui in July and stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean view unit that we rented from VRBO. We had all the amenities and full service of the resort. We loved the underground parking. Felt secure and our car wasn't hot when we got in it. The front desk staff was okay. Not great, but ok. They should step it up a bit with more energy.

The resort itself is FABULOUS. I researched condos for months prior to our trip and though pricey, I just knew this was the resort for us. I wasn't disappointed. Gorgeous grounds, several pools, loads of palm trees, tiki torches (which were stunning to see at night), beach access just steps away. We also loved the boardwalk that ran in both directions along the beach. We walked all the way to Black Rock one day. Lovely. We loved having Dukes on site. We had drinks a couple times and dinner one night there. Fantastic! Honua Kai is in the heart of everything we wanted to do.

All in all a beautiful resort that we definitely plan on visiting again. It's worth the splurge!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Property: Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8413
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing