We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accommodation in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good budget accommodation in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

If you are a solo traveller and you are looking for a budget accommodation in Maui, this hostel is an excellent option. It is quite, safe and well located. The only drawback is the bathroom, only 2 toilets and 2 showers, but I never had to wait more than few minutes for a shower

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_luci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
16
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

This was my favourite hostel I stayed at in Hawaii. The staff are very helpful and very welcoming, and it is a very good location. Just over 5 minutes to walk down to the main street of Lahaina next to the ocean, 3 minutes from a Foodland too. It is small, so no common area etc inside but there is a little courtyard to sit outside in. (Unfortunately I was unlucky enough to get rained on when in Maui, so sitting outside was not always the best option!) Bedrooms are fine. There is a mini fridge in each room which is really handy. It's true, there isn't a kitchen as such, but there is a microwave, bbq and hot plate, so you can make something with what is there. Of course, there is a short walk down to Lahaina where there are plenty of eating out options, for a mixture of budgets. My only niggle with the place was the bathroom. It is communal, and I do prefer male and female ones, and sometimes there can be a wait for the showers. Apparently they are in the process of building a new bathroom, so it would be interesting to go back to see the new improvements!

For a few nights to stay, I would definitely recommend this place. I felt very welcomed which was really a comfort when I had stayed in some really horrid places. Joe (one of the staff) is really strict about non guests not being on the property ever, so I felt very safe as this was enforced. If you have a car, there is also ample free parking, so great if you are hiring a car. The hostel is also a tourist information, so you can book tours etc or get help on how to get somewhere if you dont have a car.

Stay here when you go to Maui! Oh and if you do, you must go whale watching, it is must when in Maui. Go with the Pacific Whale Foundation. They are a non profit organisation and I actually found them cheaper than other private companies.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

There are not a lot of cheap options in Maui, and if you are traveling solo, this is your place. You need a rental car on Maui, so if you want to be located in a spot that is well-connected to the main roads/highways, etc. meet people, not spend a lot on accommodation, plan to spend most of your time outside the room, and want to have something to do at night where you will not have to drive, the hostel location in Lahaina is perfect. It is right off the highway, close to a supermarket, coffee shop, gas stations, and 2 blocks from the main strip in Lahaina that is full of shops, restaurants, art galleries and the dock from which many whale watches depart. There are also surf lessons at the break wall a couple of blocks away. Joe, the manager of the hostel is warm, friendly, hospitable, very customer-oriented, cares that everyone is happy and included in any bbqs that go on in the common area and eager to give tips on what to visit and how to do it cheap. I stayed in a cramped room with 2 bunk beds... I do not recommend room #1 closest to the outside hang-out area if it has 2 bunk beds in it. I happened to glance in the other rooms and they were much more spacious, even the 8-bedded room. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers on 30 guests, which actually worked out fine -- there was rarely a line, especially if you get up early. The bathrooms are clean as far as hostels are concerned -- garbage is taken care of regularly, toilet paper is there, etc. It would be nice if they would add a rack for soap, shampoo, etc. in the shower because you end up putting everything in the floor otherwise, and that would be an easy fix. In summary, the place is great if you are traveling solo, it's in a good location if you have a car, and Joe makes the experience of staying there excellent. If I were to go to Maui again solo, I would stay there again (but ideally not in room #1).

Room Tip: Room 1, closest to the outdoor kitchen/hang out area is extremely small. I would not recommend stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located two blocks from the waterfront of Lahaina. great location. joe, the manager of the place, is very helpful and friendly. he can also take you scuba diving in one of the many shore diving sites around town. Overall, we had a great stay.

Ted + Carmen

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a typical hostel. What makes it amazing is the staff!! They are very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located on a Main Street. It is a short walk from Front street which had many shops and restaurants. A beach is about a twenty minute walk away or you can get a bus from wharf cinema centre, it's $4 for an all day pass. The bus will take you towards kihei or whalers village. Whalers village has all the luxury hotels along the beach, stores and restaurants. Also black rock beach which is good for snorkelling, I saw a few large sea turtles at this beach. I did a snorkel tour with four winds tours (I for around $50 and it was great! We saw a bunch of whales as well and had a great lunch. Staff on this tour were excellent. I booked my two excursions with Greg at the Expedia booth in front of wharf cinema centre and he was very helpful. I also did a group surf lesson with royal Hawaiian surf school it's about a fifteen minute walk from the hostel. This hostel is a great place to stay while on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie89Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a typical hostel. What makes it amazing is the staff!! They are very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located on a Main Street. It is a short walk from Front street which had many shops and restaurants. A beach is about a twenty minute walk away or you can get a bus from wharf cinema centre, it's $4 for an all day pass. The bus will take you towards kihei or whalers village. Whalers village has all the luxury hotels along the beach, stores and restaurants. Also black rock beach which is good for snorkelling, I saw a few large sea turtles at this beach. I did a snorkel tour with four winds tours (I for around $50 and it was great! We saw a bunch of whales as well and had a great lunch. Staff on this tour were excellent. I booked my two excursions with Greg at the Expedia booth in front of wharf cinema centre and he was very helpful. I also did a group surf lesson with royal Hawaiian surf school it's about a fifteen minute walk from the hostel. This hostel is a great place to stay while on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie89Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I got to Maui planning on staying with friends, which worked out for a few days...but then I wanted to hang out in Lahaina and did not want to make the drive back to up country, so instead I was able to get a bed at this hostel for $37 a night. Which was a way better deal than the $395 a night which was the cheapest hotel I could find on the whole island in January! This place is in a great location, easy walking distance to anything you want to do in Lahaina, easy to access, and easy going people hanging out. It was clean, and quiet enough for me to sleep during the day, since I stayed out at the beach all night! They also offer very affordable excursions on all kinds of activities so that is a great plus as well. They have a great out door space that they were revamping when I was there and improving the out door kitchen area and patio. It worked for me and I was very happy to have found it on such short notice. I don't think I will ever stay any where else again when I am on island, as this was cheap and easy. there is a mini fridge in every room so you can stash some food and snacks and your leftovers from all the wonderful restuarants you can afford to visit when you don't spend all your cash on lodging!!

Room Tip: They do have private rooms that rent at $69 a night per person double occupancy.. so there is anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Goddessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#30 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Lani Inn
Aloha Lani Inn
#11 of 11 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#23 of 42 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ilikahi
The Ilikahi
#5 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel

Property: Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel
Address: 252 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1505
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lahaina's Last resort hostel is a truly backpackers Hostel and prove that there is no reason to settle for staying anywhere but in the heart of Old Lahaina Town. Its quaint seafront, numerous art galleries, legendary restaurants, and good nightlife have been calling to visitors for years. Foodland grocery store is a three minute walk towards town. 2.5 miles from the celebrated Ka'anapali Beach and walking distance from the beautiful Baby Beach in Lahaina! We believe that when traveling, the five most important elements of that "Once in a lifetime" experience include: great location, comfort, safety, good value for money, and great people - and this is what we are proud to bring to you at Once. We want you to feel at home here at The Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel That's why we included all of the following for your comfort WE OFFER: Free Different Tours/activities of Maui: MONDAY: Kanaha beach Park TUESDAY: Snorkel (Kapalua Bay and Napili Bay) WEDNESDAY: Hike Bamboo Forest THURSDAY: Snorkel (Ka'anapali Beach and Honolua Bay) FRIDAY: BBQ Night SATURDAY: Northwestern Coast (Blow Hole, Olivine Pools and a short hike 'Lower Makamaka'ole Falls') SUNDAY: Fun day at Little Beach and Big Beach AMENITIES: -Free Breakfast -Free Wi-Fi -Free parking -Fire-Proof Security Safe at Front Desk. -Free Luggage Storage -Free use of boogie boards -Free use of Snorkel equipment -Free use of Surfboard -Board Games -Free City Maps -BBQ charcoal grill -Coin-up Laundry -Linens provided -Air conditioner and mini fridge in all the rooms -Free use of Foosball -Free use of Tennis racquets and balls (Public tennis courts are available in Lahaina) Staff at the resort can help plan visits and reserve excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina`s Last Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina's Last Resort Hostel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing