We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!!”

Top Shot Spearfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With locations on Maui and Big Island, Top Shot Spearfishing is proud to offer the most unique and unforgettable spearfishing excursion in Hawaii. Our professional spearfishing guides train on safety, speargun control, freediving form, breathing techniques, fish identification, and many other techniques that will have you spearing fish quickly and safely. We are proud to focus our efforts on removing invasive fish from Hawaii's reefs and we are confident that your spearfishing excursion with Top Shot Spearfishing will be the experience of a lifetime!
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
“Absolutely loved it!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Our family went out spearfishing with Keoni. It was EPIC! Unlike anything that we've ever done before! I got 2 fish and my dad got 1--- Keoni was such a great help, super knowledgable and helpful! It was a little intimidating at first, but with his help we got comfortable with the gun in the water & it turned out to be such a thrill! I loved it so much that I wanted to stay on vacation later to do the sunset dive with them! The experience is absolutely irreplaceable. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun, unique activity. Keep calm & go spearfishing!! :)

Helpful?
Thank MeganSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tanana, AK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Best snorkel adventure!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This was a great experience even though I don't dive. Keone was a great guide. He showed us a calm and expansive reef system full of fish, turtles and we even saw a white tipped reef shark. He provided all the gear needed. Bring a towel and a snack.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Easily one of the most enjoyable things I've ever done in the water!! I was very excited to try it and am even more excited to return!!
I will do this adventure every time I am in Hawaii, hooked or should I say speared? Lol
Kudos to my guide Keano:))

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slinger1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, wa
1 review
“Amazing!! We cannot wait to spearfish again!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to try spear fishing this trip, as we have done all the usual activities and my bf was really excited about it. I was admittedly a little nervous and not completely convinced that I would be capable of actually catching a moving fish.. While diving.. With a spear.
Well! Let me just start by saying that none of that would've been accomplished without the help of Jeremy, Keoni, and Molly. They were all so incredibly knowledgable, welcoming of all skill levels, and comfortable. After a thorough introduction to the sport, they eased us all into the water w all of the professional equipment and stayed close to us every bit of the way.. Assisting w various breathing techniques (which greatly soothed my initial anxiety), and very carefully pointing out potential targets for us. Within no time we were free diving w turtles, rays, and all matter of sea life- we even saw an octopus! And then, sure enough, much to my disbelief, I speared a fish! And then another! A very proud moment indeed. We are officially hooked.. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an adventurous day in the water!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarajanecobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience! Would do again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stumbled across Spearfish Maui when searching for 'things to do in Maui' before our honeymoon. We love to fish, so we figured this would be something cool and different. We were not disappointed and this was the experience of a lifetime! I was a little nervous being a wimpy girl and all, but it was SO fun and we cannot wait to do this again. Jeremy and his team make sure you have all the proper training and give you all opportunities to ask any questions. They provide you with all the necessary gear and teach you about the reef, the fish, the water, etc. They are very knowledgeable and also want to keep everyone safe; they make you feel comfortable. We snorkeled for about 4 hours or so, and the time just flew by. We saw SO many different kinds of tropical fish that were just beautiful. The instructors are good at pointing out what fish you should spear because they are good for eating. Afterwards we took pictures, learned how to cook the different types of fish caught and we now have a great story to tell about our honeymoon adventure. If you're looking for something fun and if you like to snorkel - do this!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shot Spearfishing also viewed

 

Been to Top Shot Spearfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing