We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong currents & steep edge near water- be careful”

Kahekili Beach Park
Ranked #12 of 123 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newberg, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Strong currents & steep edge near water- be careful”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We visited this park and beach in May 2014 for snorkeling. Nice park with lots of free parking by maui standards. The day we were there was calm & sunny & we went around 8 am so not crowded.Water drops off quickly with lots of coral near beach Most snorkeling is over coral at deeper depths than I liked (20 ft+) and we saw fish but not nearly as many as we saw at Kapalua same week. We're experienced amature snorkelers (50's, 30's., 70's in age) but we had couple of problems here... very strong current sweeping towards north made it hard to swim in any other direction... And when we tried to exit the water within 45 min of calm entry a wave at steep edge had developed and all of us got rolled by it right where water meets beach. Pounded us into sand. Ears. hair, noses, pockets, suits were loaded with sand. Was a little spooky. Was very glad we hadn't brought our toddler grandbaby to this beach at least on that day. Its a very beautiful park/beach... But be careful if go in the water. I've only been snorkeling here one day... So might have been a fluke ....but we will probably go elsewhere in future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    104
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Crystal clear waters”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The water here is crystal clear clarity. Careful of the reef as it can come up to the shore in some areas. Make sure to take a snorkel to see the fish

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling on the island”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This marine preserve hidden across from where the sugar cane train is, is the best snorkeling spot on the island. Great parking and facilities close to the beach. This is only place on Maui where I have seen an Achilles tang and trust me, I've snorkeled every spot on the island. Not to be missed, but please be respectful of this special reef.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay area
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling, nice facilities”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There's a nice reef off this beach for snorkeling. The first reef is bleached and not much fish, so the trick is to swim past that to the next line of reef. Good facilities - bathrooms, covered pavilion (for when it starts raining!), and picnic benches. Lovely location for a sunset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KnowsHowToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This beach is directly in front of the hotel resorts so expect it to get crowded. The water was lovely, so were the views and there are shade provided by the trees. Lots of folks snorkeling (directly across the Westin) and scuba diving. Weather is pretty fickle and it rained pretty hard while we were there so we didn't get to stay long.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYCRotaryRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kahekili Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Kahekili Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing