We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant

Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
hawaii
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

4 of us went to Fu Lin tonight before going to a show. Luckily, we made reservations. We were not told that half the restaurant would be closed due to catering a very large party. Service was poor. We felt badly for our waiter who had to run around serving gosh knows how many other tables. But our food came out luke warm. The sauces were heavy. Ths shrimp and walnuts were minus the nuts. The Hot Sour soup was very good. But the mu shu pancakes did not fold and we ended up eating the pork dish without the pancakes. All in all it was a very disappointing
meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    36
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than the last time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The food & service has improved since we were here 2 yrs ago. Pineapple coconut shrimp were very good. The chicken chow mein was full of chicken, vegetables & yummy noodles. The orange chicken was good, but the sauce was heavy. We'd return for another meal!

Helpful?
Thank aquaH2Omama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who you fu lin?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Waiter upsells dishes. After I ordered my dish, he asked me "White or Fried Rice?" I didn't care for rice, but if he insisted, I agreed to "fried" assuming it came with my order. Instead, I got charged an additional $12 for a whole dish! Sneaky sneaky!

Was a slow day too, so it may just be how they do things when business is slow, so to all you Honeymooners, be careful not to agree to anything other than your order and ask them to specify if it comes with the dish or will you be charged for it.

Felt totally ripped off leaving that place. Not a nice feeling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JJny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One out of three ain't bad...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

...and Fu Lin, while not truly great, is a cut above the other two "real" Chinese restaurants on the island. Neither of the other two appeals much to me these days, although one of them, China Boat, was once a "fave," but I find the fare offered at Fu Lin more to my liking now. (I've been a Maui resident for 30+ years, moving here from San Francisco. I ate at a lot of restaurants in Chinatown over the years, and Fu Lin might just make the top 30% there, but it's the best we have (in my opinion), and we make do with that. (My wife and I often have two char siu appetizers with a fried rice variety, and that makes for a really good meal for two.) The weakness there is the service. Actually, it's very friendly, but unless you're content with a long, lingering dining experience (read "excessive"), try someplace else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waikapubruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We ate here last night. There was a bit of a wait, but we were seated which indicated we would be served soon. While sitting there for 15 minutes we sent two of our party to check out another place. Finally we got to order drinks and apps. Two of our party wanted noodle soup, but oh they're out. They brought 2 drinks of the 6 and ran off. The whole night went like this. Sure, they were busy and understaffed, so don't sit us if you can't serve us. the one positive, the pot stickers and coconut shirmp were good. The other food was bad. Oh, and no steamed rice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zubsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fu Lin Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing