We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on maui ”
Review of Star Noodle

Star Noodle
Ranked #15 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Vietnamese, Singaporean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Fresh House Made Noodles & Asian Specialties.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best food on maui ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My husband visited here twice during our 10 day vacation. The food and service were great but call ahead and put your name on the list because the wait can be long (1.5 hrs+). My favourite dishes were the steamed pork buns and Singapore noodles - both excellent. We found the pad Thai a bit tasteless and needed some hot sauce but we both prefer spicy pad Thai. All ingredients were fresh and atmosphere is fun. Doesn't feel like a tourist trap unlike many places on maui.

Helpful?
Thank MolAndMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,967
    623
    254
    76
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coco88
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good asian food in Maui”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We called ahead for four people and just was seated right away when we got in. The ambiance was modern and crowded. One of friends was a vegetarian and they were very accommodating with making substitution for her meal. Overall, service was great and everything tasted very good. We shared some ramen dishes, pork belly buns, vietnamese crepes, garlic noodles and pad thai. We had a very pleasant experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just didn't find the 'magic' here.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You know, if you have to wait more than an hour to be seated the food has to be really great. Like a great flavor profile. It just wasn't there. We tried quite a few dishes as we were a large group of adults. The only thing that sets a restaurant apart these days is the ability to translate flavors from the kitchen to the plate and palate. It just didn't happen. The ahi was really good but from there on it was just asian fusion. Some dishes didn't have much flavor at all. Disappointed. Plus, we had to wait outside on parking lot benches while 'rats' not mice ran around in the dark. It was a 'Pied Piper' experience, minus the Piper.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok food, poor service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Visited twice.
First time, not too bad, hence the return visit.
First visit, as expected there was a pretty long line, took 45 minutes to sit. The guy hosting was a little sarcastic with the guests which had them guessing whether their table was ready or not. Once we were in, our server Andy was pleasant and helpful. Ordered the Ramen which was bland, Pad Thai that was great and pork steam buns that were also great.
Second trip, not good. We called to try to make reservations based on previous visit. We were told our party (of 2) was too small, that was it; come to find out later they have a call-ahead option that they didn't offer. The wait was about an hour and 15 mins. About 15 mins in, we decided to just get take-out. This was an utter catastrophe. Since the waiting area is outside we didn't see our food was ready. We waited outside for 45 mins, while our food languished on the front counter for 30 mins. We ordered the Pad Thai, Look Moore Funn and Kimchi wings. The L.M.F. seemed like a half portion and we exchanged it for another Pad Thai. They said it be out with the next batch of Pad Thai, about 20 min wait and they'd bring it out to us. I waited outside for about 10 then went inside because our whole visit was already over an hour for just take-out. The front desk girls couldn't have been paying less attention to the take-out, they were talking about hiring a girl and scheduling hours. After 10 mins waiting inside, I decided to check out the row of bags neatly lining the front desk. As soon as I got up to start reading, one of the girls jumped up and said "Here's your Pad Thai" which has been sitting there since before I went inside.
Disappointed.
The food was mediocre on this visit as well. One P.T. had very little sauce/flavor. Wings were just ok.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lemmingsmasjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Creative Asian cuisine”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A very creative menu and top quality food. Probably the cheapest place for fine dining in all of Maui. So it's no surprise the place is crowded. On our first visit at 7:30 pm on a weekday the wait was 90 minutes, so we went elsewhere. We easily got a table for lunch the next day, and for dinner two days later at 5:30 pm. The servers are friendly,the food was top notch both times, and the check was probably half of what waterfront dining would have cost us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NV_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Star Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing