We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall experience”

Island Star Excursions
Ranked #86 of 130 Tours in Lahaina
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Got the online discount, available...online. We saw TONS of dolphins, including calves of both spotted and spinner dolphins. We saw spotted eagle rays, turtles, parrotfish, eels, and a ton more cool fish. The guides were great and very accommodating, fruit and snacks provided tasted great as well. I don't have anything negative to say about the experience, other than a few stings to my girlfriend and I from hydroids in the water but that could have happened with any company to any destination! They even had a solution prepared to help alleviate the stinging.

Helpful?
3 Thank Colinrobinson619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a wonderful snorkeling trip with Island Star Excursions. The crew was professional, friendly and very helpful. The kids loved snorkeling in the ocean and seeing all the beautiful fish, dolphins and turtles. My children range in age from 12 to 7 and each couldn't stop talking about what a great time they had. Shaun was especially, great with my 7 year old who was more tentative about the snorkel. He took her under his wing and showed her all the ocean life and even brought up an sea urchin for her to hold. I definitely recommend them to everyone!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible day !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I booked a private cruise for the day. It was without a doubt one of the best vacation experiences we have ever had, and we are very well traveled. Capt. Bob and Tim were friendly and the service they provided us couldnt have been better. We really felt like we were sailing with old friends. They took us out to a great snorkling spot, where we swam with tons of sea turtles. Capt Bob jumped in the water with us and pointed out tons of interesting sea life and he knew exactly where to find the turltles !!! In the mean time, Tim was preparing a great deli style lunch to go wth the appetizers he had already served up to us on our way out to the reef. We then cruised a bit and then they let the sails down and we did some great sailing around the island. capt Bob pointed out points of interest on the coast as we sailed. meanwhile, Tim was preparing more appetizers and snacks as we sailed. We stopped at a great deep water swimming spot, and we jumped in to cool off. After that, we cruised again while Tim prepared an incredible filet mignon and lobster tail dinner for us which was excellant. When we cruised back to the dock, we couldnt believe that over 7 hrs had passed. We hung out on the boat awhile talking to our new friends before we bid them goodbye and thanked them for an amazing day.

Do not hesitate to book with Island Star. They re truly a first class, friendly and accomodatingoperation in every way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“snorkel to Lanai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just got back from Maui and the trip to lanai was the highlight of our week. Capt. Tom was a great guide and really took the time to let us take it all in. We hit a huge pod of spinner dolphins and just when you thought he was leaving he turned around and we watched more! Sean the deckhand was so personable and very good at showing the group where the turtles etc. were. The food was good and the group was international and a great day was had by all!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“R u mental? Go with these guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Just spent the day on the water with Captain Bob and the crew sailing and snorkelling along West Maui. Best day ever.

We have sailed with this charter company before and will definitely do it again. Just like Oprah, Arnold and many other celebs, this is the way to go.

We were treated like royalty and the crew went out of their way to make sure every one was looked after and was having fun.

If you can swing it this is the way to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank bdl357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Star Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Island Star Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing