We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunset Shores Maui - a little bit of Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
This is YOUR postcard view from YOUR private lanai. Unbeatable!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is YOUR postcard view from YOUR private lanai. Unbeatable!
Relax Maui-Style on your private lanai. Can't improve on the view either! Watch surfers, whales, sky Newly-furnished comfortable living room with plenty of seating. Bright and open. High ceilings.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This is YOUR postcard view from YOUR private lanai. Unbeatable!
Relax Maui-Style on your private lanai. Can't improve on the view either! Watch surfers, whales, sky
Newly-furnished comfortable living room with plenty of seating. Bright and open. High ceilings.
Unlimited ocean views from the wall of windows. Enjoy the tropical breezes and relax.
A beautiful spot for dining. Who needs a restaurant?
Enjoy mealtime in our stylish open kitchen. Even the sink has an ocean view.
Fully & completely stocked with everything you will need. Even a kitchen island.
Just can't get enough of the open kitchen area. Plenty of room for lots of cooks!
Large flat panel HD TV, private Wifi network, telephone, CD player, iPod dock for your enjoyment.
View from dining room side of wrap around lanai towards island of Lanai. The view is always changing
Master bedroom w/new king bed & ensuite bath. Bamboo floor. Bright & airy with lovely ocean view.
Master bedroom has an open feel...like staying in a tropical rain forest.. Very private.
Middle main floor bedroom with queen bed and soothing sounds of the ocean to lull you to sleep.
Another view of the middle main floor bedroom. Flat screen TV on wall.
Bathrooms newly remodeled with walk in showers, custom vanities with granite countertops.
Loft Bedroom with new king bed. Ensuite bathroom. Ocean views. Quiet & secluded. TV on dresser.
A view of the sitting area in the private & spacious loft bedroom.
Calm and peaceful ocean view….just relax and enjoy the beauty of Maui.
Our oceanfront pool has great views! Maui + Ocean + Sun = Perfect!
Heated swimming pool with wide view of the ocean.
The perfect spot for relaxing Maui-style. Ocean-gazing is a good thing!
A delicate low-lying rainbow...so close!
Our oceanfront BBQ area is a wonderful spot for grilling. Great views for the cook!
Maui is a feast for the senses. Vivid blue sky, fragrant trade winds, swaying palm trees. Come Enjoy
One of our resident Honu (sea turtles) who swim close to the shoreline. Such fun to watch!
Pathway to your Maui condo. Your condo is at far end nearest the ocean.
View looking down the scenic west Maui coastline with coloful tropical flowers.
A morning rainbow to start another day in Paradise.
Beautiful ocean view from your piece of Paradise!
And yet another beautiful sunset. Each one really is different, but all are memorable.
Our resident 'Honu'(Hawaiian sea turtles) sunbathing. Fun to observe. (always from a distance).
A famous blazing Maui sunset to end a perfect day in Paradise! Unforgettable!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KMTyler
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunset Shores Maui - a little bit of Paradise”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first visit to the Hawaiian islands and I did all my research online. Sunset Shores Maui sounded like a perfect place for my family and me and it absolutely did not disappoint. I love the ocean and the condo is located about as close as you can get without being in it. The varying shades of blue waters, the sunsets, the breezes were everything I imagined.

It is a smaller, quieter community, just right for me, my daughter, son-in-law, and two young grandsons. The adults had the two main floor bedrooms and the boys had the loft. We all had our own bathroom.

The condo is equipped with everything you need from kitchen and grilling equipment to beach chairs, beach bags, linens, etc. The owner has everything marked. The kitchen is updated beautifully with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. It looks just like all the pictures online.

In the evening residents would gather outside to cook on the three big grills and then wait for amazing sunsets. After dark, it was very quiet. We didn't encounter any noise.

Nearby beaches were not crowded and we found several to try out (we liked Napili Bay). The condo is located close to shopping, restaurants, grocery shores. We walked to the nearby Farmer's Market twice. However, my favorite activity was sitting on the lanai looking at and listening to the ocean.

Initially, I was concerned about no air conditioning as I'm sensitive to humidity but no worries. The breezes and ceiling fans were more than enough to keep it cool for sleeping. And I wouldn't have wanted to miss those by running an air conditioner.

All my dealings with the owner were professional and friendly. She responded quickly to my questions and everything went according to what she stated. She very graciously accommodated us on a special request on the last day.

If I'm able to get back to Maui sometime in the future, Sunset Shores Maui would absolutely be my choice again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer25...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The pictures don't do it justice. It felt so comfortable and the view was breathtaking. Perfect vacation. I've stayed many places and none have been as well cared for as this place and well stocked with plenty of towels and anything you need. LOVED this place and hated to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y2kanders...
Georgetown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Property We Could Have Selected”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This property is amazing. Not only was it the perfect location but the condo was outstanding. The property is well maintained as was the condo.

We saw turtles every day and at least 25-30 large turtles one afternoon.

Our son was able to snorkel and scuba dive from our beach.

Working with the owner was such a pleasure. She's incredible!

Already planning to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and layout of the condo
Liked least: We could only stay 10 days.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken B
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOWZA!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I'll preface this review by stating that if you are not happy here then you may not be happy anywhere! Our group of 6 arrived after dark and although we could hear the roaring ocean we could not see it. In the morning when we woke we were amazed at how gorgeous it is. The unit is much closer to the water than we thought by looking at the photos. Looking at the islands of Lanai and Molokai was my favorite part and the only downside was the Vog (courtesy of the big island) that obscured our view of those 2 islands for most of our trip. The location is wonderful for accessing shopping, eating, etc. Marilyn is very organized and has everything ready for you to go ahead and unpack and enjoy. Although a few members of our group are sensitive to humidity/heat, etc. we had no issues at all. The biggest complaint was the roar of the winter ocean waves to the point where we had to close a few windows. It literally sounded like it was going to sweep us out to sea but we thought is was great!! Whales and Honu galore. Honu beached right down the shoreline from us - about 10 of them which we were able to get great photos of (from a distance, please). Consider yourself fortunate it you've booked this condo for a vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennDetr...
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect unit for our interest and needs. Location, location, location -- RIGHT on the water with the surf pounding 24/7, it was terrific. The three bedroom unit worked very well for we three couples. One bedroom is a little smaller than the other two, which was fine. Everything you need in terms of kitchen and beach equipment. I would definately stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view; surf pounding
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Maui condo”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our weeklong stay at SunsetShoresMaui was wonderful. The condo itself is beautiful, fully furnished with everything you need (except food). Its location in the complex is the best - closest to the ocean, and a perfect perch to watch the amazing sunsets. We loved watching the sea turtles - so many! - and the beautiful view of Molokai and Lanai. The pool was lovely, and we utilized the BBQs by the pool many times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sound of the ocean and the view
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeacherTe...
Oxford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The short of it:

Bottom line: If you are looking to stay at a QUIET, non-smoking resort in a beautiful, well appointed and spacious condo literally steps from the ocean teeming with turtles – this place is heaven.

If you are looking for a huge resort with multiple pools, lots of noise, restaurants, shops, and bars with a party atmosphere – look elsewhere.

The long of it:

I'm a skeptic. I have trouble believing reviews that are almost all superior. But I can give this condo nothing less. This three bedroom condo exceeded our expectations. It is ultra modern, roomy, very clean and beautifully decorated. Marilyn, the owner, is awesome. She responded immediately to all my emails. She provided us with clear directions, valuable local information and travel hints. She has gone above and beyond to make our stay amazing. From the welcome pineapple and box of chocolates to comfortable beds and crisp linens, she has thought of everything. The kitchen is ultra modern with soft closing drawers, dimmer switches to adjust lighting and has every appliance and utensil you can think of. There are also double and triple sets of dishes and glasses (including plastic ones to use at the pool), so you don’t have to wash after every meal. We travel quite a bit and I have never stayed at a condo that had so many things supplied from dishwashing detergent and cleaning supplies to paper products. There are also “left behinds” (by other guests) such as tea and spices, even aluminum foil if you choose to use them so as not to have to buy full sizes. I’d recommend you first check what’s in the condo before you make a shopping trip. There is an extensive list on the website of things provided in the condo. Read it carefully before you pack. You'll be surprised how many things are there for you. In addition, there were things like water shoes, fins, a mask/snorkel, and even insect repellant. Perhaps they are also “left behinds,” but great to discover!

Read and BELIEVE the other reviews, descriptions and pictures on their website – they are accurate. This condo is fabulous. And of course, there is the spectacular, breath taking view.

Nota bene: Sunset Shores condo is located in a place that is NOT your typical “vacation resort.” In order to love it as much as the rest of us did, it has to be a good fit for what you have in mind. The following can be “negatives” for some, perfection for others. This resort is small, only two stories tall, and very, very quiet. In fact there are quiet hours from 10 PM to 8AM. There is no smoking allowed anywhere on the property (that includes the common areas and parking lot) not just in your unit. This is wonderful if you hate smoke drifting into your “non-smoking unit,” but it’s not your resort if you are a smoker. The condo is located on the second floor so you have to be able to climb stairs. The access to the small, but really nice secluded beach may be a challenge for some with mobility issues. It is just a small switchback toe path on a sandy embankment which is at about a 30 degree angle – no stairs. But people go up and down just fine. And even if you don’t climb down, you are so close that sitting on the lanai is like sitting on the beach. The beach area (as depicted in the pictures) is rocky as is most of the shallow area. Bring water shoes. Swimming and climbing rocks to watch the turtles will be a lot more fun! Don't worry that the unit is not air-conditioned. We found that keeping the curtains drawn during late afternoon and the cool breezes off the water after sunset made it very pleasant. There are also multiple fans (ceiling and stand alone) for the really warm days. Finally, the birds WILL wake you up. The south side of the unit has beautiful, jungle-like foliage that abuts the property that’s home to many birds. I loved their morning cacophony, but if that’s not your thing, bring ear plugs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing