We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place with good food”

Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
Ranked #34 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small place with good food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Their front windows are covered with window works and store signs therefore you cannot see how small this restaurant is until you walk in. It is definitely just a take out place. But food is very good. Teriyaki steak was very tender, tasty and we'll seared. The battered fish was moist. However the stir fried veggies as a side had ammonia smell (probably from the bamboo shoots (?)) so it kind of dampened the meal experience for me... But my husband enjoyed the meal.

Helpful?
Thank WCoastr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    131
    38
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good for lunch if you're in Napili or Honokowai, try the fish and chips! Also lots of veggie options. Moderately priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

It was not bad but pretty pricy for take out. Bbq chicken rice was 10 dollars. There is a fee seats but not that comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Musumekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“LOVE the food!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We discovered this deli two years ago, and have told many friends about it. We returned twice this trip, to enjoy their "plate meals". The Lemon Caper fish is lip-smacking good. The teriyaki steak is savory and tender. The coconut shrimp was delicious. The panko fried fish was great. My brother enjoyed the Loco Moco. Definitely pick up good food-to-go here and enjoy it in your villa! I would eat here once a week, if the deli were located in my home town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-lady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
432 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Just awesome take out food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Picked this place because of the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Had driven by it dozens of times, but never noticed it tucked away in small strip mall on the Lower Honoapillani Road. We went there on a lark and we were greatly rewarded. We got the Mahi Mahi Lemon Caper dish and it was just wonderful. And the price was great. Not much atmosphere, if any at all. But the food more than makes up for this deficiency. Go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honokowai Okazuya & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Honokowai Okazuya & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing