We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in the beginning of Oct 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I doubt if you can a better ocean view in other places in Maui. You can easily walk down to the beach and there were also turtles in the rocks nearby. I believe most of the studios are ocean-facing and that by itself is worth the stay. The studio we stayed was fully functional with a kitchenette and the murphy bed was more comfortable that I thought. Kahana is about 3 miles north of the Kaanapali area and you can easily drive down to the beach and shopping there. We cooked most of our time there and the nearby times supermarket (2 miles) was very convenient. This place may not be a luxury resort but it made for a pleasant and comfortable stay. The pool was not so great but we were allowed to use the nearby Sands of Kahana pool which was quite nice and they even had a kid's pool.

Room Tip: Get a oceanfront room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoNovember7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you were impressed with the ocean view and condo-style accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    126
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
73
170
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in studio #206 for one week. The view was fabulous - ocean front. If loud surf is a problem for you, then it will not work. With the windows open, it is crashing right there. We saw turtles and beautiful sunsets. The murphy bed was very comfortable, and the accommodations were all we needed for two people. The property is older, but clean, and the people were very nice. We love the Kahana area, as it is a less commercial than Kanaapali and more residential. Very convenient to excellent snorkeling spots. Thank you Kahana Beach resorts for excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you enjoyed fabulous ocean views featuring beautiful sunsets. We are glad you found our accommodations comfortable and well equipped. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Kahana Beach resort in Maui was nice. It is definitely no Marriott but everyone was very friendly. Julie at Expedia was wonderful and very helpful. The beds pulled down from the wall so it wasn't extremely comfortable. After the 5th night my back started to hurt.
Just double check your ending balance. I had pre-paid for my 4 extra days because my travel agent found a special and they tried to charge me for those days during check out.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellySilletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy our staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, and will be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My grandmother and I stayed here while other family members stayed at other resorts that were more upscale. However, if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay this is your place! Staff is extremely friendly and will know your name after a day! We stayed in a studio and it was perfect! The kitchen is small but who cooks on vacation? We were content with the microwave and full set of bowls, plates and silverware.

I did not sleep on the murphy bed but my grandmother said it was totally fine. That was the only thing we were really hesitant about going into this trip because of the other reviews. The couch pulls out into a bed.

Out of the three locations my family was staying at, I must say that we had the BEST view! You are basically right on the water. During high tide, the water goes up to the wall before the hotel. Every room has a balcony with an amazing ocean view! You can even see turtles in the morning if you wake up during sunrise!

~8 mins from Kaanapali Parkway and Whaler's Village, Kaanapali Beach
~12-15 mins from Downtown Lahaina

Room Tip: Studio can fit 4. Would be suitable for family with two kids. May be tight with 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristiii12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are thrilled our staff was extremely friendly, and that our condo-style accommodations were perfect. We are happy you enjoyed the ocean view. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in a corner ocean front studio closest to the pool. We saw many sea turtles and a few stingrays from our balcony. The views were great although it faced the direction of the sun as it was setting. It was hot in the afternoon but the view during sunset was great. The sliding glass door needs to be replaced. Great hearing the ocean when sleeping but you can also hear people partying on the beach until 2 am. The studio bed was a little uncomfortable and I woke up with sore muscles on more than one morning. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and the staff was nice and very accommodating of our early check in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jocran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the ocean view from your balcony. Falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean is truly a wonderful experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I visited Maui for the first time just recently in late August. We were very impressed with Kahana Beach Resort. The staff was very helpful. Lae, Marie, Michelle and the rest of the staff really made our week stay very memorable. The accommodations were amazing. The studio condo was equipped with everything imaginable. The view was breath-taking. Very quiet, clean and enjoyable. Looking forward to returning in 2014.

Centrally located for shopping etc................

Room Tip: First floor rooms may be a little hectic during check in/out times
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are thrilled you were impressed with your first stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I traded my timeshare stay in Las Vegas with this one on Maui, so was only allowed a studio unit. However, it fit our needs perfectly. We were on the second floor, right next to both the stairs and the elevator, so it was just a short trip down the stairs and to the gorgeous beach. The room itself has all of the necessities, except for a place to store your clothes. There was an entertainment center with drawers, but all of the drawers were full of pillows & bedding for the murphy bed and hideaway sofa bed. For the studio unit, I wouldn't recommend more than a couple unless you don't mind sleeping toe-to-toe with your guests. There is a microwave and cooktop, but no oven.
The concierge was very friendly and helpful, as was everyone we encountered on the island. The beach is small and thus not crowded and you can literally walk down the stairs of the condo right onto the sand and into the water. Perfect. Turtles tend to visit at the end of the beach where the lava rocks and trees grow, so you can have an awesome time swimming and seeing them and the fish life.

Room Tip: You may not want the second floor right above where the activities groups gather (201-203) because y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calicat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for exchanging into the Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy our accommodations perfectly met your needs. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff, along with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the beach and surrounding area. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.5 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing