We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hidden Gem On The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem On The Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Sep 29-Oct 6, 2013 in a studio unit (607). We were not sure about the Murphy bed when we booked but it turned out to be very comfortable. My boyfriend has back issues so the firm bed worked perfectly for him (and also for me with no back problems). The view from our 6th floor room was fabulous. Sea turtles swimming by while we had coffee on the Lanai in the morning. The resort is quite so if you are looking for exotic pools and loads of activities--this is NOT the place for you. However, if you are looking to kick back and just enjoy sunsets, surf, and the beach--this is heaven. We traded a time share for our stay and have been fortunate enough to get 2 weeks with my timeshare for Oct 2014. Can't wait. Mahalo and Aloha.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha! Thank you for visiting Kahana Beach. We appreciate your generous review and complimentary remarks. Our breathtaking ocean views offer wonderful vistas of the Pacific as far as the eye can see. Watching the sea turtles swim by as you’re relaxing on your lanai is a great way to begin the morning. Thank you once again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    126
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
170
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I read a lot of the reviews before I came... I was kinda wondering what this place was going to be like... It was awesome!!! Great location to the beach, shops, food...etc....Super clean! Not sure what the complaint is with the murphy bed... it was fine...who is spending lengthy time in bed? Your in Maui!!! Get up! Enjoy!! The staff was great!!!! If you need to stay in the lap of luxury, then do so....stay and pay the high prices! This place is great for those who don't want to pay the high cost of the luxury places...would love to go back! The turtles and rays were so fun to watch every morning from our balcony!!

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are thrilled you had a great stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad our location was great, and that our accommodations were comfortable and clean. We appreciate your compliments about our staff. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed from October 4th through the 11th and can't say one bad thing about this resort. Spacious room, great service and magnificent views make this a great place. From our lanai we watched sea turtles, sting rays and even a harmless shark. Beach front with great swimming. No lifeguards on the beach or pool, but they don't seem necessary. It can be a bit rough to get in or out to swim in the sea, but once past the first drop, you are still touching the bottom. You can swim out for nearly 1/4 mile! Park your stuff in the sand and just float for hours in the warm, clear water. No noise from the hall or other rooms. Very clean and no pressure for timeshare sales. Would go back with no hesitation. One issue; it is a long drive from the airport. Slow going at points as well. If you want to stay on this side of the island, I would highly recommend this resort. If you want to do a lot of sightseeing, something more centrally located may be better. If you just want sand, water and views, this is the place!

Room Tip: Get ocean front, not ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Aloha, Carrie! Thank you for sharing your generous comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed everything our resort has to offer. Our breathtaking ocean views and proximity to the beach are just two reasons people come from all over the world to visit. We are glad you would stay with us again and hope you will soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This location is great. Out of the busy traffic a little off the main road through kahana. We were weary of the Murphy bed but have had no troubles with it. They also don't hassle you about owning a timeshare unless you are interested. We have seen sea turtles, stingrays, and several rainbows from our 9 th floor room. Waves aren't really that loud. They are relaxing to wake up to. All in all great place to stay. Very enjoyable. Oh...and the hottub was working...I have seen complaints about that..no complaints here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view...ocean front are for owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy our location was convenient, and that you found our accommodations comfortable. Your description of the view made us feel like we were there with you! Waking up to the sounds of the ocean must have been amazing. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in the beginning of Oct 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I doubt if you can a better ocean view in other places in Maui. You can easily walk down to the beach and there were also turtles in the rocks nearby. I believe most of the studios are ocean-facing and that by itself is worth the stay. The studio we stayed was fully functional with a kitchenette and the murphy bed was more comfortable that I thought. Kahana is about 3 miles north of the Kaanapali area and you can easily drive down to the beach and shopping there. We cooked most of our time there and the nearby times supermarket (2 miles) was very convenient. This place may not be a luxury resort but it made for a pleasant and comfortable stay. The pool was not so great but we were allowed to use the nearby Sands of Kahana pool which was quite nice and they even had a kid's pool.

Room Tip: Get a oceanfront room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoNovember7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you were impressed with the ocean view and condo-style accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in studio #206 for one week. The view was fabulous - ocean front. If loud surf is a problem for you, then it will not work. With the windows open, it is crashing right there. We saw turtles and beautiful sunsets. The murphy bed was very comfortable, and the accommodations were all we needed for two people. The property is older, but clean, and the people were very nice. We love the Kahana area, as it is a less commercial than Kanaapali and more residential. Very convenient to excellent snorkeling spots. Thank you Kahana Beach resorts for excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you enjoyed fabulous ocean views featuring beautiful sunsets. We are glad you found our accommodations comfortable and well equipped. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Kahana Beach resort in Maui was nice. It is definitely no Marriott but everyone was very friendly. Julie at Expedia was wonderful and very helpful. The beds pulled down from the wall so it wasn't extremely comfortable. After the 5th night my back started to hurt.
Just double check your ending balance. I had pre-paid for my 4 extra days because my travel agent found a special and they tried to charge me for those days during check out.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellySilletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy our staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, and will be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing