We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great little hotel right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was very happy with our recent stay at the Kahana Beach Resort. As other reviews have stated, it is right on the ocean. The unit and property were very clean. I watched as the maintenance crew disassembled, cleaned and re-assembled the BBQ's EVERY MORNING! We did see turtles, which was very cool. The beach is small, but clean. It is not buzzing like Kaanapali which was nice. We got take out pizza & salads from Sally's (walking distance), and it was thick crust and good. If you are looking for a fancy resort with those super comfortable beds, this is not the place for you. My husband and I don't go in for the real fancy places, so the resort was just fine for us. The murphy bed.....ah....well......it was bearable. But I knew going in that it was a murphy bed, so, again, no complaints. Each and everyone of the staff was super friendly. My only negative comment is not directed at the resort itself, it is directed at Soleil Mgt. who's reservation page claims "your oceanFRONT studio", when in reality I ended up having to call both Soleil and the resort to request an oceanFRONT studio, and did not get it. I totally understand that the oceanfront studios are given out in order of date of requests and my trip was booked only one month prior to arrival, but if I am not guaranteed an oceanfront unit, it should not be stated as such on their reservation page. I ended up with a lovely ocean VIEW studio that I was still very happy with, and would return in a heartbeat even without an ocean front unit, but it's the point. A screen door on the lanai would have been nice, but not a big deal. Instead of watching the sunset from our lanai, we just walked down to the lounge chairs. The pool was clean. You can sit in the hot tub and look at the ocean & at this time of year, watch the whales breaching. I would highly recommend this hotel, and would most definitely return. A 13.42% tax and $11/daily resort fee is added onto your quoted room rate. Best snorkeling at Kapalua Bay. Good snuba out of Marriott's property in Kaanapali (right off the beach).

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms are granted on order of requests, not guaranteed. However, most units do have ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are delighted you were happy with your recent stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad you found our accommodations and resort grounds clean. We are happy you enjoyed the beach, and were able to see some turtles! We are thrilled our staff provided helpful and friendly service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    124
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
73
168
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
286 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A great, inexpensive place to stay that is really right on the beach. Within walking distance from the Maui Brewing Co restaurant. If parking is full you can use the parking next door at the Sands of Kahana and you can use all amenities at the Sands since these are sister resorts. Kahana beach has only one bedrooms and studios, but for a young couple or someone who wants to maximize the dollars they have for things beyond the room, they are perfect! Always turtles just off shore from building to watch and whales when the season is right. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Always request the front of the building right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kahana Beach. We are happy you enjoyed our beachfront accommodations and proximity to the ocean. Watching the turtles from your room sounds like an amazing experience. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed in unit 506, which is a studio apartment suitable for 4 people (two on murphy bed, two on couch). There were only two of us, so the room was ample. We were right on the beach, and we had a great little private balcony for stargazing at night as well as watching the bathers, surfers, and snorklers during the day. Julie, who ran the guest activities, was such a wonderful, friendly, and helpful person. We enjoyed greeting her and being greeted by her as we left for the day and then again when we returned at night. She was interested in our experiences.

We found the unit to be well maintained, clean, everything in working order. The kitchenette has a single-bowl sink, a microwave, full-size refrigerator, and a three burner (I think) flat surface stovetop. We shopped carefully, making sure we could get by with the microwave for all our hot meals. (Although we're out and about all the time, we generally come home for supper when we're traveling. We're not foodies.)

If you want luxury, this may not be it. If you want good lodgings and friendly people while you explore the great outdoors, as well as the scenery from your own quarters, this is the place!!!

The only thing I would recommend for improvements to the property is that the HOA install rails in the bathroom and in the tub. I am walking/standing challenged, and that would have been a great boost for me.

Room Tip: I understand from another review that some rooms don't have as great a view as others. Ask when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueRoesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We appreciate all of your generous compliments about our accommodations and staff. We are happy you enjoyed having a private balcony for stargazing and ocean views. We will certainly be sharing your comments with our staff. We are glad your unit was well maintained and clean. We thank you for sharing your feedback and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulph Mills, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We had an ocean front studio condo on the 5th floor. What a fantastic sunset view, you get the moon at sunrise, and you fall asleep to the ocean every night. The resorts back in this area are not huge, so there is light traffic and you don't feel like you are walking thru most of humanity to get to the beach. Still a short drive to Lahaina Town. Don't be put off by the Murphy bed in the studio unit, we pulled it down and left it down our whole stay, no space problem, but we were only 2. If you have two couples, or one couple with a couple of kids, might need to put it up every day. Kitchen is well equipped, except missing a regular oven. Not ultra luxurious, but right for what you need to be comfortable with nice furnishing. Parking lot is a little tight. Had "Expedia Expert" concierge in lobby, was great at helping us get the most out of local attractions. We are experienced travelers, and would clearly come back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you found the view fantastic for watching the sunset and sunrise. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night must have been amazing. We are glad our accommodations were comfortable and just what you needed during your stay. We are pleased our staff was helpful in planning excursions in the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks of bliss at the Resort. Highly recommend the one-bedroom units (numbers ending in 03), the higher the better. We were in #303 which was a little close at times to the hot-tub & BBQ, but not bad. The plus is that the 03's are corner units & benefit from having a side window. Street noise (if any) was usually completely drowned out by the waves! The units with number ending in 01 and 02 face the next building and not the ocean, so should be avoided if possible.
Amenities were quite sufficient both inside the units and outside - maintenance & cleaning was frequent and thorough. The building is getting a bit old, but that doesn't negatively affect the Resort. Loved having the wi-fi available in each unit.
Close by, I recommend the Farmers Market for fresh produce etc ... and for a casual restaurant with great brews walk to Maui Brewing Co. If you like sushi you HAVE to walk to the nearby Miso Phat restaurant - extremely good, fresh food (eat-in or take-out) - quite popular so try to go a bit early for dinner ... we brought ours back to the Resort. Best sushi we've ever had.
Great snorkeling at the nearby reef at the south end of the beach, but also worth the short trip to Honolua Bay (get there before the tour boats do from Lahaina) ... best swimming beach is Fleming (gradual entry, good waves for body-surfing ... and it's a park with good facilities and no housing fronting the bay).
The only reason I didn't give an Excellent is that we had problems with smokers lighting up on their lanai - finally discovered the culprit the morning we checked out - we mentioned it to the desk and sincerely hope (& presume) that it was dealt with quickly.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms ending in #01 and #02 - Rooms ending in #03 are the one-bedrooms (two bathrooms...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank PAPALANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience. We are glad you were pleased with our amenities and cleanliness. Your detailed account of the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those who are planning a stay. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great reasonably priced accommodation if what your looking for is your own simple, clean place with an ocean view and most importantly a kitchen with pots, pans, cups, utensils, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, freezer, mini 2 burner stove etc. Studio suites have fold down beds that are comfortable enough (sound of the waves put your to sleep), air conditioning that works great and a nice deck to enjoy the view. Most units have full ocean view and sunset view, ours was one of the few side view ocean suites 12th floor for excellent view none the less but we had to go down to the beach (1 min away) to see the sunset... The Pool is clean but cool, so great on a hot day and the lounge chairs are perfect for suntanning in the morning when the sun is not at the right angle to the beach out front. The Kahana Beach right out front was not nearly as crowded as Kaanapali, or Wailea but water not quite as clear either. It is a golden brown and is amazing to walk along as waves wash away your footsteps to the sunset. We stayed 2 weeks in mid to late November 2013 Didn't see any wales but 5 or more of Green Sea turtles gathered and stayed for some days out 300 ft in front of the rocks at the south end of the Kahana Beach (just past hotel by the park), the turtles stayed in the corals, and sometimes came into shore to nap. We enjoyed snorkeling with the peaceful Giants ... one of the highlights of our trip. Also snorkeled in front of Sands of Kahana resort a ways out by the reef and saw many fish, but had to wait for a calm waters days as that is when the water cleared up enough to see good. The rental car was super handy to cruise around to all the fine beaches (snorkel at Kapalua and Napili Bay) and get groceries and explore the island. For first time Maui visitors from Canada on our honeymoon we had an unforgettable stay and came home with money left over. Only complaint was they posted a notice about spraying all the rooms for bugs while we were there and this disturbed us for health reasons. We had to ask 2 different managers not to spray our room, the first would not give us a straight answer and the second agreed to not have our room sprayed while we were there (they are sprayed Quarterly so ask if you are concerned). We give it a 8/10 and would come back again for sure. We loved not being in the trendy, expensive Kaanapali or urban Lahaina... Kahanna was just right for us. When You book, Expedia.ca has the best Air / Hotel packages if you travel from Canada. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for full ocean view when you book (90% of the rooms are) and you don't pay a premium (higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you enjoyed our condo-style accommodations, along with a deck to enjoy the ocean view. We are glad you were pleased with the pool area and our proximity to the beach. The information you have shared regarding the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The most beautiful part of Maui is on the west side of the island... Our resort that we stayed was in such a perfect location... We were a half 20 minutes from the North shore and 20 minutes from the south shore... At the northern most part of Lahaina...The view from our Balcony was amazing like no other.... The sunset right on the ocean between Lanai & Molokai which we had a vivid view.... Every morning we would sit out on our Lanai and have breakfast and the scene was like we were in the movies between the turtles in the ocean to the gents on catamarans...the ocean was upon the beach... Magnificent...The evening sunsets were even more magnificent.. The hotel offers a Thursday afternoon barbecue to all there guests which was pleasant. .A get to know you party... No timeshare pressure as we came through Rci exchange which was great..The room had a wall and a half of glass from the dining room to the living room... .If you sat on the couch you could still see the view..Internet tv and a Queen size murphy bed that was great because flip and it was gone in 2 seconds. The Room was Hugh there after....A car was a must but because of the location you were to the best beach in the world in 10 minutes...Mc Donalds was walking distance and we were able to get breakfast there every morning at a good price.. Next door in there other resort there was a restaurant that had reasonable pricing but the times were restricted. The girl at the desk was very helpful and Boss Frogs was nearby so no need to bring snorkel gear. Very reasonable... The reception desk girl very sweet and accommodating... You can rent beach chairs from here... Right out back you have the beautiful ocean with Turtle coming up on the beach and I hear that in Dec. you can see the whales....Can't wait to plan our next trip....

Room Tip: Oceanview Corner Suites are large and sunny with murphy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad our location was perfect, and that the view from your balcony was unlike any other. Your description of watching the sunset sounds incredible. Your account of the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing