We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Front Mostly Studio Timeshare Condos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beach Front Mostly Studio Timeshare Condos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have exchanged with International Interval for one week stay in Kahana Beach Resort. We had an ocean front large studio w/ a wall bed and a sleeper couch. The view of the ocean and Lanai Island is fantastic. The A/C works great. A full length balcony. Small kitchen area with a good size refrigerator, small sink, microwave oven above the sink, a two burner cook top on granite kitchen island with a coffee maker. Adequate for lite cooking. There is a swimming pool, a large whirlpool and the beach. There are several large sea turtles who like to visit the beach area near the large lava rocks close by. We have collected some beach glasses that washed ashore from the nights' tide. Staff are friendly and helpful. One can purchase tours and activities on the first floor, affiliated w/ the R.C.I. points, but does not need to participate in their presentations. Good WiFi, cable T.V & DVD player. Want to revisit this resort again.

Room Tip: Only corner units are one bedroom condos. A total of 12 one-bedrooms in this resort. Most units ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveItWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for exchanging into Kahana Beach. We are happy you found the view from your unit fantastic and our condo-style accommodations a convenience. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and amenities and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    124
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
73
168
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just returned from spending a week in Maui. We booked this hotel by exchanging our Shell points through Interval International. We stayed in room 807, a corner suite. The room is nothing too spectaular but the view is absolutely stunning. We slept hearing the waves every night and woke up to an amazing view of the ocean, sometimes with rainbows over it. It is a condominium building so amenities are barely there, but we enjoyed making use of the hot tub especially when it's dark out and you can stargaze while listening to the ocean. On our last day there we watched the sunset from our balcony while looking at the turtles swimming along the beach.
The room itself was clean, the murphy bed was not that comfortable but it did ok. We did start getting some sort of pest towards the end of our stay, we hear that this is common in the Hawaiian islands so I wouldn't penalize the resort for this.
I'm not sure what the cleaning staff does during the mid-week cleaning, when we came back that evening it seemed as though only the towels were changed and the bed was made, nothing else was cleaned which was ok in our case as we spent little time in the room and kept it tidy. We did ask to have our beach towels changed once at the front desk and they had apparently run out of clean towels.
Parking was not an issue for us, even when we came back really late at night we managed to find parking at the resort.
Overall, the location right on the beach cannot be beat. When we return to Maui, we will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Give them a call ahead of time to request an ocean front room on a higher floor, the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Kahana Beach. We are happy you found the views from your room absolutely stunning. Your description of falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean sounds incredible. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness, and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We appreciate your feedback, which will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We hope to have you back on your next visit to Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Beach was beautiful. Close to everything. Employees were friendly and helpful. Rooms are dated but very clean. Good value for the area. Loved easy access to beach. Will definitely stay here again. Parking lot a little small. At times could not find a spot and had to park next door at their sister property.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billiejean0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad our location was perfect for enjoying the beautiful beach, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are happy you found our accommodations clean and appreciate the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Purchased a week through our timeshare as an exchange (not cheap!), listed as Kahana Beach Resort which we reviewed before purchasing. Kahana Beach put us in a 'sister' building behind the beach resort, across the highway from the beach, in an old condo unit. There are no services in this condo building which in no way resembles a 'resort'. (The only bathrooms were up a steep flight of stairs.) After enjoying our timeshare resort, we wish we'd gone home and hadn't stayed the extra week.

Room Tip: The above ratings are for the condo builing of the bait & switch by Kahana Beach Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are sorry to learn of your exchange disappointment. Occupancy levels forced us to move you to our sister resort, and we regret it did not meet your expectations. We hope you will accept our apology for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a studio suite with a very well stocked mini kitchen, and murphy bed. Our suite overlooked the ocean directly. A person can overlook a lot with such a great view all day every day. We didn't have to overlook much; we enjoyed the suite in every way except for the bed/linens/pillows. These were mediocre. Improving the bed and sleeping experience would elevate this place to a 5 star experience for us - because we loved everything else about the place...the location and the easy environment. We had beach towels, ice, lots of towels. The suite is very CLEAN - we love that! Can't complain about anything, but please, spring for a decent mattress on the murphy beds, and consider some good linen and pillows. A wonderful stay though over all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janechejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you found our condo-style accommodations well equipped, featuring a beautiful ocean view. We are glad you enjoyed our location and relaxing environment. We appreciate your feedback about our bedding and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our stay at the Kahana Beach Resort was pleasant all around. From the top floor ocean front room, to the daily "alohas" and "mahalos" from the friendly staff. The room was clean, Water pressure in the shower was good. Our room was a small studio, but just the right size for my husband and I. Our favorite time of day was right at daybreak, as my husband and I sat on our balcony and watched the sea turtles swimming so close to shore...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are delighted your stay at Kahana Beach Resort was pleasant all around. We are glad you were impressed with our accommodations and staff and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was very happy with our recent stay at the Kahana Beach Resort. As other reviews have stated, it is right on the ocean. The unit and property were very clean. I watched as the maintenance crew disassembled, cleaned and re-assembled the BBQ's EVERY MORNING! We did see turtles, which was very cool. The beach is small, but clean. It is not buzzing like Kaanapali which was nice. We got take out pizza & salads from Sally's (walking distance), and it was thick crust and good. If you are looking for a fancy resort with those super comfortable beds, this is not the place for you. My husband and I don't go in for the real fancy places, so the resort was just fine for us. The murphy bed.....ah....well......it was bearable. But I knew going in that it was a murphy bed, so, again, no complaints. Each and everyone of the staff was super friendly. My only negative comment is not directed at the resort itself, it is directed at Soleil Mgt. who's reservation page claims "your oceanFRONT studio", when in reality I ended up having to call both Soleil and the resort to request an oceanFRONT studio, and did not get it. I totally understand that the oceanfront studios are given out in order of date of requests and my trip was booked only one month prior to arrival, but if I am not guaranteed an oceanfront unit, it should not be stated as such on their reservation page. I ended up with a lovely ocean VIEW studio that I was still very happy with, and would return in a heartbeat even without an ocean front unit, but it's the point. A screen door on the lanai would have been nice, but not a big deal. Instead of watching the sunset from our lanai, we just walked down to the lounge chairs. The pool was clean. You can sit in the hot tub and look at the ocean & at this time of year, watch the whales breaching. I would highly recommend this hotel, and would most definitely return. A 13.42% tax and $11/daily resort fee is added onto your quoted room rate. Best snorkeling at Kapalua Bay. Good snuba out of Marriott's property in Kaanapali (right off the beach).

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms are granted on order of requests, not guaranteed. However, most units do have ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are delighted you were happy with your recent stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad you found our accommodations and resort grounds clean. We are happy you enjoyed the beach, and were able to see some turtles! We are thrilled our staff provided helpful and friendly service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing