We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Small Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great View, Small Room”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We are checking out today, and overall the location is the top feature of this hotel. We stayed on the 7th floor, and the ocean is literally directly below us--great hearing the sounds of it all day and night. We stayed with another couple, and the living situation was a little tight--one couple on the Murphy bed, another on the couch sleeper. One bathroom for all of us--we were aware of this limitation when we booked, but it was still a bit of claustrophobia trying to coordinate all of us. This resort has a small but nice pool and hot tub area, then direct access right on to the beach. Close by are some good restaurants (Maui Brewing Company) and fast food, among other local eateries. Overall, a good stay, useful as a launching pad for other activities on the island, and would be ideal for just 2 people in a room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank speargat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Kahana Beach. We are happy you were impressed with our location, which allowed for relaxing sounds of the ocean day and night. We are glad you enjoyed the pool area. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    132
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
79
171
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Three years ago my wife and I stayed at the Kahana Beach Resort for our 25th anniversary. We returned this May with our youngest daughter on a vacation to celebrate her graduation from college. I can say that Kahana Beach Resort is even better now. The rooms have been undergoing updates and apparently more is planned. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All the rooms have an ocean view, with over 90% facing directly onto the beach and ocean. We were on the 10th floor looking right out on the ocean. Just a wonderful view. With the patio door open, we could hear the waves crashing and see the beautiful sunsets. We really love staying here. It's a grew place.

If you have ever read one of my reviews of hotels, you will know that the most important thing to me is cleanliness, and I can say that Kahana Beach Resort is very clean. In fact, I watched one day when the cleaning crew was cleaning a room on our floor. They spent probably an hour cleaning the room. It was a crew of 3-4 people. The cleaned every surface, the mopped the floors, vacuumed the carpets, dusted, cleaned the glass and bathrooms and changed every item that is changeable. It was impressive. If you stay a week, they come to your room about mid-week and clean and change all the linens. We were in our room that day, and again, they were very thorough. I was impressed. They probably spent 20 minutes in our room doing that mid-week clean. Changed all the linens and towels and mopped, swept and vacuumed.

The rooms all have kitchenettes with stovetop, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator etc. We bought groceries for our breakfasts and lunches so we only had to eat out in the evenings. The kitchenette was just right. The rooms now have flat screen TVs with hi-def cable (thus we were able to catch the NBA playoff games that I had to see) and the whole tower has wi-fi internet access that was not present 3 years ago. That was quite a surprise and a very welcomed addition.

For the family, they have activities several days a week which we attended this trip. They were great. We made a real flower lei, a native Hawaiian bracelet from the Hala tree, and attended the hamburger social and there was an ice-cream social. All great fun.

As far as beach access, there is no resort in Maui that has better beach access. The tower is right on the beach. It cannot be 30 feet from the tower to the water, and sometimes less when the tide is high and the surf is up. In fact, one evening I watched as the waves crashed into the sea wall of the tower. The beach in this area is great. Just out front of the unit is an all sand beach with a sandy ocean bottom. Just to the south a 100 yards or so is a great rock/coral outcropped area that is full of sea life. In fact the area just south of the unit is a feeding area for the large sea turtles. Several times a day, you could see the turtles swimming past the condo to the rocky area. And on multiple occasions, I was out snorkeling and saw and photographed the turtles swimming by, and feeding. That was quite a thrill. Additionally, in the rock area, I saw quite a variety of fish, including the Hawaii State fish, the Trigger Fish, also known as the humahumanukanukaapuaa. And I saw and photographed the Moorish idol fish another beautiful tropical fish. There were dozens of other types. And a variety of crustaceans and other coral life. I spent several hours snorkeling this area. Just loved it. You do need a good underwater camera for this, and thankfully I had previously invested in one.

The location of Kahana Beach Resort is also quite handy. You are just 10-15 minutes from Lahaina and Front Street if you want night life. And just a few minutes walk from the condo are a large number of great local eating places.

I could go on, but just know, I really like this place and we will definitely be back. Just a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank glhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are thrilled your return visit to Kahana Beach exceeded your expectations. We are happy you were impressed by our updates and staff. The view from your 10th floor guest suite sounds breathtaking! We appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness of our resort and our onsite activities. The information you have shared about the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a visit. We hope to welcome you back for your third visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have exchanged with International Interval for one week stay in Kahana Beach Resort. We had an ocean front large studio w/ a wall bed and a sleeper couch. The view of the ocean and Lanai Island is fantastic. The A/C works great. A full length balcony. Small kitchen area with a good size refrigerator, small sink, microwave oven above the sink, a two burner cook top on granite kitchen island with a coffee maker. Adequate for lite cooking. There is a swimming pool, a large whirlpool and the beach. There are several large sea turtles who like to visit the beach area near the large lava rocks close by. We have collected some beach glasses that washed ashore from the nights' tide. Staff are friendly and helpful. One can purchase tours and activities on the first floor, affiliated w/ the R.C.I. points, but does not need to participate in their presentations. Good WiFi, cable T.V & DVD player. Want to revisit this resort again.

Room Tip: Only corner units are one bedroom condos. A total of 12 one-bedrooms in this resort. Most units ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveItWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for exchanging into Kahana Beach. We are happy you found the view from your unit fantastic and our condo-style accommodations a convenience. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and amenities and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just returned from spending a week in Maui. We booked this hotel by exchanging our Shell points through Interval International. We stayed in room 807, a corner suite. The room is nothing too spectaular but the view is absolutely stunning. We slept hearing the waves every night and woke up to an amazing view of the ocean, sometimes with rainbows over it. It is a condominium building so amenities are barely there, but we enjoyed making use of the hot tub especially when it's dark out and you can stargaze while listening to the ocean. On our last day there we watched the sunset from our balcony while looking at the turtles swimming along the beach.
The room itself was clean, the murphy bed was not that comfortable but it did ok. We did start getting some sort of pest towards the end of our stay, we hear that this is common in the Hawaiian islands so I wouldn't penalize the resort for this.
I'm not sure what the cleaning staff does during the mid-week cleaning, when we came back that evening it seemed as though only the towels were changed and the bed was made, nothing else was cleaned which was ok in our case as we spent little time in the room and kept it tidy. We did ask to have our beach towels changed once at the front desk and they had apparently run out of clean towels.
Parking was not an issue for us, even when we came back really late at night we managed to find parking at the resort.
Overall, the location right on the beach cannot be beat. When we return to Maui, we will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Give them a call ahead of time to request an ocean front room on a higher floor, the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Kahana Beach. We are happy you found the views from your room absolutely stunning. Your description of falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean sounds incredible. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness, and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We appreciate your feedback, which will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We hope to have you back on your next visit to Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Beach was beautiful. Close to everything. Employees were friendly and helpful. Rooms are dated but very clean. Good value for the area. Loved easy access to beach. Will definitely stay here again. Parking lot a little small. At times could not find a spot and had to park next door at their sister property.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiejean0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are glad our location was perfect for enjoying the beautiful beach, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are happy you found our accommodations clean and appreciate the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Purchased a week through our timeshare as an exchange (not cheap!), listed as Kahana Beach Resort which we reviewed before purchasing. Kahana Beach put us in a 'sister' building behind the beach resort, across the highway from the beach, in an old condo unit. There are no services in this condo building which in no way resembles a 'resort'. (The only bathrooms were up a steep flight of stairs.) After enjoying our timeshare resort, we wish we'd gone home and hadn't stayed the extra week.

Room Tip: The above ratings are for the condo builing of the bait & switch by Kahana Beach Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are sorry to learn of your exchange disappointment. Occupancy levels forced us to move you to our sister resort, and we regret it did not meet your expectations. We hope you will accept our apology for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a studio suite with a very well stocked mini kitchen, and murphy bed. Our suite overlooked the ocean directly. A person can overlook a lot with such a great view all day every day. We didn't have to overlook much; we enjoyed the suite in every way except for the bed/linens/pillows. These were mediocre. Improving the bed and sleeping experience would elevate this place to a 5 star experience for us - because we loved everything else about the place...the location and the easy environment. We had beach towels, ice, lots of towels. The suite is very CLEAN - we love that! Can't complain about anything, but please, spring for a decent mattress on the murphy beds, and consider some good linen and pillows. A wonderful stay though over all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janechejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach Resort. We are happy you found our condo-style accommodations well equipped, featuring a beautiful ocean view. We are glad you enjoyed our location and relaxing environment. We appreciate your feedback about our bedding and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
1.9 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing