We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you are accustomed to 4 star hotels and cannot take the lack luster of an older place, pass on this. But the building is situated in a choice spot with easy access to great restaurants and activities a short drive away. Really close to the spectacular Ka'anapali Beach and all of the fabulous Lahaina activities that it makes the older building worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Aloha jgflanders:

Thank you for going holoholo with us! We're glad you found our oceanfront location to be a good value for your visit.

Please come back and see us again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kahana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Guy...with all this super resort this outrigger is vero shabby! We come from the outrigger in Lahaina down town where they gave us a garden room on a beautiful parking, so we complained and they propose this old dinosaur! Aina Nalu was cool and cosy, new and really design, no wi-fi in rooms and in common areas really slow. But this...it's really old style, we're wondering meet Rico and Sonny from MiamiVice at the elevators, with fornitures of '80 and an air co wonderful for collectors! Bathroom is fantastic, ventilator and bathtub probably are from the '60!
For this price(175$), I will say, stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucatala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Aloha lucatala:

Thank you for posting your candid review. I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us or with the Outrigger Aina Nalu. Maui, and Kahana in particular, is a laid-back, quiet, relaxing place and is not for everyone.

All of our condos are individually owned and decorated; if you are not happy with the unit we first offer, please let us know and we would be happy to show you some alternative units.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed few years ago, Its was much better. I was never told the unit are indivitually owned. Why I care??? because I was expecting daily cleanning of the room..... well surprised!!!! When u have young kids you need it. I love the Outrigger but I was not very happy about the cleaning and not coffee. The room had a great view but had very old furniture. So if you stay there I wish you good luck !!!! I can denied great location but old resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Aloha RCB1973:

Thank you for staying with us again.

As each condo unit is individually owned, if you are unhappy with your condo, please let us know and we will be happy to show you some alternative units.

We have reduced our cleaning frequency in response to guest requests; many of our guests prefer their privacy. On your next visit, please let us know if you would like more frequent housekeeping service.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had an ocean view Studio, and we loved it! Each night we opened the sliding doors and slept with the sound of the surf all night long. In the morning, a tiny sparrow would join us for breakfast on our little deck.
Our housekeeper, who came daily and put our life back together while we were out, was very efficient, and we finally met her on the last day. We soon knew the front desk staff by name, and figured out that the underground parking was perfect on hot days when we had packages to lug up. The pool was tended religiously every morning (we could see from our patio) and we could tell how many guest were from our time zone by the time they hit the beach. We woke at 5 the first morning.
This resort was never crowded, most guests were off and about the island each day, as were we. It was 40 minutes up to 5000 ft for lunch, and 30 minutes to Walmart for necessities! For our dinner, it was 15 minutes to many great restaurants, and always, always, there was the ocean!
We didn't come here for the wifi, or the plumbing or the parking, so the things important to us were much more than we expected. We were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary, if we can only come to Maui once, we are glad we came here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharrygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I didn't realized until we got there that each unit is individually owned. Because of this my review contains two reviews, one for 801 and one for 1203. Room 801 was our first suite. It is a two-bedroom that my husband and I shared with his brother and his brother's wife. It was nice to have separate bedrooms and have a kitchen to make some of our meals to lessen the cost of food. However, the kitchen was not very well stocked so it was difficult to prepare meals. The air conditioning on the second bedroom did not work properly and I woke up sweating every night. The beds in that room were also very uncomfortable. The view from this room was very nice and the bathrooms were decent. It would have been nice if the toiletries had been replaced at least once during our stay.

Unit 1203 is a studio that overlooks the ocean. It was beautiful. The kitchen was fully stocked and the bathroom was great! The bed was nice and comfortable but the air conditioning in this unit was also not working properly. Maybe it's a building issue and not just those rooms. I don't know.

I was very disappointed to find out that they discontinued the complimentary coffee in the lobby from 6:30 am to 9:30 am every day. Supposedly they discontinued it as of July 1, but it's still on their website so I'd say that's false advertising.

The view from the little beach is beautiful and the landscaping is very pretty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajilloftrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My hubby and I have been to Maui before but this was our first stay at the Royal Kahana. We found the condo #615 over on vbro.com. Larry was the owner of the condo and had it in very lovely condition. We loved the size of our space as it was more of an L shape with the ability to walk AROUND the unit inside the space. The kitchen was well stocked with tons of spices and amenities and the stove top was the fastest working machine I have ever seen! The ocean view was perfect and the condo unit itself was extremely spacious and clean. There are small windows facing the parking lot that allow breeze to come through the unit so that there is never a need to put on air conditioning. We loved that the Royal Kahana was close to all other attractions and that their pool was HEATED...what a luxury to be able to go in the pool any time of day or night and feel warm. The ocean is quite cool so it's worth staying in the pool instead. The resort itself is very quiet and in a great area. The beach nearby is not bad but for avid swimmers who want luxury sands, you have to go further out.
Our room rate during July was $125 a night which was a steal. Wifi internet was great and we had free parking (a major plus)....I would go back to this resort even just for the heated pool.

The only slight drawback is that there isn't an indoor restaurant...but that's why it is worth having a car rental to explore the island. The good news is, there a small gym in the facility that is open until 10 every night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisadarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have stayed at this location on both of our trips to Maui, by the recommendation of our daughter/son in law as well as our travel agent. It is about a 20 minute drive from Lahaina, but away from the hussle and bussle of town. A good value for your money. Hotel was just upgraded in 2010 I believe, nicer than the first stay. We have always had a condo, so can cook our own food as well as wash towels and suits when they needed. Soem rooms have showers soem have shower/bath combo. Make sure you know what you are getting if you prefer one or the other. Nice views, we watched sea turttles from our balcony room, ocean front.
The grounds are well kept.

Room Tip: There is no resturant with this condo/hotel. You cannot go wrong with an Outrigger, at lest we have...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £103 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing