We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Kahana
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Kahana from March 21-28 and we had a great time. We stayed in a 1-bedroom unit that was very well decorated and in great shape. Even being on the 2nd floor offered a clear view of the ocean and neighboring islands. We even got some great views of the whales breaching from our lanai.

Yes, the complex isn't the Ritz-Carlton, but it wasn't in that bad of shape as some of the other reviews have claimed. The staff was also very pleasant and not rude at all as others have claimed. The daily maid service was super and efficient. She even did our dishes! The carpet was clean and in very good condition as was the furniture in all the rooms. The only "dated" aspect of the room was the tile in the bathroom (it was still in good shape though).

Having a car (a must) made it very easy to get to the various beaches, Lahaina, South Maui, etc, although the traffic can be a bit congested at times. And speaking of beaches, we found the D.T. Fleming beach to be a great place to use the body board, but the ones in Kihei (South Maui) offered calmer water and nicer facilities. Just a matter of opinion as ALL the beaches we went to were very good. The only downside for my wife was the water temp (74 degrees) and the cool evenings. This was our first trip to Hawaii as we have been going to Jamaica the last two years which does have warmer water, but it just takes a day or two to acclimate.

Yes, if you want to save some bucks, go to Safeway or Star Market for food items and do some meals in the room. We did breakfast there and prepared our lunch on most days before we headed out (bought a small cooler at Star for $9 and got ice at the condo in the basement).

Parking was NOT an issue as another reviewer recently stated (I was there at the same time he was), but the slots are very narrow. If you stay with an intermediate size car you'll be fine.

Overall, our seven days in Maui were great, and staying at the Royal Kahana was much better than we had expected.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElPasoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    391
    167
    85
    54
See reviews for
266
484
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We couldn't have asked for a better slice of heaven on earth. Our 10 days spent in Unit #608 were absolutley fantastic. The owners have taken great pride and care to make sure that everyone who stays there feels like ohana (family). The unit was outfitted with every convenience you could ask for. Coming home after a busy day seeing the sights was like coming home to an old friend. It just felt cozy and comfortable. From the overstuffed mattress on the bed to the wide selection of island music available for enjoyment on the stereo, as well as big screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom, the owners seemed to have left nothing forgotten for a relaxing vacation. We would book there again in a heartbeat, and most definitely will in the future.

  • Liked — The comfort and convenience.
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobnalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This place was just ok for our first time in Maui and not really knowing where to be. We got there around 2pm and our room wasn't ready, so they told us it would be ready by 3pm. When we came back, it still wasn't ready, so they gave us unit 603. View not so good from that side.

Pretty average, nothing fancy. It was nice to have the washer/dryer though after staying in Oahu for 3 days and having a kitchen was also nice since Maui is pretty expensive, we were able to cook two meals there and have breakfast before leaving in the morning.

One thing I did notice that bothered me was the condition of the carpets and the mold on the shower curtain. The shower curtains are white, so its not like the maids didn't see it.

If you're on a budget and just looking for a place to stay within a close distance from Lahaina and Kaanapli Shores, this might be the spot for you. I wasn't overly impressed, or disappointed, its just an average place to stay. Oh and despite other posts, we never had a problem with parking. They have the whole front lot and the lower deck under the garage as well as one beneath the tennis courts.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Majestic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We stayed at Royal Kahana Mar 19- 24. We booked through AAA/Pleasant Holidays. We were allocated Room 904. This place and room was much better than we had expected. My wife and 3 yr old daughter was with me. The view from Lanai was awsome !! I dont know why people are complaining about parking. There is ample parking in front of bldg and also in basement. The basement was 70% empty all the time we stayed there. Checkin was a breeze. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. They missed giving my daughter the beach play kit. However when I told them the manager came up next day and gave it to us personally. The daily cleaning staff did a great job..they even cleaned our dished. We had a oceanview studio with a King size bed. i would highly recco room 904. The only issue we had was old carpet and old tiles in bathroom but they were clean.

Great location..walking distance to Mcdonalds and other food places, gas station and even a bank and a grocery store. the beach is not big but good enough for kids. Daughter loved the swimming pool ..They cleaned the pool every morning...kahana is pretty close to Lahaina which has a mall,savon and safeway....

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The only way to find a parking space is by cutting your evening short. There are fewer parking spaces than guests at the hotel. There are no other options for parking, not even street. It really put a damper on the evenings. Also airconditioning doesn't cool below 73. Capet was very dirty and cabinets peeling. The staff didn't care about anything or anybody.

  • Disliked — Parking problems
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We were in unit 914 from March2-March16, 2008. We rented from a private party (VRBO #136021). Newly remodeled. Travetine floors and lanai. Granite countertops. New bath fixtures and shower was upscale. Brand new Hawaiian style furniture. Very clean when we arrived. No daily housekeeping so you have to keep it clean yourself for the duration. Great view of Lanai and perfect spot for sunsets. Only downside was the noise factor of 30mph tradewinds blowing thru the back louvers. Sounded like a good old fashioned WI blizzard for five days.Undercover parking always available. Pool area neat and clean and not very crowded, even in March. Favorites were the macnut/banana pancakes at the Gazebo at Napili Shores, the mango daquiries at Hali'imaile General Store, and the fish and chips at Kimo's in Lahaina(lightly breaded Mahi, best I had in Hawaii). We experienced the same front desk treatment that other reviewers noted. NO ALOHA SPIRIT THERE!!!

  • Liked — The unit was newly remodeled and refurnished.
  • Disliked — The property itself needs updating. Also, the wifi is at dial up speed and $10/day or $40/wk
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

We rented a one bedroom directly from owner (#812) and it was very nice...recently redone, very clean, comfortable bed, kitchen with everything you need. View was incredible. Beach is not much, but there are plenty of other beaches that are bigger if that's what you're looking for. Nice but not large pool, but never seemed to be crowded. Limited interaction with staff but check in was the least friendly I have ever experienced in Hawaii. Parking sufficient (all lots in Maui have small spaces). Location not in the midst of the resort areas but plenty of amenities in neighborhood. Quiet -- very family atmosphere.

  • Liked — Incredible view from balcny
  • Disliked — check in clerk -- completely apathetic
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schmelke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing