We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Kahana
Nearby Hotels
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$474
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aina Nalu(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
344
440
180
93
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
440
180
93
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerocean viewfull kitchenmaui brewing companybedroom oceanfrontheated poolcondo hotelshort drivesmall beachfirst morningtennis courtsgeneral storegreat condoliving roomnice poolsee whalesdaily maid service
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We booked unit #909 through VRBO and enjoyed the stay. While the resort is outdated, our unit was simply decorated with modern wooden pieces and nice accents. It was very clean upon arrival. The view from the balcony & the bedroom were simply amazing. The lanai proved to be a great place to start and end the day by enjoying breakfast at the high wood table and the sunset on the lounge chair with a glass of wine.

We enjoyed the little features the owners provided like the iPod docking station and the coffee maker which brews into travel mugs- perfect for mornings on the go. The kitchen had everything we needed to make a few meals and while the blender didn't work the first time we tried to use it, the management company was very quick to deliver a brand new machine so we could enjoy fruity cocktails.

As I mentioned, the resort is dated. There was work being done at the pool but there were plenty of lounge chairs on the grass facing the ocean which provide a much better view anyway. There was a small work out facility which we had access to & used daily. The resort is centrally located and a short drive to many great restaurants: PacificO (great view & food), Sansei (excellent sushi!) and Mala (simply fun!)

Overall, I would recommend #909 if you don't mind taking ithe resort with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winegalsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We were very disappointed with our unit. The decor was "Grandma style" and the carpets were dirty and furniture was old. The maid staff was lazy- the first day we arrived the bathroom walls were dirty. The lobby was really sad and looked like it had never been updated since they built the place in the 80's. This place could be really nice if it was updated. We did have a beautiful ocean view. We had a great time in Maui but would not recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank neoldthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Kahana from March 21-28 and we had a great time. We stayed in a 1-bedroom unit that was very well decorated and in great shape. Even being on the 2nd floor offered a clear view of the ocean and neighboring islands. We even got some great views of the whales breaching from our lanai.

Yes, the complex isn't the Ritz-Carlton, but it wasn't in that bad of shape as some of the other reviews have claimed. The staff was also very pleasant and not rude at all as others have claimed. The daily maid service was super and efficient. She even did our dishes! The carpet was clean and in very good condition as was the furniture in all the rooms. The only "dated" aspect of the room was the tile in the bathroom (it was still in good shape though).

Having a car (a must) made it very easy to get to the various beaches, Lahaina, South Maui, etc, although the traffic can be a bit congested at times. And speaking of beaches, we found the D.T. Fleming beach to be a great place to use the body board, but the ones in Kihei (South Maui) offered calmer water and nicer facilities. Just a matter of opinion as ALL the beaches we went to were very good. The only downside for my wife was the water temp (74 degrees) and the cool evenings. This was our first trip to Hawaii as we have been going to Jamaica the last two years which does have warmer water, but it just takes a day or two to acclimate.

Yes, if you want to save some bucks, go to Safeway or Star Market for food items and do some meals in the room. We did breakfast there and prepared our lunch on most days before we headed out (bought a small cooler at Star for $9 and got ice at the condo in the basement).

Parking was NOT an issue as another reviewer recently stated (I was there at the same time he was), but the slots are very narrow. If you stay with an intermediate size car you'll be fine.

Overall, our seven days in Maui were great, and staying at the Royal Kahana was much better than we had expected.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElPasoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We couldn't have asked for a better slice of heaven on earth. Our 10 days spent in Unit #608 were absolutley fantastic. The owners have taken great pride and care to make sure that everyone who stays there feels like ohana (family). The unit was outfitted with every convenience you could ask for. Coming home after a busy day seeing the sights was like coming home to an old friend. It just felt cozy and comfortable. From the overstuffed mattress on the bed to the wide selection of island music available for enjoyment on the stereo, as well as big screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom, the owners seemed to have left nothing forgotten for a relaxing vacation. We would book there again in a heartbeat, and most definitely will in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bobnalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This place was just ok for our first time in Maui and not really knowing where to be. We got there around 2pm and our room wasn't ready, so they told us it would be ready by 3pm. When we came back, it still wasn't ready, so they gave us unit 603. View not so good from that side.

Pretty average, nothing fancy. It was nice to have the washer/dryer though after staying in Oahu for 3 days and having a kitchen was also nice since Maui is pretty expensive, we were able to cook two meals there and have breakfast before leaving in the morning.

One thing I did notice that bothered me was the condition of the carpets and the mold on the shower curtain. The shower curtains are white, so its not like the maids didn't see it.

If you're on a budget and just looking for a place to stay within a close distance from Lahaina and Kaanapli Shores, this might be the spot for you. I wasn't overly impressed, or disappointed, its just an average place to stay. Oh and despite other posts, we never had a problem with parking. They have the whole front lot and the lower deck under the garage as well as one beneath the tennis courts.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Majestic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews