We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very pleasant Stay. We stayed in an ocean front condo. Staff was very helpful. We saw a sea turtle make its way to the beach near the resort.Home away from home with our own kitchen and bed was comfortable to sleep in after long tiring days.

Room Tip: We booked through Costco. You might get a nice deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sktravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha sktravelworld,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. That's wonderful you were able to see a turtle from the unit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    389
    166
    83
    53
See reviews for
263
481
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have never stayed in Kahana and wasn't sure what to expect. If you like being away from the action, this is a great place to stay. It's about a 10 minute drive to Kaanapali.
There is a nice pool that has a coffee/juice/snack shack. The hotel is right on the beach, so you have direct access. In the afternoon the tide comes in and the beach is practically gone.
We had a great view from our room and could watch the sunset every night (pretty sure all rooms have a view). We were even able to see turtles swimming nearby and watch the whales out in the distance.
The condo had paper towels, garbage bags, and a kitchen stocked with all we needed (plates, glasses, ice tray, etc.). The sound level was fine and we never heard noise coming from other units.
Right around the corner is a strip mall you can walk to that has a few places to eat, including a coffee shop and Maui Brewing Co.
I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in an affordable condo right on the beach in Maui.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nataliej925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Aloha norcalnat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet or exceed your expectations. How wonderful you were able to see whales and turtles from the unit you stayed in.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

On site free parking is a plus. room (we had 403) with ocean view was ok. Ocean view was great! it was self contained including stove and oven. the room is probably a little tired, bed was not overly comfortable. more than adequate if out and about and just need a place to crash but there are lots of options and not sure if they were others that perhaps provide better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELDEANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Aloha MELDEANS,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the view from your unit. Please know that if the unit is not acceptable to you, it is best to advise the Front Desk as they will try their best to find accommodations more to your liking.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent 8 days there, March 31 to April 8, 2014. Got a good deal on line last fall and got studio condo, ocean view, for $105/night. I was in 705. Needs updating. Stove had 3/4 burner coils that were uneven, toilet handle stuck, washer stuck in rinse cycle. My friend was in 703 and it was much, much nicer. Clean building, friendly staff. Nice pool. Beach left something to be desired - not much there. Better to drive 10 miles down the road to Kanapali Beach. Much nicer.
No gift shop. No washroom on lobby level. Had to go down into basement. Not impressed.
Only designated smoking area on the property was at driveway by the road. Not a good first impression for visitors. Very, very unfriendly towards smokers. Speaking to other guests found prices were extremely inconsistent for similar rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mog0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha mog0524,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you did not like your accommodations and have forwarded your comments to management. For future reference if you are unhappy with your unit or something is not working properly please bring this to our attention so we are able to immediately assess and issue and attempt to correct it for you.

I would also like to apologize that you were not advised ahead of time that these are condominium accommodations and not a true hotel. There is a convenience store less than block from the property and the basement is one level down from the lobby. I apologize for the inconveniences not knowing this ahead of time caused you.

Please contact me directly if you have any questions regarding the unit pricing and the smoking policies we adhere to. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and i just spent 8 days and 7 nights in Maui. We were in room 119 in a garden view room, what was nice about it was we were in a end unit so it was very quiet, except for the birds singing. We had a full kitchen, table with 2 chairs, a little couch, king size bed,and we also had a washer and dryer in the bathroom which was perfect for doing small loads of laundry if needed. and a patio with a table and 2 more chairs. We overlooked the beautiful flowers and pool area, yet once you were out on the patio we had a view of the ocean.Everything was close by as far as walking across the street to a small market that carried everything from beer and wine to bread and eggs.The beaches are turquoise colored and are just amazing, the pool area is large and there are always chairs to be had. If you are into grilling there are about 6 big full size grills.really loved this place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: we loved the corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneeyeWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha oneeyeWilmington,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you were able to find what you needed for your stay all within walking distance.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here in early March after renting from the Outrigger group. First let me say that Outrigger manages part of this hotel and the other units are independently owned. Having looked at the Outrigger site and having experience staying at an Outrigger hotel in Waikiki, I was expecting more insofar as the interiors of the unit. The Outrigger website from this hotel shows updated rooms with granite, etc. The unit we stayed in was very outdated (circa late '80's or 90's). This was misleading to me and disappointing. Having said that, the view from the large lanai of the beach and ocean compensated for this. Great opportunities to whale watch during the winter months. I'd advise paying much cheaper rates by using VRBO etc as there was no advantage whatsoever to staying with Outrigger.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Jodie W,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the views from the unit you stayed in. Each of the units are individually owned and decor is based on the owner's personal taste. Please contact me directly in regard to the unit you stayed in so I can be sure to pass your comments along.

I apologize you were disappointed and generally our staff tries to accommodate guests unhappy with their units. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in a future stay at the property.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked a 1-bedroom condo on the 10th floor through VRBO. It had a full kitchen so we were able to prepare some meals as well as a stackable washer and dryer. We were in Maui for six nights, so this was a better option than a standard hotel room. The Royal Kahana is located within a short drive from Ka'anapali Beach and Front Street in Lahaina. We were able to do some whale watching from the lanai, and when we opened the windows and sliding glass door, we got a wonderful breeze and the sound of the ocean. There was a nice pool on the property. Although located right on the beach, there was a lot of coral in the sand so not too comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmbrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha cmbrown88,

thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the property.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing