We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite 1005”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We (mother and daughter) stayed at Royal Kahana from April 22-April 30, 2014 in suite 1005. We had to pay extra for an ocean view, which I think means a higher level suite as all of the rooms have ocean view. In the pictures that you see of the building, the suites all have lanai's facing the ocean and the other side of the building is the open hallways that you walk from the elevator to access the door to the suite. 1005 is a studio with a nice new king size bed, fridge, stove, microwave, no dishwasher. There is a nice washer/dryer that we used a couple of times throughout the week. The bathroom has been recently upgraded with a tiled walk-in shower. They provide towels, beach towels and a hair dryer. I loved the windows in the bathroom that were open the entire time, letting in a beautiful breeze. We also loved the bamboo curtains that you can close at night, making the room dark enough to sleep, and allowing the breeze to come through, and you can fall asleep listening to the surf. There's a power cord behind the couch to plug in all your camera and electronic batteries. If we were there in the evening we could watch the beautiful sunsets off the balcony. There is one boogy board in the closet and a safe, but I think you have to ask for a key to the safe at the front desk. We never used it and never had any problems leaving anything in our room while we were gone. We arrived on a Tuesday night and had maid service on the Saturday.
We didn't use the pool but there are plenty of loungers available. The beach is only a tiny strip but we had a car and drove around to different beaches every day.
We did notice that the clouds seemed to hover over the Kahana area and often times we'd have to drive south to find more sun.
We took a cab from Royal Kahana to the Old Lahaina Luau and it was $30(with a good tip) each way. We asked the front desk to book the cab for us and then the same fellow came after the luau to pick us up. We gave him one of our banana breads from the luau to get him through his shift.
The address for this hotel shows Lahaina but it is really about a ten minute drive from Lahaina. If you want to stay in Kahana it is a nice spot and we really enjoyed our stay. If we were to go to Maui again, we would probably stay in the Kihei area. The sun seems to shine more there, and you are closer to the airport. We seemed to drive towards the southern end of the island alot throughout the week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pencilcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Aloha pencilcase,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. You are correct that the ocean view units are on the higher floors. Our garden view units are mainly on the 1st and 2nd floor. It's great that you utilized all the condo had to offer. You provide a very detailed review that is helpful for future guests.

Lahaina is actually the zip code for the entire west side of Maui. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked through Costco.com and this was the cheapest studio condo with an ocean view that we could find for the time. We were lucky to get room 1005 which had a very nice ocean view although partially blocked by another building. The unit had new cabinets and counter tops plus a remodeled bath. Very nice and perfect for our needs. A trip to Costco and a run to Foodland gave us our meals for the week. Parking was not a problem and the grounds were kept up very nicely.

We spent a lot of time on the lanai and saw whales, sea turtles and dolphins. The residents were very nice and friendly. Not a lot of beach front directly in front of the hotel but to the left is Kahana and S-Turns beach. 5 minute drive to Kapalau and Old Airport Beach

Room Tip: This is a condo so don't expect hotel-like amenities like room service and daily housekeeping. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Aloha Tyson F,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so happy you were able to enjoy your stay with us. It seems like you were able to take advantage of what the condo has to offer. It's great that you were able to see whales, turtles and dolphins all from the comfort of your lanai.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a very pleasant room in which everything worked and was clean. The kitchen had all the utensils we could possibly use. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. My coffeemaker broke down one morning and 5 minutes after the desk staff knew, I had a new coffeemaker at my door. We used the gym daily. It was nice to be away from the frantic pace of downtown Lahaina. I would stay there again and plan on returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cantfindwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Aloha cantfindwan,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I will pass along your comments about the Front Desk staff. It's great they were able to assist you so quickly.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

First off, one star for the view. The ocean view (to the right) was great...to the left a building that had burned to the ground. Our condo was dated, and not the cleanest. My feet were blackened walking on the carpet in our room...bring some slippers. The staff at the front desk were aloof, and not entirely helpful. We had a terrible booking snafu on our first night, and were notified that there was not any management at the hotel to assist us. Two days later, finally (after MANY requests) we heard from a manager. To their credit, we did receive a discounted rate for our troubles. The pool area is small, but there were always chairs available. We did get a room in Maui for a good rate...however be warned. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 93Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Aloha 93Nic,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'm not sure when you stayed at the property as the building was removed early last fall (end of July-beginning of August 2013). However if you would like to discuss your stay please contact me directly. I hope to hear from you soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very pleasant Stay. We stayed in an ocean front condo. Staff was very helpful. We saw a sea turtle make its way to the beach near the resort.Home away from home with our own kitchen and bed was comfortable to sleep in after long tiring days.

Room Tip: We booked through Costco. You might get a nice deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sktravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Aloha sktravelworld,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. That's wonderful you were able to see a turtle from the unit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have never stayed in Kahana and wasn't sure what to expect. If you like being away from the action, this is a great place to stay. It's about a 10 minute drive to Kaanapali.
There is a nice pool that has a coffee/juice/snack shack. The hotel is right on the beach, so you have direct access. In the afternoon the tide comes in and the beach is practically gone.
We had a great view from our room and could watch the sunset every night (pretty sure all rooms have a view). We were even able to see turtles swimming nearby and watch the whales out in the distance.
The condo had paper towels, garbage bags, and a kitchen stocked with all we needed (plates, glasses, ice tray, etc.). The sound level was fine and we never heard noise coming from other units.
Right around the corner is a strip mall you can walk to that has a few places to eat, including a coffee shop and Maui Brewing Co.
I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in an affordable condo right on the beach in Maui.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nataliej925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha norcalnat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet or exceed your expectations. How wonderful you were able to see whales and turtles from the unit you stayed in.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On site free parking is a plus. room (we had 403) with ocean view was ok. Ocean view was great! it was self contained including stove and oven. the room is probably a little tired, bed was not overly comfortable. more than adequate if out and about and just need a place to crash but there are lots of options and not sure if they were others that perhaps provide better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELDEANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha MELDEANS,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the view from your unit. Please know that if the unit is not acceptable to you, it is best to advise the Front Desk as they will try their best to find accommodations more to your liking.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
22.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £98 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing