We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location - very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Banwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely location - very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

A single female in my 60's I stayed 3 nights at Aina Nalu during my 'trip of a lifetime' to Hawaii. Felt completely safe at all times. Very impressed with my 1-bed garden view apt - the kitchen is smaller than mine at home but much better equipped. Loved the shower - of course the floor was hard on the feet, it's made of stone! Really unusual. Bed was clean and comfortable. Liked the complimentary washer + dryer (had to pay at all the other places I stayed). Both pools spotless and a real treat after a hot day out exploring and shopping. Great vews of the mountains made a change from a sea view. I knew how much the parking was and put up with it as it was great not to have to search for a space - the street outside was constantly full anyway, day or night. On the whole a great place to stay, and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Aloha Westonblue,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in future bookings at the Outrigger Aina Nalu.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and stayed here on our maiden trip to Maui. We were very impressed with the grounds, pools, condo, staff and overall accommodations. We recommended the Aina Nalu to two other families who also were very happy with their stays. If it had an oceanview it would have been about perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stlrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Aloha Stlrmike,

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I will start by saying that I dont understand all the people complaining about this hotel....you get what you pay for. If you want excellence, a beach, better amenities and a better room then go to Kaanapali and find a resort there that will cost a minimum of $1,000 more and will give you no kitchen and that "home away from home feel". In addition everyone is complaining about the parking fee, I dont know if you travel much but no matter where I go I almost always have had to pay for parking.Knowing that I was paying significantly less than the resorts on Maui, I knew not to expect much and I didnt get much. Liz checked us in and was nice but another time I asked a question to the front desk she got so irratated with me and reffered me to the concierge... but whatever.

Likes:
I like the location. It is 1-2 blocks from "Front" St which is where you will find street vendors, shops, restaurants etc. You will NOT find any beaches here but there is a shuttle that costs $1 that leaves from front street and will take you to Kaanapali beaches which is about 5-10 minutes away.
I loved the kitchen! It was nice and had everything that you would need to prepare meals.
The grounds were nicely manicured
I enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the unit. They only provide 2 boxes of 1 use detergents so bring more travel size ones if you plan on washing clothes, we used 4 loads in 1 week to wash towels, bathing suits and some clothes.

Dislikes:
Theres NO elevator! This made it tough for us as we were traveling with our kids, I am pregnant and my mom and cousin joined us. We had LOTS of luggage and it was a pain to haul it up and down or whenever we went to the beaches and took stuff...it became a pain.

Air conditioners...there were only 2 small box/wall unit types which included one in the living room and the other in the master bedroom which left the 2nd bedroom really hot and the ceiling fan didn't provide much relief.

Beds...they were hard as a rock...really uncomfortable

Tips:

Contrary to what some people say...you can have daily maid service, however, you must inform them 24 hours in advance so basically you need to call everyday. We brought laptops, cameras and other stuff that was valuable and we didnt feel comfortable with maid service coming in so we opted to clean ourselves and it worked out fine.

All in all it was a great value. We paid 1299 (without parking) for a 2bedroom 1 bath unit that fit 4 adults and 2 children. You would be looking at 1300 for an okay place on Kaanapali with double beds so obviously this was a better choice for us and I think it is a good choice for families with older children.

Will I stay here again? Not sure...I am not against it but I might use my mother in laws timeshare next time instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room if you are traveling with a large group and or children. There are NO ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chargersbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Aloha chargersbaby,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you were not informed that that buildings are 2 story walk ups ahead of time. I'm disappointed the beds did not meet your needs as we get compliments on them all the time.

This location definitely is a great value and we would love to welcome you back. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Let me start by saying tht this as our first time to maui and we had a great time. The hotel however was just OK!
We arrived very late and tired from our flight on Wed. night . The desk clerk ignored us for about 4 mins and hen she finally looked at us she failed to greet us..not a very good first impression you think!? our room turned out to be smelly and dirty. I called the next day and had to to go through the incovinience of a room change. (she never asked me to explain what was wrong with the room or appologized). To make this story short, no one was really friendly here, the caling fans in both rooms were dirty and the window screens where also dirty, The morning orientation breakfast was patetic and its totally unfair to charge $15 for parking when the parking lot was ALWAYS empty.

Anyways, I wasn't impressed..more like border line dissapointed but I refused to let that affect my vacation. Maui was great, locals were friendly(outside the hotel) and we had a great time.

Am I going back to the Aina Nalu? I don't think so.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Aloha Ana F,

Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Outrigger Aina Nalu and our staff did not meet your expectations. If you would like to contact me in regard to your stay, I would like to find out more information to improve our service.

We hope you will try the Outrigger Aina Nalu again, and if you need any assistance in booking your next stay please let me know.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I went for our honeymoon last year and loved Outrigger Aina Nalu. We booked through Costco and got a great deal and we weren't expecting much- we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a 1 bedroom ground floor room looking at the salt water pool. I would ask for a second floor room next time just for a little more privacy, but otherwise loved our room. Gorgeous bathroom, really functional kitchen, and tasteful island theme. Had a minor ant problem, buy thats was to be expected in a tropical climate We didn't pay to park and never spent more than 5 minutes looking for street parking. It is a very short walk to the main street in Lahaina, but far enough away to not feel so touristy. Loved it and can't wait to return. Oh, and don't miss the Sunrise cafe about a 5 minute walk away!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EandCVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Aloha EandCVito,

Thank you for your positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My family and I have rented several rooms at a time on a few seperate occasions at this Outrigger. None of us have ever been disappointed! Since our first stay five years ago they've improved a few things. We loved the additional pool and outdoor kitchen lounge area, having spent a sufficient amount of time there. It's a laid back place, great for families with or without children. The area has the same feel, not the hustle-bustle youll find on Front Street but just a brief walk away. The grounds are clean, beatifully landscaped and well maintained as are each of the rooms I've encountered. My only issue was the staff and their 'policy' at check in. The manager was rude and unaccomadating while the other staff who seemed aware of this, more than made up for it. Ultimately, my family and I would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Aloha gina365,

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the Outrigger Aina Nalu is a relaxing location right off the hustle and bustle of Front Street.

Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay or if you would like to provide more insight to your stay.

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Excellent for five on a long stay. Walk to shopping and shave ice. It's our home away from home. Fully equipped condos with everything you need. Great pools, BBQ, and landscaping. For a long stay, buy bikes at Kmart and lock them up in the bike shack for the next trip. We won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing